Parents, not enrichment centres, are key to result

990 Posts 93 Posters 215.8k Views 1 Watching
      Chenonceau

PiggyLalala:
      sleepyqueen:

jesschan,

Here is it based on elkniwt's upload:
      http://i41.tinypic.com/1z676s4.jpg\">

Just a word of caution, when i said 'simultaneous equations', it does not mean the complicated 'simultaneous equations' like above.
      I think the above solution is too complicated for the P6 students to handle.

Oh boy... this is getting out of my depth... :siam:

Do you have a simpler solution?

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
        PiggyLalala

PiggyLalala:

Just to clarify. If I did not remember wrongly, I did not see any worksheets that specifically taught simultaneous equations, and neither did the teacher specifically teach the skill to the pupils. However, in class, the teacher might have used it as a method to solve certain practice questions, which allowed the better students to indirectly learn the way of doing simultaneous equations.

Can learn simultaneous equations indirectly one meh? :scratchhead:

How shall i put it? :? so sorry.. not very good in expressing....

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
          PiggyLalala

PiggyLalala:
          sleepyqueen:

jesschan,

[quote]
          Copied the question from the PSLE maths thread.
          Beautiful solution provided by Mathizzzfun and tianzhu..

Chenonceau

PiggyLalala:

[quote=\"sleepyqueen\"]jesschan,

[quote]
            Copied the question from the PSLE maths thread.
            Beautiful solution provided by Mathizzzfun and tianzhu..[/quote][/quote]Can link to post?

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
              PiggyLalala

Primary school questions do not really need the skills of simultaneous equations. Such questions can always be done by other methods without using simultaneous equations.

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
                PiggyLalala

sorry… don’t know how to link… refer to page 484… psle maths thread

Chenonceau

PiggyLalala:
                  sorry.. don't know how to link... refer to page 484... psle maths thread

Is it this one the simple solution? http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=693236#p693236

Looks very Onspongey...

By the way... Onsponge 6 addresses simultaneous equations using units or something like that.

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
                    PiggyLalala

Just to share… my ds way of doing the above questions… Concept used = RATIO, and need a bit of simple simultaneous skills…

A: shaded: unshaded = 1u:1u
                    😄 shaded: unshaded = 1p:4p
                    B: shaded: unshaded = 1u + 1p: 3u+3p

Given area A+B = 125% tt of C,
                    therefore 2u + 4u + 4p: 5p = 5z: 4z
                    6u + 4p = 5z ----- (1)
                    5p = 4z --------(2)

from (1) 24u + 16p = 20z
                    from (2) 25p = 20z

therefore 24u + 16p = 25u
                    24u = 9p
                    8u = 3p
                    4u = 3/2p; 2u = 3/4p
                    Therefore area A/area B = 2u/4u+4p = 3/4p divide by (3/2p +4p) =3/22.

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
                      PiggyLalala

http://www.flickr.com/photos/62167097@N02/6705370185/in/photostream

Mathizzzfun's solution by model

metz

My kiddos are not yet at the PSLE stage yet so all is still kinda rosy right now. Just trying to understand what I might be heading in for so don't shoot me hor.

But I am just wondering, all these talk about testing beyond what is taught or beyond the abilities of kids this age, is it really so? Of the entire exam paper, are all the questions beyond what is taught in the syllabus? Or just a small percentage of the questions to sniff out those with higher order thinking?

Is it the paper that is forcing the parents to need all these tuition and enrichment or is it the parents who refuse let their children stumble on these questions that led to this 'tuition culture'?
                        A strong understanding of concepts and exposure to various application-type qestions (i.e practising beyond the textbooks and workbooks) should help in solving most of the P5 & P6 questions. However, some acceleration may be required when one reaches P5. For instance, the topic on Ratio. The P5 school syllabus touches briefly on Ratio. But to solve higher level questions at P5, one needs the knowledge from P6 ratio topics, ie. Ratio & Fraction, Changing Ratios. These are covered in P5 Onsponge Book. However, it is possible to tackle P5 & P6 papers without going through the Onsponge books. Tried and tested.

For me, the school syllabus does not include all the topics one may encounter in the school test papers or assessment books. We picked up some 'new Maths' from Maths Olympiad books (MOB). But I must confess these form a small percentage in most test papers. What stumble most students would be the application of concepts learnt in problem solving. From the question that PiggyLalala posed, we see that one can arrive at the same answer via different methods. In fact, a number of the questions posed in the maths threads can also be solved using various methods. It is not so much the depth but the skill in applying concepts learnt that makes Maths seemingly difficult.

Just my 2 cents - from someone whose kids have no school teachers/materials but only textbooks & assessment books to rely on ...

Edit : As for questions from MOB, though not included in the textbooks, they do appear in some assessment books. Schools may have even taught or introduced them to their students. Such MOB questions which include http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=66&t=149&start=1530, http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=65&t=25114&start=60, intervals, etc, are fairly common in the various Maths threads of this forum.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 25 / 99