Parents, not enrichment centres, are key to result

990 Posts 93 Posters 216.3k Views 1 Watching
      Mychildren

Some schools try to go holistic at lower primary...but at end of P4, the truth is - EXAMS DO MATTER.

:hi5: Janet, agrees with this statement & feel that the impact hits even in the beginning of P4! :shock:

Hi, Champion,

I already felt the impact when my DS1 in P3 when he started to have supplementary lessons and at the same time he need to attend scrabble training and competition held outside his school. This year already started supplementary since January and need to attend some science training whereby he need to stay back a total of four days after school in a week. But still the same thing, I still want to make his learning fun and interesting.

Chenonceau

What I do sometimes is to pretend to be the 'student' and she be the teacher.
        Hey... I do this too! A lot.

toddles

tutormum:
          Seriously, if I were to open a class for parents on how to teach Maths how many of you will sign up? :evil: :evil:

Sure! But online learning can or not? No time to carve out for mummy's own tuition leh...

autumnbronze

What I do sometimes is to pretend to be the 'student' and she be the teacher.

Hey... I do this too! A lot.

Just back read a couple of posts ....

I do that too!! esp for piano cuz I never learnt!! So fun, I can kinda play \"twinkle twinkle little star\" now and am able to identify some notes!!!!

:rahrah:

So fun, I can kinda play \"twinkle twinkle little star\" now and am able to identify some notes!!!!

OT, but my ds2 'teaches' me piano (he proves to be a better sightreader, while i tend to take the easy way out to memorise). he will count my mistakes and then said it's funny how the 'teacher' (him) is smaller than the 'student' (me). :snuggles:

same here..i also dunno how to make learning fun for my ds1 🤷 . maybe once in a while, but not everytime. the only 'fun' he has now learning is doodling on his assessment papers/books when he has finished the assigned pages. šŸ˜“

Chenonceau

So fun, I can kinda play \"twinkle twinkle little star\" now and am able to identify some notes!!!!

OT, but my ds2 'teaches' me piano (he proves to be a better sightreader, while i tend to take the easy way out to memorise). he will count my mistakes and then said it's funny how the 'teacher' (him) is smaller than the 'student' (me). :snuggles:

same here..i also dunno how to make learning fun for my ds1 🤷 . maybe once in a while, but not everytime. the only 'fun' he has now learning is doodling on his assessment papers/books when he has finished the assigned pages. šŸ˜“

Dun use assessment books. Learning is fun without.

Maybe dun look at fun as in \"fun and games\". Look upon it as deeply engaging a child's attention. Watch your child and catch strands of interest. Pick up that strand, find a book, read together... discuss... ask him questions. Pretend to be blur. I dun need to pretend to be blur... most times, I AM blur, especially in the areas he likes very much. ***YAWN***

The trick in deeply engaging a child's attention is to ask questions. Once the attention of the child is caught and held by a subject/target/topic, it is already fun. It all goes consistently with the I-Am-A-Bimbo persona. But of course, it all starts with a strand of interest the child gives out.

Don't tell (that's boring). Ask.

psle2011mum

tutormum:
                  Seriously, if I were to open a class for parents on how to teach Maths how many of you will sign up? :evil: :evil:

I \"passed\" my PSLE 3 times so I won't be signing up but Math for parents is already a product on the market. I paid for 12 hours at Onsponge and it was money I felt well-spent. After that, I could effectively help my DD and other parents too šŸ˜‚ while working full time!

BTW, not only Mummies were there at onsponge, a couple of Dads and one grandpa attended the class too [I think someone said the grandpa's daughter in law sent him - now why didn't I think of that]! :rotflmao:

Parent workshops for compo and compre/cloze are also in demand - I put together a number [ yup - so desperate to learn to teach was I] to share the resource around.

So tutormum - step right up - a ready market awaits you!

PS. Saw all the postings about chwee kueh and have to add that yes, PSLE was seriously detrimental to my waistline too ! T score go up, waistline also increased! Now paying for it \"big\" time!

Chenonceau

Super OT already......... *jam brakes* All the chwee kuay talk will go elsewhere

Yes ma'am. Sorry for the trouble...

Super OT already......... *jam brakes* All the chwee kuay talk will go elsewhere

Chwee kueh talk found here if you wanna continue: http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=31768 šŸ˜‚

concern2

[quote=\"ksi\"]Super OT already......... *jam brakes* All the chwee kuay talk will go elsewhere

Chwee kueh talk found here if you wanna continue: http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=31768 šŸ˜‚[/quote] :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 68 / 99

RonnieMochiR
                        RonnieMochi
                        GanjiongspiderG
                        Ganjiongspider