CNY Reunion Dinner...at home and out
carebear:
Thanks to you, Carebear, for your Kway Guan Huat popiah lobang, that my relatives on my dad's side are now looking forward to coming to my parents' place for CNY lunch on the 2nd day.
This year, besides the popiah party, I may be going to Ramen Champion for ramen for reunion dinner.
When I told my relatives about it, we realized that this was the same place that my late grandparents used to buy the popiah skin from. So this lunch is bringing back good memories for all of us :love: -
I’m looking forward to the CNY celebrations. Good time to catch up with cousins and even my aunts and uncles. It’ll be a time of feasting and fun.
Guess I’m pretty fortunate that the relatives are all right and I’m quite close to my aunts as well. Have even gone on hols with them before - when I was a singleton and now married. So, we’ll probably reminisce those good ole days.
Maybe it’s precisely because the nuclear family unit is getting smaller, that’s why it’s important that my kids are close to their cousins and uncles/aunties as well. -
insider:
Know what u mean, insider. I used to go thru the same thing with my mom too. She'll toil in the kitchen for days and then cannot really enjoy reunion dinner and CNY properly as she's aching all over.
My mum is a GREAT cook and all kids enjoy her cooking. But she has to learn to let go and accept that she is getting old and frail and to start taking a back seat to relax and enjoy the fruit of her hard labour for the so many years of bringing her 6 kids up...tankee:
There is no better satisfaction for a mother to cook a favourite dish for her children and seeing them enjoying it, more so if she don't get to do so regularly.

PS:
She may bite her tongue to cook up a storm but after that, she may need to take a few days to lie on bed to recover from her ache. She has to know it's no longer worth it and that it brings more sin to her kids by still feasting on her blood and sweat...
Somehow, I managed to convince her that it's not worth the trouble. Now, we tar-bao from our favorite Peranakan restaurant for CNY reunion dinner, and everyone gets to enjoy happily. -
today we have started the preparation work for CNY reunion dinner
collected those items ordered from the butcher, fishmonger, chicken seller, and thankfully got two fridges …
and yes, also bought all sorts of sparklers and party poppers … -
Bring out the sparklies and beware the party poopers..
and yes, also bought all sorts of sparklers and party poppers ....
schweppes:
with schweppes around who need sparklies and poopers :rotflmao:
Bring out the sparklies and beware the party poopers..verykiasu2010:

the kids like the mess of colorful papers on the road after the fun of the poppers .... and the neighbours' ang mo kids will also join in .... -
with schweppes around who need sparklies and poopers :rotflmao:schweppes:
Bring out the sparklies and beware the party poopers..

that's right... must be the life of the p-a-r-t-y mah. Spread the cheer around :boogie: :boogie:verykiasu2010:
So fun... the kids will have a blast.the kids like the mess of colorful papers on the road after the fun of the poppers .... and the neighbours' ang mo kids will also join in ....
Insider,
I love your quote.So profound.
Cheers,
Lynn2insider:
谁言寸草心schweppes:
Know what u mean, insider. I used to go thru the same thing with my mom too. She'll toil in the kitchen for days and then cannot really enjoy reunion dinner and CNY properly as she's aching all over.
报得三春晖...... -
Hi Tankee,
Nope, its not that.
All in all, its the personality of this sil.
Cheers,
Lynn2tankee:
Lynn2:
I agreed that many a time, the traditional chinese reunion dinner is one that brings the family together.Old folks love seeing own children together.
This year, I faced new set of challenge.One of the sil tried all ways to avoid MIL to invite her son from eating at her place even mil is the cook.
Actually there is no issue in going out to eat, but what mil wants is to cook her signature dish for her sons which is a once a year affair.Now this sil go direct tell all the rest dil that mil is not cooking, when mil is actually in her house cooking for her hubby only.
I have never encountered such and also at a lost of words what to say.
Regards,
Lynn
maybe previously some children messed up her place quite badly during the dinner that she had to spend much time into the night to clean & tidy up before cny day? -
schweppes:
Bring out the sparklies and beware the party poopers..verykiasu2010:

I ... I .... I ... forgot to buy sparklies :slapshead: :slapshead:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.