Worried parents taking children to psychologists

188 Posts 41 Posters 31.1k Views 1 Watching
      Chenonceau

toddles:

Break down your expectations. It'll be easier for you to be happy for your son. Being happy for your son will encourage him. If writing is a problem, then work first on alphabet recognition. Sit on the floor where there are square floor tiles. Get a jar of broad beans or pebbles. Get him to form letters in the squares by lining up the beans. Praise him and tell him he's so very smart... and that other children can only write, but he can write with BEANS. Give him a sense of pride. This will motivate him. Do silly things like try and spit on a trail of ants so that they form a letter \"a\".

That is so cute!! Like he has superhero powers.

The BEAN boy... though I think my son preferred the SPIT boy far more. :rotflmao:

Lynn2010

kitty2:
        I also stop attending PTA,they'll say the same thing every year,i also know. :slapshead: Some teachers even suggested to my friend to get a tutor for her kids :stupid:

I only attend the PTA for mid-year if my dd results is average. Just want to find out her weakness if any or how she is getting on with her peers.

Experience: some teachers cant even remember he/she has such student, have problem answering my questions abt my dd, telling me the same old story, so if she has some issue with a friend at the beginning of the year, you hear the same old story at the end of the year. Actually, this \"issue\" happens only once and as parents, you will think that this is an ongoing problem.
        yes.... the teacher \"advise\" me to hire a tutor

concern2

Sometimes people write what they feel strongly abt and may not realize how it is being read/perceived and while it may not be how the writer intended it to be. It takes great reflection to look back or read back at what was written... ( and boi there are plenty!!! )... btwn the lines or on the dot.
          :goodpost: I have to agree with you on this, buds. I find myself doing this very often - and many times promptly deleting or editing what I've written before any new post have emerged! šŸ˜‰ Just speaking for myself..

toddles

2ppaamm:
            vicki:

[quote=\"ksi\"]Has anyone noticed? The most gan cheong or worried parents are usually teachers so they teach their kids many years ahead and the kids become advanced kids....then they become bored in class.....then they have issues.........then....... Amongst my teachers friends, it is 100% true.

The infamous 'Annabelle Cheong' comes to mind when u mention the abv!

I think Annabelle Cheong is a different. The main objection was her father as he was a hypocrite. He was very strict with her, and she was a top scholar. He was proper and upright outside but at home, he would watch porn. I think quite different leh...[/quote]oh really? So it was something underlying over some years... I thought the common story was that she was gang-raped in London and something snapped thereafter. but ok... :offtopic:

larkspur

2ppaamm:
              larkspur:

[quote=\"Chenonceaularkspur... I dunno if this helps but no matter how depressed you are, dun let the kid know... and dun yell at the Teacher. Teachers have said all sorts of things about my son. I never argue with them. They have their viewpoint, and it is their job to alert parents. I usually will smile and say \"thank you\".

Meanwhile, I consider that I know my kids best and I trust my own judgment. Sometimes, I agree that something needs to be done. Other times, I know that I just have to tweak with Teacher's mental models. As far as possible, I try to bridge the divide between my kid and his Teacher so that their relationship can move smoothly.

At times when I agree that something needs to be done, I also won't tell my kid. I will quietly read up and do what needs to be done without specifically explaining. The kids don't care... and the kids dun need to care. My son was slow to write too. The muscle co-ordination in his hands was poor. I told him that it was normal and that I hadn't ever met a grown up man who couldn't write... and that he would learn in time. We did a lot of writing in the playground sand with a stick because he couldn't control his fingers well.

Is it muscle control? If so, some finger exercises perhaps?

i must admit it has come to a point where i will yell at him and screamed at him :stompfeet: , it will make him so fearful of holding a pencil. It comes to a point whereby i know i cannot continue to teach him and my hubby has to take over. My hubby is quite kancheong but at least he can start off well with my son and i have to learn along side with my hubby on how to encourgage him.

My teachers at childcare told me to let my son do some simple housework like picking up toys, keeping books and playing with dough but does not help much. i never agrue with the teachers but imagine how depressing it is when my girl comes home and tells me that (last year my girl still in childcare during dec )her brother is the only one who cannot write and his classmates can. So i have 3 people telling me about my son: my girl, the chinese teacher and the english teacher.Maybe i think it would be good for me to get him checked up at least if i know he might need help and have to learn to be patient with him.

Have you put him on the keyboard, as in computer keyboard? Can he type simple things you ask him to, like simple words or just alphabets you ask?[/quote]

no i have never put him on any computer keyboards nor ask him to type out simple words. He can recognised alphabets and can read by himself. Just problems with writing. maybe i will try out asking him to do simple typing but how does it suppose to help?

• DesertWindD Offline
                DesertWind

LadyInBlack:
                whoa..take it easy pple! we shall not argue over what teachers do and dont do for their children..like mentioned earlier..we ought to keep to the topic!

The topic should also be \"Teachers are causing worried parents to take children to psychologists!\" :faint: Did somebody just said teachers don't have the power ie. the weakest in the system? They can get your kids kicked out, how much more powerful you want? :?

2ppaamm:

[quote=\"buds\"]I'm sure i didn't.

Sometimes people write what they feel strongly abt and may not realize how it is being read/perceived and while it may not be how the writer intended it to be. It takes great reflection to look back or read back at what was written... ( and boi there are plenty!!! )... btwn the lines or on the dot.

Aniwaes, the thread is also abt taking children to psychologists leh. Let's not again go into teachers. As a mod, it is also a responsibility to keep to topic right? :evil: Cos by asking for other parents' experience with \"such teachers you've had so many experiences with\"... it WILL rally on & spiral into the oh well... teacher talk again.

Now let's get back to the thread at hand. :rubhands:

Discuss issues. Enough abt people. Teachers included. :please:

Again you missed my point by several kilometres, the fact you cannot see I am on topic.
                  It is ok to agree to disagree.

I can see, so don't worry about it. :hugs:[/quote] :hi5: :hugs:

toddles

2ppaamm:
                    toddles:

Here I am freaking out and you laff at me some more... *weeps*

Ok, ok, I'm going to teach you instead:
                    [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVlnl5PSr_4][/youtube]

oic....... tanks tanks. terminology \"number bond\" is so cheem... almost like chem.

toddles:

Break down your expectations. It'll be easier for you to be happy for your son. Being happy for your son will encourage him. If writing is a problem, then work first on alphabet recognition. Sit on the floor where there are square floor tiles. Get a jar of broad beans or pebbles. Get him to form letters in the squares by lining up the beans. Praise him and tell him he's so very smart... and that other children can only write, but he can write with BEANS. Give him a sense of pride. This will motivate him. Do silly things like try and spit on a trail of ants so that they form a letter \"a\".

That is so cute!! Like he has superhero powers.

I completely agree with Chenon, I always tell my child most people pull the ear directly with their hand on the same side but there is no stopping her to pull the ear on the opposite with the same hand. Yes it takes a longer way but she will still achieve the same thing, pull ear. My child does not write early and does not write well. If I can find the old stuff she has written in the past and her current handwriting now...you will see that there is hope. So please continue to have hope for your child and do not let anyone tell you otherwise.

• 2 Offline
                        2ppaamm

toddles:
                        2ppaamm:

[quote=\"vicki\"]
                        The infamous 'Annabelle Cheong' comes to mind when u mention the abv!

I think Annabelle Cheong is a different. The main objection was her father as he was a hypocrite. He was very strict with her, and she was a top scholar. He was proper and upright outside but at home, he would watch porn. I think quite different leh...

oh really? So it was something underlying over some years... I thought the common story was that she was gang-raped in London and something snapped thereafter. but ok... :offtopic:[/quote]It was my friend who told me about Grace Quek. Annabelle is already died. They were classmates in HC. Her fascination started the gang rape. I know, :offtopic:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 12 / 19