Child Underperforms Because Tested Above Cognitive Level
We never seem to have the right minister for Education...never had anyone down to earth. One after another, they have failed to understand what Singaporean kids and parents are going through. When ministers' kids fail to live up to their parents expectations, what happens ? Get sent overseas to study or attend international schools ?
Yes... I am disappointed that Minister Heng spends much of his time now defending the MOE position instead of listening to our pain. MOE management has brainwashed him with statistics and nice American theories.janet_lee88:
Yes, that's a good one...esp those who JUST became ministers. -
We never seem to have the right minister for Education...never had anyone down to earth. One after another, they have failed to understand what Singaporean kids and parents are going through. When ministers' kids fail to live up to their parents expectations, what happens ? Get sent overseas to study or attend international schools ?
It isn't the Minister. It's very powerful and convincing civil servants. The Director-General of Education is Ho Peng, Lee Hsien Loong's sister-in-law. I am guessing that if SHE sees the system as perfect, no matter what Minister also will see the system as perfect.
Nobody within the system will dare to be overly critical. Parents must do what we can to lobby because we know. Gone are the days when you can trust politicians to speak up for us. We need to speak up because our politicians cannot empathise. Parents who believe that things will SLOWLY change, without us continuing to speak up, will be very disappointed.
If we keep quiet, nothing will change because the MOE thinks it is the best. -
Not only best .... it should be \"best of the best\"janet_lee88:
It isn't the Minister. It's very powerful and convincing civil servants. The Director-General of Education is Ho Peng, Lee Hsien Loong's sister-in-law. I am guessing that if SHE sees the system as perfect, no matter what Minister also will see the system as perfect.
Nobody within the system will dare to be overly critical. Parents must do what we can to lobby because we know. Gone are the days when you can trust politicians to speak up for us. We need to speak up because our politicians cannot empathise. Parents who believe that things will SLOWLY change, without us continuing to speak up, will be very disappointed.
If we keep quiet, nothing will change because the MOE thinks it is the best.
violin_lover:
Not only best .... it should be \"best of the best\"Chenonceau:
[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]We never seem to have the right minister for Education...never had anyone down to earth. One after another, they have failed to understand what Singaporean kids and parents are going through. When ministers' kids fail to live up to their parents expectations, what happens ? Get sent overseas to study or attend international schools ?
If we keep quiet, nothing will change because the MOE thinks it is the best.
[/quote]Not best of best but world class lah :rotflmao:
If education minister himself has told the world that Singapore education system is world class, what can we parents do ? Absolutely nothing. Things will change, but not to our advantage. At most we can only vent our frustrations.janet_lee88:
Nobody within the system will dare to be overly critical. Parents must do what we can to lobby because we know. Gone are the days when you can trust politicians to speak up for us. We need to speak up because our politicians cannot empathise. Parents who believe that things will SLOWLY change, without us continuing to speak up, will be very disappointed. -
violin_lover:
[quote]小三年底的考试儿子还是因为表现平平而留在普通班,但学校也寄来了100元的支票作为学习进步的奖励。自己表面上恭喜了儿子学习取得的进步与获得学校的肯定,但尴尬与苦涩只能自己往肚子里吞。这不是学习优异的奖学金,只是为了鼓励普通孩子的一个学习进步奖[/quote]What is wrong with 普通班 (normal class)? Why shd she feel ashamed and bitter about her son getting the $100 award? I hope her son does not get to read her blog..it is so demoralising.
You're welcome... apologise that I am a little bias against the Chinese author. .... I think their son is doing OK just that she is too kiasu to the extreme (i.e. the son is not a potato like our kids and yet they still engage Chinese tuition), unlike the parents hereChenonceau:
violin_lover: Thanks... I did read the article with google translation. But it was unclear. You have made the gist clearer now.
:thankyou:
I think she wants her son to be in the BEST class......she is not happy when her son was streamed into ordinary class..... -
bebe:
What is wrong with 普通班 (normal class)? Why shd she feel ashamed and bitter about her son getting the $100 award? I hope her son does not get to read her blog..it is so demoralising.[/quote]What did she say about normal class that is demoralizing to her son? Can someone translate?
[quote]小三年底的考试儿子还是因为表现平平而留在普通班,但学校也寄来了100元的支票作为学习进步的奖励。自己表面上恭喜了儿子学习取得的进步与获得学校的肯定,但尴尬与苦涩只能自己往肚子里吞。这不是学习优异的奖学金,只是为了鼓励普通孩子的一个学习进步奖
(1) Teaching Resilience by Failing Kids?
http://petunialee.blogspot.com/2012/02/teaching-resilience-by-failing-kids.html
(2) The Education System Cannot Deliver What It Expects from Our Kids?
http://petunialee.blogspot.com/2012/02/education-system-unable-to-deliver.html -
Hope u can understand my translation, to the china mom, her son end of the year result was just 'typical' (think she expect extra ordinary result after her investment in tuition n involvement ) and get promoted to the mixed ability class instead of the top class. So she found no joy nor proud of her son on receiving the letter. On one hand she use it to 'praise' the son but deep within she was disappointed as she knows moe does give out edusave scholarship ( think she didn't know, scholarship only given to p5, p6 pupils)n she would expect the latter than the former.
Haiz !besides to compete with local Singaporean, our kids have to compete w all thes ft and see the ft parents mindset ( winning at all cost sia).... Our poor kids
What did she say about normal class that is demoralizing to her son? Can someone translate?[/quote]Actually to me, she seems to have very high expectations. Let me try to translate:
What is wrong with 普通班 (normal class)? Why shd she feel ashamed and bitter about her son getting the $100 award? I hope her son does not get to read her blog..it is so demoralising.bebe:
[quote]小三年底的考试儿子还是因为表现平平而留在普通班,但学校也寄来了100元的支票作为学习进步的奖励。自己表面上恭喜了儿子学习取得的进步与获得学校的肯定,但尴尬与苦涩只能自己往肚子里吞。这不是学习优异的奖学金,只是为了鼓励普通孩子的一个学习进步奖
At the end of P3 SA2, son's performance was mediocre so he will stay in 'normal' class. But the school did send a $100 cheque as a form of encouragement for progress improvement. On the surface, I appear to congratulate son for his improvement and the recognition received from the school but inwardly, I felt embarrassment and bitterness because this award is not a scholarship for academic excellence but only an encouragement award to normal kids for learning progress.
=========================
To feel embarrassment for the award....if the son knows...won't he be demoralised...??? -
Thanks ladies for helping to translate. I wish I knew Chinese. So good y'all. My DS got a cheque like that before... but it was $150 (I dunno exactly what it was for... can't remember), and he was jumping up and down because.... because.... because....
...he misread as $1500. :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.