Sports for all students with new physical education syllabus

32 Posts 14 Posters 6.2k Views 1 Watching
      try

Yes, like many of you, i was worried that this extra hour translates to an extra hour a week after school. As it is, schools are already ending very late what with supplementary/ccas etc

MOE should ensure that there is co-ordination with different divisions(curriculum, sports, ccas etc) to ensure that with this hour increase, there should be an hour decrease in some area like one or two less topics in Mathematics or Science or ??? and ensure that what is being tested is taught in classโ€ฆ

looking4Tutor

All male teachers and principals should do more PE instead, so as to drain their energy and improve their character.

My 1st thought is another 1hr for the teachers to not teach PE. :razz:

Yeah Funz.. me too. ๐Ÿ˜›

DD complained a lot last year that teacher always forgets PE lesson or just dowan to do PE! :rant: I was sad for her as well as she looks forward to PE lessons to unwind and learn a new sport/games to play with her frenz. I told her your teacher look so weak and lethargic mebbe scared later she :faint: during PE.. mebbe she pregnant.

Lo and behold... i was right. :slapshead:

concern2

My 1st thought is another 1hr for the teachers to not teach PE. :razz:

Yeah Funz.. me too. ๐Ÿ˜›

DD complained a lot last year that teacher always forgets PE lesson or just dowan to do PE! :rant: I was sad for her as well as she looks forward to PE lessons to unwind and learn a new sport/games to play with her frenz. I told her your teacher look so weak and lethargic mebbe scared later she :faint: during PE.. mebbe she pregnant.

:rotflmao: experienced lot!

concern2

[quote=\"Funz\"]My 1st thought is another 1hr for the teachers to not teach PE. :razz:

Yeah Funz.. me too. ๐Ÿ˜›

:rotflmao: experienced lot![/quote]Hey, I meant to say experienced Lor, not lot! the auto spell check doesn't recognize singlish.... ๐Ÿ˜†

looking4Tutor

zmonster1969:

\"Students who take part in these clubs outside of school may be able to score LEAPS points, or what was formerly known as CCA points.

These points help students get into post-secondary institutions.\"

There are only 24 hours in a day and you can probably stay active for about 8 hours.
                1 hour more for PE and if the child wishes to take part in these so-called \"Super Sports Clubs\", how much time is really left to hit the books?
                MOE should allow student to take up sports not offered by their schools as CCA. MOE should give distinction reward to schools that allow their student to take up niche sports as CCA. Sports like wakeboarding, ice-skating, cycling, triathlon takes years to develop and these are sports not offered by schools.

Rigid policy promoted by exam-smart scholars has stifled any possiblity of sports development.

Vision 2030, 2300 is more realistic.

• FunzF Offline
                  Funz

DS too was complaining that there was no PE the 1st few weeks of school. Asked him then what did they do during the PE periods, say sit down and listen to some talk or presentation. Told him maybe cos they are P1s and still so new to the school, they need to be brought up to date with some of the stuff the school is doing so they use the PE period to cover these. He ask me then use other periods lah, why not use Chinese or English since so many of these periods. PE only so few you know.

I must really think much much further before I start explaining things to DS nowadays.

And he is also complaining that there has been no Music lesson at all even though thereโ€™s suppose for be 2 periods every week. Told him nevermind lah, you donโ€™t like singing oso wat. He said yah, but I would like to do something other then English, Chinese and Math. Told him ok, mummy gonna keep quiet oredi.

concern2

And he is also complaining that there has been no Music lesson at all even though there's suppose for be 2 periods every week. Told him nevermind lah, you don't like singing oso wat. He said yah, but I would like to do something other then English, Chinese and Math. Told him ok, mummy gonna keep quiet oredi.
                    Oh Yeah! DS hasn't been bringing his music book to school, and never hear him talk about music lesson in the curriculum!

BTW, why can't they give some good songs for the kids to learn music - it's another way of learning languages isn't it?

try

Another concern is that there may not be enough PE teachers for this initiative.

So, schools will outsource - to sports coaches which will require $$$ - the hourly charges ranges from $40 to $100++, which can amount to 5 figure sums a year. Will this cost be pass on to parents? As it is, many schools are asking parents to fork out copayment for certain CCAs - SCGS, MGS, Henry Park just to name a few.

Also, quality of sports coaches is also a concern. Certifications do not tell how committed how a coach is - i have seen enough coaches who slack when they teach a group.

MOE should be paying a fixed salary for these coaches - give them the same entitlements of a teacher, therefore the same appraisal. Also, the appraisal should be based on how well they improve the students base on the quality of students they have and not "imported" from other schools.

I am seriously worried that initiatives are rolled out without thoughts to the details and implications involved. I do hope that whoever is taking the lead does not live in the ivory tower and knows how to look at the operational issues as well.

• Z Offline
                        zmonster1969

looking4Tutor:

MOE should allow student to take up sports not offered by their schools as CCA. MOE should give distinction reward to schools that allow their student to take up niche sports as CCA. Sports like wakeboarding, ice-skating, cycling, triathlon takes years to develop and these are sports not offered by schools.

Rigid policy promoted by exam-smart scholars has stifled any possiblity of sports development.

Vision 2030, 2300 is more realistic.
                        I don't think any reward should be given to the schools, otherwise the whole ranking thingy may re-surface as MOE would then have to determine which schools to give the reward. Based on % of student population taking up niche sports or having students that represent the nation in competitions?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 2 / 4

FranceeF
                        Francee