Club 2006 Kids
my DS last yr K1 oredi got spelling
my wife had to ‘bribe’ him to get full marks den buy him toys etc -
I think bribing is not a good idea! Once they grow up they wil expecting more and more bribes.I experienced with My elder boy in P4 this year.Now I feel very difficult to motivate.I didn’t bribe him for spelling in K1.From P1 onwards (He refused to do practice) I told him like if u achieve this goal I buy a favourite toy for u.Last year only I knew its a wrong strategy.
Experts say that need to praise with words and expressions.again caution,can’t be over praised.They they will get over confidence. -
we notice he finds it difficult to concentrate when there are things he knows…
he is quite smart… doing addition nowadays but just wanna test water by asking us if he has done it correctly for every question… maybe we should stop giving him so much rewards for each accomplishment he make… -
So for my DD2, I just help her to memorise.She wanted all correct cos T said If u got all correct I will give u sticker.before she got wrong,I don’t worry.
TS Mummy:
Hi TS Mummy!Good morning all & yes Happy 2012

all must be looking forward to CNY liao.
I got a question here. how to motivate my DS to finish his homework (both at home he has CMA Abacus homework and his school) faster? he often get feedbacks by the teachers (both CMA and his cc teachers) that he is slow in completing his work (not that he don't know how to do it) and yes, he love to talk in the class and he like to see what is his friend doing...
anyone..can tell me how :p. i am like a recorder rewinding and rewinding telling him that he can only talk/play after he finish his work (in school and at home too) and he would tell me that he know (with the very sad face) and he don't want to be slow...but then..he is still slow ler.
i am also trying the rewards system (ie if he finish his homework fast and properly, i would bring him to play ground etc)
is it perhaps he is not time concious or he has yet master the importance of time management?
i feel he is in K2 now and going Primary 1 next year and his teacher has feedbacks that he needs to do his home work faster in order to cope well in Primary school...
mummies, any thoughts that you can share?
I think boys are more playful.My son did slowly in K2.Then I worried like u.But In P1,T didn't comment like that.I asked her \"Does he finish on time?\".She said yes.My son's problem is writing.He writes very slow.
I am not sure is this a good method,but it comes to my mind.How about u write something else with him.May he just boaring to do alone.or u just race with him like do the same page as him and tell him ok who will finish first? -
oh my wife used to buy those stickers which says ‘well done’ or ‘good job’ and he loves it…
but after that, he becomes materialistic and wan toys instead… lol -
KS parents:
DS new sch do not have chinese spelling, the chn tr say under MOE it is not recommended to have chinese spelling during pre-school education...This Wed, DS is having his first official spelling in his CC. Hope he will not disappoints after so much effort over the weekend..a total of 8 words right from the start.
His Chinese Spelling is schedule to take place on Fri..4 words.. -
dorisp:
My DS has not done any spelling before....I heard there will be spelling from his kindy this year as he is now K2. Havn't seen any list from the school yet.....better enjoy now before the \"spelling season\" starts.....

DS ex-CC has spelling list till the end of the year... his new sch - Kindy has yet to give us any list yet...
Looks like there is lots of differences around…PAP kindergarten is still reviewing their syllabus…not too sure if they are going to gear towards what CC are providing or they are setting a new benchmark for CC to adopt.
Hiaz…our ever-changing education system, making us parents pursuing and preparing our kids like mad…at times felt that we are being lead by the nose by the policymakers in white… -
KS parents:
yup... at one hand.. it seems like DS is lacking behind on the other hand it seem like DS is ahead of the others....Looks like there is lots of differences around..PAP kindergarten is still reviewing their syllabus..not too sure if they are going to gear towards what CC are providing or they are setting a new benchmark for CC to adopt.
Hiaz..our ever-changing education system, making us parents pursuing and preparing our kids like mad..at times felt that we are being lead by the nose by the policymakers in white..
Dun have time and energy to chase ard the \" paper \" especially with SMRT constantly down lor :siam:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.