Marriage Proposal - How was yours?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    103 Posts 37 Posters 45.7k Views 1 Watching
    • kwk9060K Offline
      kwk9060

kwk9060:

DH proposed to me in front of a few hundreds or even thousand people, with the witness and blessing of a Minister and 4 MPs. It was a CC open house and we were the volunteers there.

DH went on his knees on stage, with a bouquet of flowers and a proposal ring, and asks me to marry him. All this happened with the Minister and 4 MPs standing on stage beside me, and hundreds of residents below the stage......it even came out in the newspaper front page and I turn superstar overnite.

wow !! really brave !! he must be very sure that you would say yes. Else the embrassment that he may have caused you if you are not ready to say yes would be totally unforgiveable.

Actually, we were already thinking of getting ROM (as usual...to get a flat), just that I told him if no official proposal, I'm not going to the Registry with him.....

Then our YEC chairman suggested the idea to him and he sort of take advantage of the opportunity......the flowers was sponsered by the CC leh....

Andaiz

kwk9060:
        the flowers was sponsered by the CC leh....

kekeke, not bad huh?

carebear

kwk9060:
          Actually, we were already thinking of getting ROM (as usual...to get a flat), just that I told him if no official proposal, I'm not going to the Registry with him.....

Then our YEC chairman suggested the idea to him and he sort of take advantage of the opportunity......the flowers was sponsered by the CC leh....
          My mom would agree with you.
          She thinks that i have been short changed!
          Cos i proposed to my husband.
          Also his family did not give any dowry, also no diamond ring.
          And also during the ROM, he did not bring flowers.
          I expected it, so i brought my own flowers.

winth

carebear:
            And also during the ROM, he did not bring flowers.

I expected it, so i brought my own flowers.
            At least you got to choose your own flowers and buy it the style you want.
            Can you imagine? I had to keep reminding DH never to buy me roses again and yet he bought me roses for the proposal. :faint:

Lucky he chose lilies during our ROM.

• tankeeT Offline
              tankee

what? no dowry; no diamond ring; no flowers? :!:

Andaiz

Actually, I had no dowry too. Didn't ask what the asking rate was, so DH didn't know too...so when he asked me, \"how much?\" I just shrugged my shoulders.

So as it turned out, it was some token sum :oops: which my mum returned without taking anything šŸ˜‰ a bit of a sore point lah...at that time

carebear

If i had asked for the above, he would have given me.
                  It's just that i thought it wasn't necessary, but of course if he had given without me asking, i would have gladly accepted it.

Andaiz

carebear...ask for it at the next Significant Wedding Anniversary :love: :love:

schellen

Actually, on the very first anniversary, ask for a blank cheque (paper anniversary mah), and use it to get the ring lor. šŸ˜‰

carebear

Andaiz:
                        carebear...ask for it at the next Significant Wedding Anniversary :love: :love:

Already 14 wedding anniversaries, still no ring leh. Still waiting. šŸ™
                        schellen:
                        Actually, on the very first anniversary, ask for a blank cheque (paper anniversary mah), and use it to get the ring lor. šŸ˜‰
                        But after 14 years, DH bought me a car! šŸ˜„

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 7 / 11

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo