Parents, not enrichment centres, are key to result
Edureach:
Yah lor Edureach-- the predominantly bery \"ang moh\" type of schoolkiddo:
[quote=\"Edureach\"]If parents are unable to provide a conductive enviroment to the learning of CL, is best to avoid \"certain type\" of schools. That's my advice when parents asked me.
Enviroment is the single most important factor.
speak Englishe kuat kuat de.......read tonne of Lit .....but SG chinese kid doono why need to learn CL ..i dont blame them ...no environment
and encouragement to learn CL .
DH dont read CL, me CL given back to school after so many year
but was pleasantly surprised DS manage a A2 in CL in sec sch .... :?
so he now need to scrap HCL .....yap in a Chinese
environment school which definitely help a lot ...encourage
the child to appreciate the language and the reason to learn it because
fellow student are good in CL ...
A2 in CL according to DS is only 10% of class , most got A1 in CL
Good for your ds! If all ang mo pai parents were to think like you, the issue of CL being too difficult to handle shall disappear. Actually, i had picked up this advice from a chinese businessman years ago.
Vice versa, those from predominantly chinese speaking families must aim to get their kids to potatoes' schools. That's the way to go![/quote] :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
'Chee Na\" kid vs \"Kang Tang \" children
ds is a chee na kid that love to eat kang tang
so he is a 'chee na kan tang' then :hi5: -
limlim,
(but for those families which both parents need to struggle to make ends meet.. teaching their kids may not be a viable option for them..)
Quoting what you had said above, it reminded me that there was one parent who told me that she cannot be SAHM because she needs to upkeep a car. One other parent's reason was she feels bore at home so need to work. Some can't stand their in laws so come out and work. It doesn't means that both parents work are due to making ends meet.
I'm also not against mother going out to work. As I would also like to join back the work society when my smallest one grows up.
Mychildren:
I guess the notion of \"enough money\" is a highly subjective one.
Quoting what you had said above, it reminded me that there was one parent who told me that she cannot be SAHM because she needs to upkeep a car. One other parent reason was she feels bore at home so need to work. Some can't stand their in laws so come out and work. It doesn't means that both parents work are due to making ends meet.
I'm also not against mother going out to work. As I would also like to join back the work society when my smallest one grows up.
Mychildren:
Just an example lah....limlim,
(but for those families which both parents need to struggle to make ends meet.. teaching their kids may not be a viable option for them..)
Quoting what you had said above, it reminded me that there was one parent who told me that she cannot be SAHM because she needs to upkeep a car. One other parent's reason was she feels bore at home so need to work. Some can't stand their in laws so come out and work. It doesn't means that both parents work are due to making ends meet.
btw, you can actually use the quote button at the btm RHS of the post.. more convenient......
kiddo:
kiddo,
'Chee Na\" kid vs \"Kang Tang \" children
ds is a chee na kid that love to eat kang tang
so he is a 'chee na kan tang' then :hi5:
my dss, chinese also half pail, english also half pail; both also need external help. because both parents also half pail for both languages. how ah? half and half make one whole also ma.
limlim,
Thanks. Never know that I can quote like that till now. I'm not observant. I actually used copy and paste that is Ctrl C and Ctrl V.
Laughing at myself. -
For Chinese, I must acknowledge Berriesworldβs importance in developing interest and proficiency in both my kids. My jaw nearly dropped when my sonβs P1 teacher commented that he was one of the few students strong in Chinese. We didnβt speak nor teach him Chinese at home. Berries was the only extra help he received. When I took over the teaching role one year ago, I realised his foundation has been firmly laid. For my daughter, she didnβt have the opportunity to complete K1-K2 with Berries. However, the Berries materials have been very helpful. After finishing the K2 Berries readers, she is now progressing pretty well with βε€§θιΈθ·³θΈ’θΈθβ by ζ¬ηΊ’樱.
In this sense, the enrichment centre, Berries, has been the key to my kidsβ progress. -
http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php
it always feels good when \"inside\"..isn't it? :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:deminc:
insider, u know how to make a gal feel better.
:siam: -
Wah-lau! Some bits in this thread has really OT-ed by miles! :offtopic:
Aniwaes, here's my take..
1. Not all parents can teach.
ie. They may be able to teach but mebbe using their old-school style which may take longer for the child to understand. May pose more harm than help.
2. Not all parents are cut out to teach.
ie. They may not be educated or not educated enough to teach their children.
3. Not all parents can afford to teach.
ie. They both need to go out to work to support their family..... or needs..... or well..... even wants.
ie. or both parents are high flyers in their career or they travel for work often so no time to teach.
4. Not all parents want to teach.
ie. Oh.. they teach... but they go, \"Think if given a choice, i want to teach you all meh. Cheh.\"
5. Not all parents care to teach.
ie. Yes, there are still parents in this day and age who believe the child learns everything in school..... from the teachers. They go, \"Ahh? We must teach at home oso arh? They go school learn everything oredi what..\"
6. Not all parents dare to teach.
ie. They are educated.. knowledgable.. but they go, \"If teach wrongly then how?\"
7. Not all parents like teaching.
ie. Aaaah... these parents go, \"Please arh, don't ask me anything. Dunno anything please go ask your teacher(s)...\"
QUESTION : Parents, NOT Enrichment Centres... Are Key To Result.
CONCLUSION : (Some) Parents CAN be the key to results... but not all have the same keys.http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php -
:goodpost:Wah-lau! Some bits in this thread has really OT-ed by miles! :offtopic:
Aniwaes, here's my take..
1. Not all parents can teach.
ie. They may be able to teach but mebbe using their old-school style which may take longer for the child to understand. May pose more harm than help.
2. Not all parents are cut out to teach.
ie. They may not be educated or not educated enough to teach their children.
3. Not all parents can afford to teach.
ie. They both need to go out to work to support their family..... or needs..... or well..... even wants.
ie. or both parents are high flyers in their career or they travel for work often so no time to teach.
4. Not all parents want to teach.
ie. Oh.. they teach... but they go, \"Think if given a choice, i want to teach you all meh. Cheh.\"
5. Not all parents care to teach.
ie. Yes, there are still parents in this day and age who believe the child learns everything in school..... from the teachers. They go, \"Ahh? We must teach at home oso arh? They go school learn everything oredi what..\"
6. Not all parents dare to teach.
ie. They are educated.. knowledgable.. but they go, \"If teach wrongly then how?\"
7. Not all parents like teaching.
ie. Aaaah... these parents go, \"Please arh, don't ask me anything. Dunno anything please go ask your teacher(s)...\"
QUESTION : Parents, NOT Enrichment Centres... Are Key To Result.
CONCLUSION : (Some) Parents CAN be the key to results... but not all have the same keys.http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.