Child Underperforms Because Tested Above Cognitive Level
kitty2:
They're DEAF & BLIND,how many people had feedback in the ST forum????Chenonceau also wrote to MOE and had Kopi with the SAINT!!!
Emmmm... I had lunch with a very nice person with the heart in the right place. I would be sorry that this person get flamed because of me. The person has become a friend... but it is not this PERSON. It is the whole machinery... and I realise I cannot just press this one person. It won't help. -
U can wake up a man who really sleeping, but u canโt wake up a man who pretending to be sleeping.MOE pretending to be deaf!!!
I am not trying to defend MOE here, but perhaps they do need some help not just in identifying the problems with the system (itโs easy to rant off a list of problems), but deep and concrete suggestions on how to improve the system. For example, I feel very strongly about testing within syllabus too, but if we were to advocate this for the PSLE, then there are other ramifications - there will be many high scoring kids and many kids will be differentiated on their carelessness and on trivial mistakes, instead of whether they are able to tackle the exams.
We want more flexibility in the system, more sharing within the system, but how to implement these?
Just some random thoughts. -
Sun_2010:
No they aren't deaf. Just hard-of-hearing .
Low voices are drowned out as they are busy singing praises of being the best of best.
So we have to speak up.
And use the election as a microphone if needed. :evil:
To use the election as a microphone in 2016, we need to keep speaking up TODAY and for the next four years. Each, in our own capacity, we need to spread the word and explain what is wrong. In the meantime, if MOE does hear and does do something about our pain... good.
If not, enough people must know about this so that in 2016 we have a voice.
Come on. We are Mothers. Ours are the hands that rule the world because we rock the cradle.
Speak gently. Speak softly. Speak clearly. Speak with strength. Speak with dignity. Till 2016. -
Wah,still must wait so long!!!!Sun_2010:
Low voices are drowned out as they are busy singing praises of being the best of best.
So we have to speak up.
To use the election as a microphone in 2016, we need to keep speaking up TODAY and for the next four years. Each, in our own capacity, we need to spread the word and explain what is wrong. In the meantime, if MOE does hear and does do something about our pain... good.
Come on. We are Mothers. Ours are the hands that rule the world because we rock the cradle.
Speak gently. Speak softly. Speak clearly. Speak with strength. Speak with dignity. Till 2016.
:goodpost: -
doodbug:
At least show good faith by fixing textbooks and e-resources. No implications there but what is good. The textbooks are a disgrace. No one needs them to do everything at the same time. Do something and stop praising themselves as world class.I am not trying to defend MOE here, but perhaps they do need some help not just in identifying the problems with the system (it's easy to rant off a list of problems), but deep and concrete suggestions on how to improve the system. For example, I feel very strongly about testing within syllabus too, but if we were to advocate this for the PSLE, then there are other ramifications - there will be many high scoring kids and many kids will be differentiated on their carelessness and on trivial mistakes, instead of whether they are able to tackle the exams.
We want more flexibility in the system, more sharing within the system, but how to implement these?
I am afraid, many of us, who are less verbose, and less determined, will succumb to accepting the system as it is, and expending whatever strength we have left to help our kids through the system.Sun_2010:
So we have to speak up.
Speak gently. Speak softly. Speak clearly. Speak with strength. Speak with dignity. Till 2016.
I salute you though, Chenonceau :udawoman: -
I think instead of fixing textbooks per se, put a list of relevant and good resources recommendation in the booklist and make it optional. Good resources also mean it comes with high cost (IIRC, there is a resource that cost $32) and then after that many parents will cry that education is so expensive and then it will kill the spirit of change again.
At least show good faith by fixing textbooks and e-resources. No implications there but what is good. The textbooks are a disgrace. No one needs them to do everything at the same time. Do something and stop praising themselves as world class.doodbug:
I am not trying to defend MOE here, but perhaps they do need some help not just in identifying the problems with the system (it's easy to rant off a list of problems), but deep and concrete suggestions on how to improve the system. For example, I feel very strongly about testing within syllabus too, but if we were to advocate this for the PSLE, then there are other ramifications - there will be many high scoring kids and many kids will be differentiated on their carelessness and on trivial mistakes, instead of whether they are able to tackle the exams.
doodbug:
Give us a chance. When gentle autumnbronze surfaces as her wintersteel alter ego, I wouldn't pick a fight with her. It doesn't take much. Just speak to people. Talk about it. Explain. Chat. Post your thoughts. Every one you talk to and convince is one more voice. Write in Facebook, those who know how.
I am afraid, many of us, who are less verbose, and less determined, will succumb to accepting the system as it is, and expending whatever strength we have left to help our kids through the system.
I salute you though, Chenonceau :udawoman: -
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: Aiyo... tak boleh tahan.[/quote] :rotflmao: :rotflmao: Ya lor, Chen, you said it yourself
But they're DEAF!!!!kitty2:
[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]
THAT IS WHY WE MUST SPEAK UP!!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.