Child Underperforms Because Tested Above Cognitive Level
linden2000:
Ha ha, she thought that cos she's from ๆธ ๅ so her son must have \"good gene\" and must be a top student. She needs to wake up. A lot of us are from top US university and understand that this mindset is not right
Actually to me, she seems to have very high expectations. Let me try to translate:Chenonceau:
What did she say about normal class that is demoralizing to her son? Can someone translate?
At the end of P3 SA2, son's performance was mediocre so he will stay in 'normal' class. But the school did send a $100 cheque as a form of encouragement for progress improvement. On the surface, I appear to congratulate son for his improvement and the recognition received from the school but inwardly, I felt embarrassment and bitterness because this award is not a scholarship for academic excellence but only an encouragement award to normal kids for learning progress.
=========================
To feel embarrassment for the award....if the son knows...won't he be demoralised...???
Thanks ladies for helping to translate. I wish I knew Chinese. So good y'all. My DS got a cheque like that before... but it was $150 (I dunno exactly what it was for... can't remember), and he was jumping up and down because.... because.... because....
...he misread as $1500. :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
Suz855:
Exactly!! No doubt, some of her anxiety and worries really echo mind..but my challenge is to make sure that my dd gets to stay on the main stream..hers is to try getting her son to the top.
Haiz !besides to compete with local Singaporean, our kids have to compete w all thes ft and see the ft parents mindset ( winning at all cost sia).... Our poor kids
I can't say how proud I was when my dd gets to receive the edusave award...dun care if pple say I hao-lian that I took a pic and broadcast the cert on my FB..it is a recognition of diligence and effort that put in and it is that recognition that keeps us striving to do better in the next level.
And what makes her think that with her qualification, it is assumed that her son shd naturally be at the top? If I read correctly, she had another daughter who is 4yrs old..I hope she will not press her daughter as much as what she has done to her son, whom she realised has lost his study interest cos of these pressures. -
bebe:
Exactly!! No doubt, some of her anxiety and worries really echo mind..but my challenge is to make sure that my dd gets to stay on the main stream..hers is to try getting her son to the top.Suz855:
Haiz !besides to compete with local Singaporean, our kids have to compete w all thes ft and see the ft parents mindset ( winning at all cost sia).... Our poor kids
I can't say how proud I was when my dd gets to receive the edusave award...dun care if pple say I hao-lian that I took a pic and broadcast the cert on my FB..it is a recognition of diligence and effort that put in and it is that recognition that keeps us striving to do better in the next level.
And what makes her think that with her qualification, it is assumed that her son shd naturally be at the top? If I read correctly, she had another daughter who is 4yrs old..I hope she will not press her daughter as much as what she has done to her son, whom she realised has lost his study interest cos of these pressures.
:goodpost: -
What are all these awards? Can anyone list the types and amounts? DS got something called the Edusave Scholarship last year (but he made sure he didnโt read the amount wrongly this time).
What are the other awards? -
just read an article in ST today on how schools in China go against the rule by cutting short the 2 months winter school holidays so as to prepare the kids for exams. As it was illegal to do so, they ask the kids NOT to wear school uniforms and send them to other locations for the additional classes which parents have to pay. The parents were Ok with it as it means finishing the syllabus earlier and to ensure their kids can go to good schools. This practice is very common from primary to college level over there.
On top of that, the schools recommend learning centres (tuition) to the kids and they arrange the centres to use the school campus and charge them commission for doing so. This is because public schools do not receive much subsidies from the govt so they resort to such tactics. -
http://www.moe.gov.sg/initiatives/edusave/funds-grants-awards/
Edusave Scholarships and Awards
Edusave Scholarships
For Primary 5 or 6 pupils
If your child is studying in primary 5 or 6 in a government or a government-aided school, he is eligible for the Edusave Scholarship for Primary Schools if he is amongst the top 10% of pupils of his level and stream. Your child will be selected by his school for this scholarship based on his year-end school examination results. The award is $400 for pupils in the top 5 per cent and $350 for the next 5 per cent.
For secondary school pupils in Government or government-aided schools
If your child is studying in a government or a government-aided secondary school, and is among the top 10% of students of his level and stream in his school, he is eligible for an Edusave Scholarship for Secondary Schools. Your child will be selected by his school for this scholarship based on his year-end school examination results. Pupils in the top 5% at each level are awarded $650 each while those in the next 5% receive $400 each.
For secondary school pupils in Independent Schools
The Edusave Entrance Scholarships for Independent Schools (EESIS) are awarded up to the top one-third of the total number of Secondary One pupils admitted to all independent schools, based on their PSLE results. Singaporean pupils with outstanding performance in the PSLE will be offered the award if they are admitted to an independent school.
For pupils who are not in the Integrated Programme, the scholarship will be tenable for 4 years. For pupils in the Integrated Programme, the tenure of the scholarship will be 6 years. The scholar must make good progress each year in order to continue receiving the scholarship.
For students admitted to Secondary 1 before and in 2007
The Scholarships covers the annual school fees charged by the independent school less the annual amount of school and standard miscellaneous fees paid by pupils in government/government-aided secondary schools and any other subsidies provided by MOE or the school for Independent School fees.
For students admitted to Secondary 1 from 2008 onwards
The annual scholarship quantum is $2,400, or the annual school fees charged by the independent school less the annual amount of school and standard miscellaneous fees paid by pupils in government/government-aided secondary schools, whichever is lower, less any other subsidies provided by MOE or the school for Independent School fees.
The Ministry offers the Edusave (Independent Schools) Yearly Awards to pupils in independent schools who are Singaporeans and not EESIS / ESIP holders. These are given to the top 5% of each cohort by level in each independent school based on their school examination results at the end of the year. These awards are to encourage and reward pupils who have excelled academically as well as obtained a good grade for conduct in that year.
The yearly awards cover the annual school fees charged by the independent school for that year less the annual amount of school and standard miscellaneous fees paid by pupils in government/government-aided secondary schools and any other subsidies provided by MOE or the school for Independent School fees.
The annual scholarship quantum is $2,400, or the annual school fees charged by the independent school less the annual amount of school and standard miscellaneous fees paid by pupils in government/government-aided secondary schools, whichever is lower, less any other subsidies provided by MOE or the school for Independent School fees.
For secondary pupils in Integrated Programme Schools
The Edusave Scholarships for Integrated Programme Schools (ESIP) are offered in schools offering the Integrated Programme (IP) that (i) are independent schools or (ii) charge additional miscellaneous fees known as โIntegrated Programme Miscellaneous Feesโ (government/government-aided schools). Singaporean pupils in the IP at Secondary 3 who are not EESIS holders will be invited to apply for the ESIP. These pupils will sit for the Integrated Programme Scholarship Test to determine their suitability for the scholarship.
The tenure of the scholarship will be up to the final year of the IP. The scholar must make good progress each year in order to continue receiving the scholarship.
For ESIP scholars in independent schools, the scholarship covers the annual school fees charged by the integrated programme school less the annual amount of school and standard miscellaneous fees paid by pupils in government/government-aided secondary schools and any other subsidies provided by MOE or the school for Independent School fees. For ESIP in govt/govt-aided school, the scholarships will cover the annual amount of Intergrated Programme Miscellaneous Fees charged by the school less any other subsidies provided by MOE or the school for Intergrated Programme Miscellaneous Fees.
For ESIP scholars in independent school, the annual scholarship quantum is $2,400, or the annual school fees charged by the independent school less the annual amount of school and standard miscellaneous fees paid by pupils in government/government-aided secondary schools, whichever is lower, less any other subsidies provided by MOE or the school for Independent School fees.
For ESIP in govt/govt-aided schools, the annual scholarship quantum is $2,400, or the annual amount of Intergrated Programme Miscellaneous Fees charged by the school, whichever is lower, less any other subsidies provided by MOE or the school for Intergrated Programme Miscellaneous Fees.
Edusave Merit Bursary (EMB)
The Edusave Merit Bursary is meant for pupils whose household income is less than $4,000 a month.
If your child is studying in either a primary or secondary school, or in a JC/CI or ITE, and is not a recipient of any Edusave Scholarship stated above, he can apply for the Edusave Merit Bursary if he is within the top 25% of each level and stream in his school, and if your gross monthly household income is below $4,000.
The value of this award for each level is as follows:
$200 for Primary 1 to 3
$250 for Primary 4 to 6
$350 for Secondary 1 to 5
$400 for Junior Colleges/Centralised Institute (JCs/CI)
$500 for Institute of Technical Education (ITE)
MOE will send an application form for your child to apply for the Edusave Merit Bursary in November/December each year if he qualifies. The completed application form is to be submitted to the community centre in your constituency.
Good Progress Award (GPA)
If your child does not qualify for the Edusave scholarship or merit bursary, but has made significant improvement in his academic performance, he is eligible for the Good Progress Award. The award is given based on the extent of his improvement in his schoolโs year-end examinations over the previous year.
The awards are given to a maximum of 10% of pupils in each level and stream in every school. Pupils in Primary 1 are excluded from the scheme as there is no basis for comparison. Your child will be selected by his school for this award at the end of the year if he meets the criteria.
The value of the awards are as follows:
$100 for Primary 2 to 3
$150 for Primary 4 to 6
$200 for Secondary
$250 for Junior Colleges/Centralised Institute (JCs/CI)
$400 for Institute of Technical Education (ITE)
Edusave Awards for Achievement, Good Leadership and Service (EAGLES)
If your child shows leadership and excels in non-academic areas, he is eligible for the Edusave Award for Achievement, Good Leadership and Service. The award is given based on his achievement in co-curricular activities and contribution to community services over a one-year period.
The awards are given to a maximum of 5% of pupils in each level and stream in every school, from primary 4 upwards. Your child will be selected by his school for this award at the end of the year if he meets the criteria. Pupils in primary schools, secondary schools, JCs/CI and ITE who are recipients of Edusave scholarships or bursaries or good progress awards will still be eligible for this award.
The value of the awards is as follows:
$150 for Primary 4 to 6
$200 for Secondary, JJC/CI and ITE
Edusave Scheme -
:thankyou: hummy mummy champ!
Oh... your DS got the same award as the Chinese lady DS.... We can see the great difference in the attitude. She felt \"sad\" but you felt appreciated
violin_lover:
Aaaaah but that was because he said he got $1500. I thought we struck Toto mah..... :rotflmao: But after that, he took us out for roti prata breakfast. Oso happy lah... son so sweet.Chenonceau:
Oh... your DS got the same award as the Chinese lady DS.... We can see the great difference in the attitude. She felt \"sad\" but you felt appreciated
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.