Mom call police and MOE : Teacher force son for a haircut
MrsSeah:
No, SIA has only 2 rules when it comes to hair. Have it short or bun it up if long. They will not cut a bunch of your hair to humiliate you so that you walk around the cabin ugly for the day. Anyway, most girls want to join SIA because they think it is a glamorous job. SIA conducts training to teach the girls about grooming and advises each girl a suitable hairstyle. Most will end up with a hugging short hair because short hair almost always flatter any face. Unless you have that perfect shaped face, short hair is recommended. They have a bunch of recommended hairstylists you can go to if you like, at a discounted price. If you don't like, pay more and go to your own hairstylist. However, once they leave the training, most girls prefer to keep long hair and bun that up. If you change the hairstyle recommended to you, they will not cut a bunch of your hair on flight during in flight checks as well.
Do SIA allow their air stewardess to let their hair down for human right? Air stewardess want human right, than leave the job lor.
In any case, the way SIA treat their stewardesses is not the best in the world. But it is a job, you can always quit, there are options. If you are really badly treated there is SIASU the trade union that will speak up for you. There are less options for students especially the boys when it comes to schools.
O, SIA pays a salary, and the stewardesses understand that they have to provide a uniform look so that the company does well and they get to keep their jobs (and gratuity). Stewardesses are normally proud of their uniforms and their grooming. They are taught proper grooming for 3 months. SIA invests $5000-$10000 to nurture each steward to groom and train them, schools don't. SIA stewardesses learn to take pride in their looks and the rules are clear, students don't even understand the rules besides length. What is 'unruly', how 'thick' is 'thick'?
Having said that, I agree that some kids need to 'get it' from others. But those are minorities. Most kids prefer to please adults until the adults prove unworthy of respect. -
Joule:
Next time you become the manager of your company, your employee come in with the wrong clothing according to the company rules (e.g. shirt and tie or not formal enough) you tear his/her clothes off?what is the big deal.
When I go reservist, the RSM catch us with too long hair, we also kena haircut what. Can I go comprain to my MP then?
Basically, I say, screw this parental expectation of teachers being customer service officers. :siao:
When the parent despises enforced discipline, the child would also grow to despise it.
So we'll see la. Personally I am expecting this parent to complain to mindef next about why BMTC did not put floatation devices for her son to swim home from Tekong when he enters NS a few years on....
by the way, this topic was all over my facebook today.
From my friend's friend status: i used to do discipline in my former sch, i once shave off half the hair of a boy who refused to dye his hair back to black despite we gave him time during sch hrs to go n find barber shop to do it .. he came back still same colour .. i intentionally shaved off of his hair (sorry, i'm not a trained barber, so dun expect me to do wonders), then my DM saw the 'half-done product', shook his head n decided to shave off the other half to make his hairdo complete - end results is botak! -
2ppaamm:
for certain function and certain personnel, company's specified attire is compulsory, for example, class 100 clean room for medical products where any contamination could be fatal......defiance of dress code could be considered as deliberate sabotage with malice
Next time you become the manager of your company, your employee come in with the wrong clothing according to the company rules (e.g. shirt and tie or not formal enough) you tear his/her clothes off?Joule:
what is the big deal.
When I go reservist, the RSM catch us with too long hair, we also kena haircut what. Can I go comprain to my MP then?
Basically, I say, screw this parental expectation of teachers being customer service officers. :siao:
When the parent despises enforced discipline, the child would also grow to despise it.
So we'll see la. Personally I am expecting this parent to complain to mindef next about why BMTC did not put floatation devices for her son to swim home from Tekong when he enters NS a few years on....
From my friend's friend status: i used to do discipline in my former sch, i once shave off half the hair of a boy who refused to dye his hair back to black despite we gave him time during sch hrs to go n find barber shop to do it .. he came back still same colour .. i intentionally shaved off of his hair (sorry, i'm not a trained barber, so dun expect me to do wonders), then my DM saw the 'half-done product', shook his head n decided to shave off the other half to make his hairdo complete - end results is botak! -
MrsSeah:
My question would be, \"Why does the kid hate school so much to want to dilly dally at the shopping centre, and treat suspension as a holiday?!\" It is so sad, isn't it? How did he/she come to this stage? Where is the motivation to study for his future, where is his own urgency to want to do well?
Send them back. Hahahaha... The student are MORE happy with that. They can dilly dally at the shopping centre to get their hair cut.
Suspension? Wow they like it MORE. It's like extra holiday to them. -
for certain function and certain personnel, company's specified attire is compulsory, for example, class 100 clean room for medical products where any contamination could be fatal......defiance of dress code could be considered as deliberate sabotage with malice[/quote]I once turned up for work in the wrong attire and totally unintentional. It was a dress-down Friday and I went in shorts. I was told that even in a dress down day, we are expected to be in at least pants. My manager just ask me to quickly go home and change. There was no ill feelings, and he gave me total benefit of the doubt. At the end of that same year, this same manager gave me two awards for my job well-done. No judgmental remark on my one-off inappropriate dressing, and I have never gone to work in shorts again - ever.
Next time you become the manager of your company, your employee come in with the wrong clothing according to the company rules (e.g. shirt and tie or not formal enough) you tear his/her clothes off?2ppaamm:
[quote=\"Joule\"]what is the big deal.
From my friend's friend status: i used to do discipline in my former sch, i once shave off half the hair of a boy who refused to dye his hair back to black despite we gave him time during sch hrs to go n find barber shop to do it .. he came back still same colour .. i intentionally shaved off of his hair (sorry, i'm not a trained barber, so dun expect me to do wonders), then my DM saw the 'half-done product', shook his head n decided to shave off the other half to make his hairdo complete - end results is botak!
I worked in a very formal company where all salesmen were told to wear only white shirts and red ties Mondays-Fridays. There is room for error and people can rectify errors. That's why it is still one of the biggest MNCs in the world around. :boogie:
Even though I have left the company 20 years ago, I still keep my friends made from that company, where everyone treated everyone like a human and a friend. It is still one of the best companies I have worked for. What sweet memories. Cannot imagine what it would have been like if he were to rip off my clothes or insulted me.
For those compulsory clean room type, they provide the relevant clothings, right? -
2ppaamm:
yes of course, all are provided, including training
For those compulsory clean room type, they provide the relevant clothings, right?
so if the employee like the student, purposely defy ............ -
Maybe I live in an unreal world but why would an employee do that if he needs his job? This just does not make sense. Same thing for a student, why would he defy purposely if the rules make sense and is clear?
so if the employee like the student, purposely defy ............
From my experience with thousands of students, they don't seem to defy purposely, it is often misunderstanding and miscommunication. Unless the kid has a psychological problem, then as educators, we should find out why and seek help for them. Corporal punishment does not solve the root of the problem.
Deep inside each student, he wants to do well and get approval. Yes, even the most defiant student. If only we as educators see that too and help them achieve that. I have personally worked a few 'condemned students' (according to my colleagues) who would 'die' for that educator who would give them a chance. -
2ppaamm:
I have attended functions and visited places where, if you're not in the correct attire, they will hand you a piece of clothing and ask you to change immediately. The university graduation ceremony is one such occasion. Certain museums in other countries, such as the royal palace museums, also have this rule.
Next time you become the manager of your company, your employee come in with the wrong clothing according to the company rules (e.g. shirt and tie or not formal enough) you tear his/her clothes off?Joule:
what is the big deal.
From my friend's friend status: i used to do discipline in my former sch, i once shave off half the hair of a boy who refused to dye his hair back to black despite we gave him time during sch hrs to go n find barber shop to do it .. he came back still same colour .. i intentionally shaved off of his hair (sorry, i'm not a trained barber, so dun expect me to do wonders), then my DM saw the 'half-done product', shook his head n decided to shave off the other half to make his hairdo complete - end results is botak!
I think it's important for a student in Singapore to learn that school rules should be obeyed. Because unlike American schools, which allow for a great deal of individualism, Singaporean schools believe that uniformity and strict rules help to create a conducive learning environment.
The second learning point is, a student can be audacious, but he must be prepared to take the consequences of his audacity. If he can't deal with the consequences, just follow the rules. The ability to co-operate, and understand and follow rules are important life skills too. -
Mdm Koh:
I agree to this. It is always the ones who challenge status quo who will change the world, and along the way, they bear the consequences. In a society like ours, where there is no benefit in being different, then most of our kids will not end up changing the world.
The second learning point is, a student can be audacious, but he must be prepared to take the consequence of his audacity. If he can't deal with the consequences, just follow the rules. The ability to co-operate, and understand and follow rules are important life skills too.
Also to note that not every kid learn at the same pace. Some kids 'get it' (obey = less consequence) faster and some slower. Just like in academics. Some students needs to be told off and make more mistakes before they understand certain stuff, some kids are more street smart. What I also don't understand is why we are willing to help the academically weak, but label a kid that takes longer to learn social norms defiant with just one mistake. -
2ppaamm:
how do you know it is just one mistake ? read from asiaone.com this is not the first time for the boy, but the first time his mom knows it. he just refuses to learn and he isn't that stupid. and the way the mother over reacted just shows she could not manage and she sabotages her own son by creating a scene in school and gets police and MOE to do nothing
I agree to this. It is always the ones who challenge status quo who will change the world, and along the way, they bear the consequences. In a society like ours, where there is no benefit in being different, then most of our kids will not end up changing the world.Mdm Koh:
The second learning point is, a student can be audacious, but he must be prepared to take the consequence of his audacity. If he can't deal with the consequences, just follow the rules. The ability to co-operate, and understand and follow rules are important life skills too.
Also to note that not every kid learn at the same pace. Some kids 'get it' (obey = less consequence) faster and some slower. Just like in academics. Some students needs to be told off and make more mistakes before they understand certain stuff, some kids are more street smart. What I also don't understand is why we are willing to help the academically weak, but label a kid that takes longer to learn social norms defiant with just one mistake.
it is cool and fashionable to want to change to the world but there is only one Steve Jobs, only one Thomas Edison, only one Albert Einstein, but too many wannabes
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.