Radin Mas Primary

4.3k Posts 92 Posters 1.1m Views 1 Watching
      Dino mummy

Dino mummy/gerber,

What book(s) did your kids use for English in P3? The books in the book list are indicated as optional. So, they don't have any English books? How did the teachers conduct English then? :scratchhead:
      Hi QMS
      No textbook for my kid this year.
      But the school required the Pri 3 to get a Grammar Assessment book (tink it is by Learners..cant recall the publisher) & Zoom in Vocab (by CASCO).
      His class managed to finish everything on these 2 books. On top of that, they had worksheets prepared by the teachers. The teacher also test them on some of the words/ sentences found in the Zoom in Vocab for their weekly spelling. Nearer to year end, I saw stack of worksheets on just practising on cloze passage (without helping words) and comprehensions and oso past year papers.
      Weekly spelling is tougher compared to Pri 1 and 2. No longer just words, they were tested on phrases. And his class has to remember a few phrases a week, similar to dictation. Surprise spelling ie words not in the spelling booklet was given weekly too. The surprise spelling words can be from anywhere..eg science or maths etc...Felt this way is pretty good cos sub consciously, he learnt some of the science words..and by remembering the phrases, he can use that in his compo writing.
      Conclusion: I like his teacher's style, hopefully, he has one that is as good next year.

monmon31

Dino mummy:

Hi QMS
        No textbook for my kid this year.
        But the school required the Pri 3 to get a Grammar Assessment book (tink it is by Learners..cant recall the publisher) & Zoom in Vocab (by CASCO).
        His class managed to finish everything on these 2 books. On top of that, they had worksheets prepared by the teachers. The teacher also test them on some of the words/ sentences found in the Zoom in Vocab for their weekly spelling. Nearer to year end, I saw stack of worksheets on just practising on cloze passage (without helping words) and comprehensions and oso past year papers.
        Weekly spelling is tougher compared to Pri 1 and 2. No longer just words, they were tested on phrases. And his class has to remember a few phrases a week, similar to dictation. Surprise spelling ie words not in the spelling booklet was given weekly too. The surprise spelling words can be from anywhere..eg science or maths etc...Felt this way is pretty good cos sub consciously, he learnt some of the science words..and by remembering the phrases, he can use that in his compo writing.
        Conclusion: I like his teacher's style, hopefully, he has one that is as good next year.
        Woah :nailbite: ...from what I have read..it is no longer easy life for the kids. I agree that this is good exercise to
        a) keep the kids on their toes and
        b) brush up their vocabulary/grammer...etc
        so as to enhance their written skills. This is probably many kids achilles' heels.

• qmsQ Offline
          qms

:thankyou: for your information, Dino mummy!

monmon31

Hi Dino Mummy,

Traditionally, the kids need not bring their books on the first day in P1 & P2, will this be the same case for P3 students as well? Need you advise. :?:

Dino mummy

monmon31:
              Hi Dino Mummy,

Traditionally, the kids need not bring their books on the first day in P1 & P2, will this be the same case for P3 students as well? Need you advise. :?:
              Yes, but my \"junior kiasu\" insists to bring...so i allow him to bring some. Just remb to let ur kid bring a note book for copying any teacher's instruction etc...

and those surprise spelling and dictation I mentioned may not be implemented by all class teachers...it depends on the teacher. I noe some dun do that. It is defintely tougher fr Pri 3 onwards...esp with an additional subject (science) to cope with, hardly any time to play during the weekends.
              To me, maths is v tough, i give up on maths...

monmon31

Dino mummy:
                Yes, but my \"junior kiasu\" insists to bring...so i allow him to bring some. Just remb to let ur kid bring a note book for copying any teacher's instruction etc...

and those surprise spelling and dictation I mentioned may not be implemented by all class teachers...it depends on the teacher. I noe some dun do that. It is defintely tougher fr Pri 3 onwards...esp with an additional subject (science) to cope with, hardly any time to play during the weekends.
                To me, maths is v tough, i give up on maths...
                :thankyou: for your advice.

Yes, agree Maths get tougher and tougher...there are times I also dont know how to do the question and/or explain to DS how I got my answers. :oops:

Whirlwind

Thought we should just let them bring the necessary workbooks to leave with the teachers on the first day?

• qmsQ Offline
                    qms

Whirlwind:
                    Thought we should just let them bring the necessary workbooks to leave with the teachers on the first day?

Does the school still do that for P3s? I thought the teachers keep the books only for the lower primary? 🤷

Dino mummy

Whirlwind:

Does the school still do that for P3s? I thought the teachers keep the books only for the lower primary? 🤷

Dear QMS
                      The teacher still kept the books or the books are kept in the cupboard/shelf.

titank

[quote]Since Pri 2, I have stopped going to the bookstore to buy the books, only go there to get exercise books and uniforms.

I heard that they run out of small size shorts and din noe when the uniform is in.
                        I recalled 2 yrs ago, I queued for my kid when sch reopened to buy a book that was not avail in Popular nor the sch bookstore (during the textbook buying period in Dec)...queued for quite a while and was told no stock. I nearly killed the auntie :mad: In my heart, I was tinking why they cant list those unavail items upfront so that we dun need to queue. A classmate of my kid queue in front of me and wasted her time meant for reccess.

I still need one more Literature book...not on sale in Popular and the school bookstore said stock will only be in in Jan 12. I hope the school will help to take order from the kids and order for them so that the kids need not go to the bookstore regularly to check.

As for meet the parents sessions, I support the previous way...i liked the twice a year sessions. Hope, the principal is bringing this back next year.[/quote]Maybe should do away all the textbook & every student can use an ipad2 for their materials. Just bring a very small bag where around max 2kg . :rahrah:

The school is a leader in IT, so maybe the whoile school can all link up with wireless internet. :boogie:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 292 / 431

jackieyeoJ
                        jackieyeo