What should I do?
So pinky, now you can have a very happy new year.

yes buds, dun let yr BIL into yr house.
once BIL smoke and yr kids see him smoking - when they grow up, yr kids think is ok to smoke bec uncle himself smoke... then yr kids start smoking... never let bad habit enter yr hse. Ask yr husb to think of the negative influence & impact / bad consequences on yr kids impression as they grow up.
pinky, wishing you a HAPPY New Year !!!
thank you sall and phtthp and all the best for the new year too.
Now another problem cropped up - both mother and daughter are happy shopping and charging to the supplementary card from my husband. Actually this SIL has been doing this for about 2 years+ and sometimes she will pay a portion of the money to my husband but many times, she will act blur and left to my husband to settle the bill. :stompfeet: :mad: :mad: After this incident (daughter not allowed
to stay with us), she seemed to be on a shopping spree, just last month she charged about $2000 for facial package and only paid $1200 to my
husband. He is now :slapshead: :stompfeet: also (finally) and asking
her if she really know how much she is spending. Until now, her unpaid
debts to him is already close to $8000 over a 2 years period and despite
telling him about this, he is still quite reluctant to get her to pay because
she is a single mother and both kids are still schooling. I told him then the more she should be sensible about spending and save for a rainy day instead of using him as an ATM.. :nunchuk: :nunchuk: -
OMG! There is a certain limit when comes to helping siblings leh. What about immediate family?
Come on…cut off the suppl credit cards. There is no end to it. It is time to wake up as there is no free lunch plz. How come there are such people around. Really don’t understand.
Be firm on your ground. As a wife, you have every authority to stop this nonsense. -
laughingcat:
I had countless arguments with him about his sis but he said that's his money but he appreciated my reminder and would be on the 'lookout'.OMG! There is a certain limit when comes to helping siblings leh. What about immediate family?
Come on......cut off the suppl credit cards. There is no end to it. It is time to wake up as there is no free lunch plz. How come there are such people around. Really don't understand.
Be firm on your ground. As a wife, you have every authority to stop this nonsense.
:slapshead: :slapshead: . This SIL is milking sympathy from all her siblings just because she's divorced (so chum-said another SIL) but I feel that the sympathy is really misplaced. She also make them run errands for her, pay for her dinner and even chauffer her kids around. I say these people are really :siao: :scratchhead: -
If your hubby is reluctant to cut the supp card, at least put a low limit to it, such as S$300 or $500. That should be sufficient to tied out of any "emergency" situation where she has not enough cash with her.
But seriously, I would do I can to put a stop to this. "Cham" or not, they have to know that your hubby has his own commitments, and the $$ that your hubby spent paying off her debts can be put to better use for your children, who are definitely more worth it. -
better call up or write in to bank to place a credit limit cap on the supp card. eg: max $300.
because is not her own hard earned money, she & her daughter lack control, spend beyond & assume yr husb pick up the tab.
alert … if one day either she or her daughter lose the supp card & someone else conveniently pick up and become thief, eg: quickly go jewellery shop like Poh Heng and buy a necklace costing $2800, that’s it - yr husb got to pay, since there is no maximum credit limit cap on this supp card. Thus, very risky!
if there’s no credit limit imposed, one day her daughter’s classmates pull her along to Orchard road shopping say, Ion - buy Prada shoes, Louis Vutton handbag, etc and she conveniently goes on shopping spree, buy cosmestic, massage, facial mask, trendy clothes, etc - end up yr husb got to pay.
as his wife, you’ve the authority to stop all these irrelvant potential timebomb problem. Tell yr husb yr son entering Tertiary university education soon, need to save up for him. Think of yr son first, not let them anyhow exploit him! -
will ask him to do so. Anyway in light of the recent card skimming etc
he will cut his credit limit and probably cancel some cards -
even our own wallet - dun carry so many credit cards around.
try to limit to at most 2.
last time i ever lost my wallet before … went police station report.
police ask me, "Mam, in Total, how many banks credit cards did you lose ? bec we need to call up banks immediately, stop immediately in case someone else pick it up & start using, start charging you on shopping spree."
for a moment, i was stunned by his qn. My mind went blank, bec i can’t recall off hand the no. of cards in my wallet. Yes, i was so blur. That incident taught me a lesson. From that day onwards, i limit myself to 2 max. The rest all cancel.
Yes! and each card, impose a max. credit limit $300. In the event if lost card accidentally, our loss is cap. -
Hi pinky, hope your new year will be more peaceful n blissful with major hurdles out of the way. :hugs:
Don't understand why some hubbies allow themselves to be sponged. :scratchhead: Yeh.. I bet mine would say he doesnt mind cos its his money too. To think all this time I try to be an understanding n tolerant wife which includes not having to spend $ unnecessarily. Most times also $ usually spent on the children. Mebbe I should start learning how to sponge.. :idea:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.