Worried parents taking children to psychologists

188 Posts 41 Posters 31.1k Views 1 Watching

You have misread my tone and my post ksi.

I am definitely not upset. NEUTRAL yes, but not upset. And it seems that I may not be the only one.

Yes, you can't help your experience, but isn't it strange that you almost
      always have a similar experience to share .....and don't you think there's
      been enuff talk on teachers??
      I don't quite understand what you mean, if my experience is there, it will just surface when I see it relevant and again, I am not critising the teachers per se. I am looking at an interesting phenomenon amongst my teachers friends.

In any case, it is disconcerting to me that teachers by profession who know the system well worry so much about their children's survival in the system as parents, isn't that something to note? Then we cannot blame non-teacher parents for worrying more. Title is \"Worried parents.....\"

Also, the other phenomenon resulting in this first worry is after over-preparing the children ahead so much, the children became bored in class, resulting in issues and psychologists have to be brought into the picture, then the second worry comes about. Now what I see is a vicious cycle. Of course there are cases whereby the children are really born with some issues to be addressed. Given so many bored children in class these days, I gathered some of the problems are created by over-preparation by anxious parents. I don't have the solution and I reckon this will just go on for many decades to come.

Has anyone noticed? The most gan cheong or worried parents are usually teachers so they teach their kids many years ahead...

Wah leow..

Blanket statement leh..
        ...and the kids become advanced kids....then they become bored in class.....then they have issues.........
        :shock:
        then....... Amongst my teachers friends, it is 100% true.
        :faint:
        Strange ..... Among my teachers friends, many of their kids are with maids, student care or parents/in laws cuz they work long hours. Some of them don't even see their kids on weekdays, only on weekends.
        Yeh boi.. they're super bumped with work.
        In fact, taking leave to coach their kids is unheard of too.
        Duh. Of course. Want to take leave when sick already so problematic.
        Even when they are so really sick, parents think otherwise. :siao:
        Anyway, it's getting really annoying to read generalizations (negative) about teachers in almost EVERY thread.
        :snooze: Tell me abt it.. :roll:
        I do understand and emphasize with forummers who genuinely have issues (you know who you are), but other than that, let's just focus on GENUINE discussions and not start a mass negative ranting session about teachers, yet again. We have more than enough threads for that.
        One bad egg in the basket, doesn't imply all the rest are.
        I have a lousy MP but does that mean all the rest are... 🤷
        Ok, mebbe wrong example to give! 😆
        BTW, I do have an issue with my DS1's preschool teacher, whose recent actions have shattered my son's self esteem.
        Us too babe.. us too.. :snuggles:
        We are talking human industry here, not robots.
        I am also sure that there are parents, regardless of what occupations they hold, are guilty of over preparing their kids ....
        Yep. There sure are awwrite.
        Do not need to be upset autumnbronze, I have qualified that 100% of my teachers' friends are like that. I cannot help having such experience, can I?
        :? So I am just asking around if anyone has the same experience. Of course there are non teacher friends that are the same but my feel is the more they know about the system(ie, the teachers), the more worried they are, isn't that strange like you say?
        Yes, you can't help your experience, but isn't it strange that you almost always have a similar experience to share .....and don't you think there's been enuff talk on teachers??
        To all teachers out there... :grphug:

buds, I am sorry you missed the point totally.

If I harp on a tree and miss the forest, then I should shoot myself.

• DesertWindD Offline
            DesertWind

I am beginning to think it is a good idea actually to escape the system and do home-schooling instead. Home-schooling used to be such an alien concept to me but given the current SG schooling environment, those who can’t catch up risk getting "labeled" by psychologist. Now I can understand why some would choose to escape all the "hype" and "noise" of the school environment and do home-schooling. If this is indeed a doable alternative…

I'm sure i didn't.

Sometimes people write what they feel strongly abt and may not realize how it is being read/perceived and while it may not be how the writer intended it to be. It takes great reflection to look back or read back at what was written... ( and boi there are plenty!!! )... btwn the lines or on the dot.

Aniwaes, the thread is also abt taking children to psychologists leh. Let's not again go into teachers. As a mod, it is also a responsibility to keep to topic right? :evil: Cos by asking for other parents' experience with \"such teachers you've had so many experiences with\"... it WILL rally on & spiral into the oh well... teacher talk again.

Now let's get back to the thread at hand. :rubhands:

Discuss issues. Enough abt people. Teachers included. :please:

michyms

DesertWind:
                I am beginning to think it is a good idea actually to escape the system and do home-schooling instead. Home-schooling used to be such an alien concept to me but given the current SG schooling environment, those who can't catch up risk getting \"labeled\" by psychologist. Now I can understand why some would choose to escape all the \"hype\" and \"noise\" of the school environment and do home-schooling. If this is indeed a doable alternative....

This is indeed a good option, to allow the kid to learn at his/her own pace. The only issue is that they still have to face the dreaded PSLE exams at the end of the day, but at least allows the parent the time and flexibility in choosing a method and pace to prepare the kid for it. It takes a dedicated and patient parent to be able to do it.

Chenonceau

Given so many bored children in class these days, I gathered some of the problems are created by over-preparation by anxious parents. I don't have the solution and I reckon this will just go on for many decades to come.

One is either BORED or one will FAIL. I didn't prepare my DS for anything because I also thought \"If I teach, he will be bored in class.\" Then he failed. No matter how hard the Teacher works, he/she cannot teach enough to cover the exam difficulty.

So now I teach everything (and more)... and when he goes to school, he has fun. We expect too much of our Teachers... they can't cope. They don't even have proper textbooks to teach with and must write their own materials.

LadyInBlack

whoa…take it easy pple! we shall not argue over what teachers do and dont do for their children…like mentioned earlier…we ought to keep to the topic!

• O Offline
                      Oppsgal

You have misread my tone and my post ksi.

I am definitely not upset. NEUTRAL yes, but not upset. And it seems that I may not be the only one.

Yes, you can't help your experience, but isn't it strange that you almost
                      always have a similar experience to share .....and don't you think there's
                      been enuff talk on teachers??

I don't quite understand what you mean, if my experience is there, it will just surface when I see it relevant and again, I am not critising the teachers per se. I am looking at an interesting phenomenon amongst my teachers friends.

In any case, it is disconcerting to me that teachers by profession who know the system well worry so much about their children's survival in the system as parents, isn't that something to note? Then we cannot blame non-teacher parents for worrying more. Title is \"Worried parents.....\"

Also, the other phenomenon resulting in this first worry is after over-preparing the children ahead so much, the children became bored in class, resulting in issues and psychologists have to be brought into the picture, then the second worry comes about. Now what I see is a vicious cycle. Of course there are cases whereby the children are really born with some issues to be addressed. Given so many bored children in class these days, I gathered some of the problems are created by over-preparation by anxious parents. I don't have the solution and I reckon this will just go on for many decades to come.

I think my kid is bored in class too. 🤷 My kid run around in class disturbing students, and the supervisor in CC suggest we bring my kid to see psychologist doc to see have any hyperactive. 🤷 In the end do lots of questions survey and doc says no hyperactive...probably bored in class.

If don't prepare my kid, kid lag behind then how? If over-prepare then kid got bored. Then what they expect me to do?

• 2 Offline
                        2ppaamm

Sorry har, I have to get back to ksi's post. It is true that even teachers have problems with coping with the system. And it is also my observation that many teachers do overprepare their kids as well, not just non-teaching parents. So if even teachers who are familiar with the system cannot cope with it, then how can we, who also have full-time jobs be expected to cope?

Sometimes wonder why I have 5 kids?! It is ultra difficult to cope. And when school (note: not teachers) meet the slightest difficulty, even things that is in their jurisdiction, they just pass problems back to us, and as if they are psychologists, they will help to label and justify why their labeling is right based upon their own observation. (The teacher told me my son is ADHD :siao: ) she insisted I send my son for tests. 3 psychological tests and $10,000 :moneyflies: , she is wrong. 🦆 Not their money so easier to spend is it. If you resist sending the kids to psychologists, you get labelled 'lousy mother', and when the intervention classes are not available for kids like yours, you are not doing anything to help your kid.

Yep, easier to homeschool. Much easier. Like my 12-year-old said, just do my work lor, don't understand what the problem is in school. Socially, just bring for sports, can still make friends. Can also learn social skills at home with so many kids. Also bring him to work, so that he can mingle with academics. No need to worry about that PSLE, that \"your son this, your son that...\" Yep, I'm an educator too. But I cannot see eye-to-eye with many out there. So sorry. Not every educator is the same. In my world, I believe in putting students first. My students need not be the only ones benefiting from that. My kids can enjoy that too.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 9 / 19