LETTERLAND PHONIC vs JOLLY PHONIC

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved English
    91 Posts 14 Posters 44.0k Views 1 Watching
      mummy of 2

buds,

ds2's sch is using http://www.edventurebooks.com/sunshine/lettergetter/index.html; what genre of phonics is that?
      i like the cd that comes with the reader cos i can easily reinforce at home and ds2 loves it; ds2 is able to read from memory and help of pictures (of the book); he picked up mostly high frequency words.

do most other phonics reader comes with cd??
      I'm no expert but guessing this is the Sunshine series.
      http://www.edventure.com.sg/sunshine/lettergetter/index.html

I think most readers will help kids pick up the high frequency words. Some come with CD-ROMs, some don't.

I'm using Rigby Literacy, and DS1 can \"read\" all the books in Emergent 1 and 2. That's 22 books, and I say \"read' because I'm not sure if he can recognise the words or just reading from memory.

KS_me

Rigby Star Phonics is said to be 100% decodable.

Please... proceed in telling me what has caused
        your confusion and i will try to digest it & decipher
        what issues lie within that confusion. ๐Ÿ˜‰
        I'm not an educator myself. I did sent DS2 to GUG to expose him to Zoo Phonics when he was 3+ and I attended the lesson together with him so I know how it works by reciting the Zoo Phonics song and form the words.

As for this Ridby, the school did not share with me how they teach with the reader. I can only read it together with him once it has been returned but not sure how to make him break the word to make the sounds.

I'm so dumb in teaching :stupid:

• laughingcatL Offline
          laughingcat

chamonix:
          You got that too. Alamak, potential customer lost!

Hehehehe....can't help it for being too impulsive. :lol:
          [quote]You need to be flexible to blend in your methods. But at the end of the day, you need to be focus on what you want to achieve. [/quote]:celebrate:

yeah.....you are right. Need to be flexible. When I see my boy starting to feel bored, I incorporate different ways of teaching. It works so far lah. In order for me to be more focus, I just concentrate in using Jolly Phonics and Montessori method. The Jolly Phonics handbook is easy to digest lah. ๐Ÿ˜„

• chuaeilC Offline
            chuaeil

Can someone advice me pls....

I decided not to sent my dd for phonics class, i intend to homeschool her. I like Jolly Phonics, i have the handbook and the Dvd only. I was thinking how do you all plan for the phonics lesson by using jolly phonics cos inside they dont have any lesson plan as in lesson one do what step by step. she already know all the alphabets phonics sound and i dont know what to do next and i ever try on the Fitzroy reader book 1 and i realise that she memorizing instead of decoding so i stop everything on that.

I just feel that Jolly Phonics is for those ppl that their sch is using Jolly phonics and then you can get the material to reinforce rather than homeschool them yourself. Pls advice me cos the material is not cheap and i dont want end up i still have to sent her to the phonics class.

Also just to share
            http://www.allaboutlearningpress.com/all-about-reading-level-pre-1/

Thank you very much!

Dec

Anyone know which enrichment school using jolly phonics materials to teach?
              Many thanks in advance ๐Ÿ™‚

• laughingcatL Offline
                laughingcat

Hi chuaeil,

it is not true that homeschooling using jolly phonics is ineffective as compared to school. I have been using JP on my 2 kids and have taught my SIL, my neighbours and friends using JP as well. All are doing fine yeah. Most of our kids have started reading already and well prepared for P1. Of course initially we do faced stumbling block. But once you get pass that phase, everything will fall to pieces.

As for extra materials, you need to be creative and imaginative and exploritative. Most of my materials are self made and most of it are games.

It is not the teaching material, rather it is the person who deliver the lessons. One can have tons of material on hand, but if donโ€™t know how to make use of them effectively, the whole programs falls apart.

No 2 educators will deliver the same result. That is why parents whose English are not strong or those who are "dull" in teaching, better donโ€™t do homeschooling. Homeschooling is never easy because you need to make sure you have the right materials on hand and also the right attitude in being flexible and nimble. That is my humble opinion. Donโ€™t stone me eh.

• laughingcatL Offline
                  laughingcat

Dec:

Anyone know which enrichment school using jolly phonics materials to teach?
                  Many thanks in advance ๐Ÿ™‚
                  Lorna Whiston, some PAP school, some my skool house, some PAT schoolhouse.

do most other phonics reader comes with cd??

Nope. Not most of them.

The Preschool World Series (Pelangi) comes with CD.
                    The Sam & (can't remember the girl's name off hand)
                    also comes with CD. Leapfrog also comes with CD &
                    i must say the content is delivered in really funny
                    ways... comical to the extent that children remember.
                    You know how kiddies lurve the sillies? :siao: Oh well,
                    if it makes them recall better... won't hurt would it? ๐Ÿคท

๐Ÿ˜‚

• chuaeilC Offline
                      chuaeil

laughingcat:
                      Hi chuaeil,

it is not true that homeschooling using jolly phonics is ineffective as compared to school. I have been using JP on my 2 kids and have taught my SIL, my neighbours and friends using JP as well. All are doing fine yeah. Most of our kids have started reading already and well prepared for P1. Of course initially we do faced stumbling block. But once you get pass that phase, everything will fall to pieces.

As for extra materials, you need to be creative and imaginative and exploritative. Most of my materials are self made and most of it are games.

It is not the teaching material, rather it is the person who deliver the lessons. One can have tons of material on hand, but if don't know how to make use of them effectively, the whole programs falls apart.

No 2 educators will deliver the same result. That is why parents whose English are not strong or those who are \"dull\" in teaching, better don't do homeschooling. Homeschooling is never easy because you need to make sure you have the right materials on hand and also the right attitude in being flexible and nimble. That is my humble opinion. Don't stone me eh.
                      Hi laughingcat,
                      Thank you for you advice. I am thinking to do it myself cos the enrichment is not cheap and however the children have so many things to learn. Everything also outsource like that my pocket have a big big hole man and i still have one 2 years old if one child ok lah but with 2 kids leh. Will u be able to share here like what will u do.

Jolly phonice they dont have like lesson 1 do what, lesson 2 do what etc
                      that is what i mean.

Thank you very much!

• laughingcatL Offline
                        laughingcat

JP do have the general timetable. It is in the the handbook, except it is not daily but in weekly.

If that is not what you want, you generate your own curriculum and time table lor. It is difficult to generate a generic curriculum, as it doesnโ€™t fit for all. There is no one size fit all. You know your child and you starts from there. Have a reasonable target.

Once the child finished learning all the phonics sounds in JP, the next step is to do loads of blending exercises. You can either starts with 3 letters-blending first to create confidence. Once your child is okay, proceed with 4 letters blending. Thereafter, you can use the word list as indicated in the JP handbooks.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 7 / 10