All About Church/Clan/Society Membership
Can anyone let me know what is the difference between Ai Tong School Alumni Association & singapore hokkien huay kuan ?? Really puzzles me… many thanks to all… -
mei0831:
i think for alumni association is mainly made up of those old school girls and boys who used to study in the school. Almost all schools (not all) have alumni but some alumni are not active. Some alumni like Ai Tong, Nan chiau have strong alumni and they form association to provide services such as enrichment programmes etc for the school students. For Hokkien Huay kuan, you dun have to be old girls or old boys or your children study in the schools under hokkien huay kuan. You just need to be hokkien (need to state which part of Fujian in china) and join as member. It is open to public who are hokkien and have 2 referrals for you to join as memberHi,
Can anyone let me know what is the difference between Ai Tong School Alumni Association & singapore hokkien huay kuan ?? Really puzzles me.... many thanks to all.... -
My understanding is that clans that set up and run the primary schools (more in the past) meant for their clan types' kids to go to those schools, that's why there are 'preferential' treatment for members.so far, the only clan affliated to primary schools is the Hokkien.
there isn't any school affliated to Cantonese, Teochew, Hakka, Hainanese dialect. i wonder why ? :?
so if your IC doesn't indicate that you're Hokkien, means your kid can't join any Hokkien clan related primary school.
I thought Ngee Ann kongsi also has primary schools under its care? and Pei Chun for example is also affiliated to clan? Also Hong wen School is affiliated to clan. and these are non-hokkien clans. Best that parents who are looking at these schools should definitely do their research.
BTW, IC dun indicate, but birth cert does. If your birth cert shows you are a cantonese (for eg), how to join Hokkien huay kuan? a bit weird right? -
i can answer the part for Peichun as this is what my fren has done. She told m Peichun associated with hainan huay kuan(think so, forgot which dialet liao) BUT you cannot use the huay kuan to register as phrease 2b cos they dun support that. what my fren did was, her dad was a member of the huay kuan(not hokkien huay kuan),she asked her dad to check if anyway the clan can help her, her dad was told by huan kuan member that the most they can help is to talk to the principle of peichun and let them have a chance to do PV that 's all. They cannot use the huay kuan to get into phrase 2b like what you can do as in hokkien huay kuan. In this way, my fren gets the chance to be the pv with the help from the power member in the clan.
My understanding is that clans that set up and run the primary schools (more in the past) meant for their clan types' kids to go to those schools, that's why there are 'preferential' treatment for members.phtthp:
so far, the only clan affliated to primary schools is the Hokkien.
there isn't any school affliated to Cantonese, Teochew, Hakka, Hainanese dialect. i wonder why ? :?
so if your IC doesn't indicate that you're Hokkien, means your kid can't join any Hokkien clan related primary school.
I thought Ngee Ann kongsi also has primary schools under its care? and Pei Chun for example is also affiliated to clan? Also Hong wen School is affiliated to clan. and these are non-hokkien clans. Best that parents who are looking at these schools should definitely do their research.
BTW, IC dun indicate, but birth cert does. If your birth cert shows you are a cantonese (for eg), how to join Hokkien huay kuan? a bit weird right? -
Hi larkspur, thank you very much for your reply. i understand it now. many thanks. but i think i'm late to join the hokkien huay kuan as they need at least 4 years of membership. My gal is born on 2008 so i am running short of time now.... sad :(..
because these clans did not set up any schools.so far, the only clan affliated to primary schools is the Hokkien.
SHHK schools were setup by them and are still supported by them. -
larkspur:
i think for alumni association is mainly made up of those old school girls and boys who used to study in the school. Almost all schools (not all) have alumni but some alumni are not active. Some alumni like Ai Tong, Nan chiau have strong alumni and they form association to provide services such as enrichment programmes etc for the school students. For Hokkien Huay kuan, you dun have to be old girls or old boys or your children study in the schools under hokkien huay kuan. You just need to be hokkien (need to state which part of Fujian in china) and join as member. It is open to public who are hokkien and have 2 referrals for you to join as membermei0831:
Can anyone let me know what is the difference between Ai Tong School Alumni Association & singapore hokkien huay kuan ?? Really puzzles me.... many thanks to all....
and the eligibility in the Primary School Registration is different -
Dear all!
I’m short of 1 signature to join SHHK. Any kind soul staying around northeast or working in town, can help me endorse pleassssss!
I had been asking around and still cannot get anyone. My boy is 3 this year and I need to join ASAP… Please help me!!
Thanks in advance! -
Need some advises here.
If we join as SHHK member, do we still need to do PV just to 'play safe'?
How active do we need to be before we get a letter? I heard that members need to volunteer actively to have higher chances.
Would SHHK still recommend a seat in 2B if we stay >1km but <2km from their schools?
Having said that, if we fail in 2B, then can we switch to apply a different school (within 1km)? My interpretation is that based on balloting result in 2011, it seemed a gone case if we stay >1km if we fail to secure a seat in 2B.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/event/registration-2011-p1-phase-2c?page=5 -
Hi littlefly,
If you join clan, you can do pv work for shhk to increase chance that shhk give you a letter. There is NO guarantee they will give it to you even if you clock 40 hours and above. Other stuff like tenure of membership comes into play. I don’t think they will discriminate if you stay far away, but I won’t know. And in any case, most shhk schools are pretty impossible to get into if you stay more than 2km. So you may want to consider if you should even do that.
PV in school will guarantee you a letter to qualify for 2B once you hit their required hours.
I’m assuming you refer to what happens if you fail in 2B. In that case, you are free to apply for any school in Singapore under 2c. There is no requirement you must try the same school.
That said, my recommendation is to use 2b very wisely. 2c is more difficult to get into becos it’s open to all.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.