Parents, not enrichment centres, are key to result

990 Posts 93 Posters 215.5k Views 1 Watching

laughingcat:
      tutormum:

Seriously, if I were to open a class for parents on how to teach Maths how many of you will sign up? :evil: :evil:

I don't know about other mummies and daddies. For me, i have attended maths courses that are meant for primary schoolers. Those courses are up to 12 hrs. Have completed the maths assessment on my own because i found the given answers are all wrong.

If the school can't teach, i just do it myself.

You mean the assessment given during the maths courses you have attended or Popular assessment books?

Mychildren:
        Even though some of the things that they need to learn are a bit dull, I try to add colours to it..... I do not want them to lost interest and passion in learning as they grow up. We also need to teach them a balance of play and work. πŸ˜‚

Honestly, I have no idea how to make learning interesting for my kids.
        Either age is catching up or my younger one has moods which freak me out...What I do sometimes is to pretend to be the 'student' and she be the teacher.

Some schools try to go holistic at lower primary...but at end of P4, the truth is - EXAMS DO MATTER.

Chenonceau

Mychildren:

Even though some of the things that they need to learn are a bit dull, I try to add colours to it..... I do not want them to lost interest and passion in learning as they grow up. We also need to teach them a balance of play and work. πŸ˜‚

Either age is catching up or my younger one has moods which freak me out...What I do sometimes is to pretend to be the 'student' and she be the teacher.

Some schools try to go holistic at lower primary...but at end of P4, the truth is - EXAMS DO MATTER.

You might wanna check out Chamonix' approach here... http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=705569#p705569

Hers is the approach I use for PSLE with my son - major exam. We have no assessment books for Science, English and Chinese. Assessment books teach through mistakes i.e., the child learns through making mistakes. Every time you make a mistake it does not feel good.

The learning stage must be differentiated from the drilling. For languages, I ensure learning by providing positive models and enhancing retention. For Science, it's a case of reading a lot and watch a lot of videos. Then last minute, we drill. However, we keep the drills to JUST ENOUGH, not more. Once the child gets the technique then he gets it, no need to practise more.

Learning with assessments dumbs down the brain. The brain is wired for complex processing. Assessment books simplify and break down. This bores the brain... and once 70% of your brain has fallen asleep, then all the time you spend is wasted.

Gifted kids are gifted because their brains won't switch off. They become emotionally distraught or they act up BEFORE their brains switch off. To get maximum performance out of an average child, introduce complex stimuli to keep the brain awake...

Champion

:hi5: Janet, agrees with this statement & feel that the impact hits even in the beginning of P4! :shock:

looking4Tutor

From Today http://imcmsimages.mediacorp.sg/CMSFileserver/documents/006/PDF/20120208/0802SGC020.pdf

Mr Heng said -
              β€œThe rigours that we have, the standards that we have, are things we should not be apologetic about because that really builds our foundation for whatever learning that we want.” . . ..

β€œFor us, a country with very limited resources … We have to design a system that serves not just one or two students but serves the entire population and gives everyone a solid grounding that allows them to move forward,”.

not just one or two students whereby their parents are from KSP, who unfortunately are the minority that cranked out of sync with the educational system. πŸ˜†

we should not be apologetic, hence if you KSPs don't like then go international school lor, just like this guy - Mr Chua Ee Chien (could be son of the minority), a student at Brigham Young University, shared how he was able to spend more time in his stronger humanities subjects after switching to an international school.

Seriously, it looks like all the ministers are given a task to package our products, be it housing, public transport, education, to sell it oversea. This could be the most important KSI.

:hi5: Janet, agrees with this statement & feel that the impact hits even in the beginning of P4! :shock:

Some schools REALLY go easy at P1/2...then suddenly in P3/4, teachers become tigers or tigresses. When my son was in P4, he had tons of homework EVERYDAY...really pitied him. Can you imagine MUSIC, ART WORK, Social studies ? Teachers literally piled on. :slapshead:

looking4Tutor:
                  Mr Heng said -

β€œThe rigours that we have, the standards that we have, are things we should not be apologetic about because that really builds our foundation for whatever learning that we want.” . . ..

β€œFor us, a country with very limited resources … We have to design a system that serves not just one or two students but serves the entire population and gives everyone a solid grounding that allows them to move forward,”.

not just one or two students whereby their parents are from KSP, who unfortunately are the minority that cranked out of sync with the educational system. πŸ˜†

we should not be apologetic, hence if you KSPs don't like then go international school lor, just like this guy - Mr Chua Ee Chien (could be son of the minority), a student at Brigham Young University, shared how he was able to spend more time in his stronger humanities subjects after switching to an international school.

Seriously, it looks like all the ministers are given a task to package our products, be it housing, public transport, education, to sell it oversea. This could be the most important KSI.
                  Education, Public Housing, Transport, Mindef etc etc are the jobs and KPIs of the ministers...and we are the experiments. How many of us can afford to be like Mr Chua Ee Chien to switch to international school ?

kitty2

[quote=\"Mychildren\"]
                    I do know the importance of passing exam, but I would like to stress the importance of making learning enjoyable. Learning can be interesting too! I try to make my lessons fun and enjoyable with my kids.

my boy enjoys learning at his enrichment/tuition centre than learning with me leh. πŸ˜“ to him, attending enrichment is enjoyable...as he need not work so hard (ie self discipline and selfreading up etc) at trying to attain the same results.... :skeptical:

Different strokes for different folks mah... Everybody say home-made chwee kueh very nice. When I taste mine, not nice. So I go to Tiong Bahru and buy lor... Ok what.

If your canteen doesn't serve enough chwee kueh, you must find chwee kueh somewhere right... so if you dun make, then you must buy.[/quote] :goodpost: :rotflmao:

Chenonceau

kitty2:

:goodpost: :rotflmao:
                      :hi5:

Mychildren

Mychildren:

Janet,

As long as you and your kids are happy, I have no say. I still wants to instill a balance of work and play with my kids. Even when I teach them piano terms preparing them for theory exam, I used fun way to teach them for example the term \"ma\" means \"but\". So I told my son whenever you called \"ma\" (like mummy\"), you want to explain and defend yourself with \"but\". Now, whenever I flashed out the card I made \"ma\", he smiled first before giving me the answer \"but\". :rotflmao:

No special thing, just add some fun in it whenever I see something funny. :hi5:

I still like and respect you as a friend in KSparents though we do have some things that we don't totally agree on. :celebrate:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 67 / 99