MOE should give P1 registration priority to SG kids?
toddles:
Which country did she convert from?[/quote]Malaysia. She and the kids converted but her hb did not.
yes, 'converted' singaporean should be differentiated too. i have a colleague who converted to SG citizen, but she's totally clueless abt been SG citizen. all she want is to enjoy the subsidies in education (baby bonus, lower cc fees etc).Tokidoki:
[quote=\"magiccastle\"]In whichever phrases,
Singaporeans ,(those born in singapore) should be given priority first, then those 'converted ' Singaporeans , followed by PRs n then foreigners.
The current practice of giving singaporean 2 chances n PR 1 chance at 2b n 2C balloting is not ideal. It depends on luck . If the PR is lucky , his child will still get in. Don't see any priority given to the true blue Singapoeans.
:nunchuk:
I have seen many PR children got in to the schools in view of proximity to the schools within 1 km and yet Singaporeans got no chance to even ballot just because they are out of the 1 km ( 1-2 km)!
PV system definitely need to be reviewed as it is unfair for parents who worked so hard yet can't secure a place.
I was in the taxi the other day.The Taxi driver jokingly told me foreigners go NTU , NUS n SMU . Singaporeans go SIM n foreign Universities if parents can afford. :heresmyfish:
True enough, 3 of my niece n nephews went to Australia to study bec couldnt get in or can't get the choice of course in the local U.

Tokidoki:
i have a colleague who converted to SG citizen, but she's totally clueless abt been SG citizen. all she want is to enjoy the subsidies in education (baby bonus, lower cc fees etc).
In what way is she clueless about being Singaporean, compared to other Singaporeans? You DO realise that many Singaporeans have less idea about Singapore than foreigners do, yes?
Are we becoming Malaysia now, with 'bumi' policy? -
she dun seems to put in any effort to learn more abt SG system. everyday juz monitor malaysia's newspaper. maybe her kids will be true singaporean in future but not her lor.Tokidoki:
i have a colleague who converted to SG citizen, but she's totally clueless abt been SG citizen. all she want is to enjoy the subsidies in education (baby bonus, lower cc fees etc).
In what way is she clueless about being Singaporean, compared to other Singaporeans? You DO realise that many Singaporeans have less idea about Singapore than foreigners do, yes?
Are we becoming Malaysia now, with 'bumi' policy? -
nhps2012:
Then maybe we can breakown Singaporeans into another category called \"Generations\". e.g. 1 Generation (parents), 2 Generation (grand), 3 Generation (great-grand), the higher the better!!![/quote]I hope this is said in jest...I fear for our country when we start to segregate between who is more Singaporean than the next...
yes, 'converted' singaporean should be differentiated too. i have a colleague who converted to SG citizen, but she's totally clueless abt been SG citizen. all she want is to enjoy the subsidies in education (baby bonus, lower cc fees etc).Tokidoki:
[quote=\"magiccastle\"]In whichever phrases,
Singaporeans ,(those born in singapore) should be given priority first, then those 'converted ' Singaporeans , followed by PRs n then foreigners.
The current practice of giving singaporean 2 chances n PR 1 chance at 2b n 2C balloting is not ideal. It depends on luck . If the PR is lucky , his child will still get in. Don't see any priority given to the true blue Singapoeans.
:nunchuk:
I have seen many PR children got in to the schools in view of proximity to the schools within 1 km and yet Singaporeans got no chance to even ballot just because they are out of the 1 km ( 1-2 km)!
PV system definitely need to be reviewed as it is unfair for parents who worked so hard yet can't secure a place.
I was in the taxi the other day.The Taxi driver jokingly told me foreigners go NTU , NUS n SMU . Singaporeans go SIM n foreign Universities if parents can afford. :heresmyfish:
True enough, 3 of my niece n nephews went to Australia to study bec couldnt get in or can't get the choice of course in the local U.

I can accept PRs ranking after citizens. But even then there are repercussions which actually works against the development of our kids. I thought the reason for removing alumni affiliation is to remove elitism and so kids from upper middle class can mix with kids from heartlands and develop empathy and grow up to be more well rounded individuals?
If you exclude PRs (aka foreigners), won't we create an artificial environment where Spore kids only interact with Spore kids? How would they learn to accommodate and appreciate foreign culture, kids from different background?
Even if parents don't care about raising well roundeded kids, I would think they should care about how their mollycoddled kids are going to be able to compete in the work place with foreigners in a global economy! -
It's very sentimental when you see the grandfathers walking with their grandsons to the same school which they attended some decades ago. You can see the pride in their eyes. Really. Imagine this affiliation link taken away from these folks. My family has no such affiliation links but these are real people I see.
I agree that MOE should be more looking at the Singapore vs PR policy - all Singaporeans first in every stage, any balance then give PR. No thanks to giving priority to future potential Sun Xus - 'there are more dogs than Singaporeans'. It's sad to hear a true blue Singaporean contact commented that he stayed next door to a popular pri Sch but his son had to take school bus to another school in another estate everyday. He saw many PRs balloting together in that popular pri school. While we welcome genuine PRs, imagine yourself in that true blue Singaporean's shoes - when the situation actually happens to you, then you really feel :slapshead: :rant: -
Tokidoki:
Malaysia. She and the kids converted but her hb did not.[/quote]yeah the hubby always doesn't, cos of the NS obligation.toddles:
[quote=\"Tokidoki\"]yes, 'converted' singaporean should be differentiated too. i have a colleague who converted to SG citizen, but she's totally clueless abt been SG citizen. all she want is to enjoy the subsidies in education (baby bonus, lower cc fees etc).
Which country did she convert from?
Just to share, a PRC PR neighbour of mine living in the far east got his kid into Nanyang Pri! I wonder how. He's a prof in one of the universities btw. very educated PRC living in HDB... -
My limited understanding is that foreigners can opt to study in international schools; SG kids are limited to public school only unless specially permissioned. not too clear about PR.
This is a thorny issue, should we then set aside a quota for PR/foreigners so that all SG kids have a chance to learn beside a PR/foreigner? We are talking about public education here, how come we cannot give preference to SG kids without discrimination coming into play?
Yes, I acknowledge that they pay higher fees - so there is some benefit to being a SG citizen. And anyway, I donβt think govt will tweak this becos my understanding (could be wrong) is that they want the PRs/foreigners to feel SGean having been through the SG system from young and therefore grow that sense of belonging to this land - not so much that SG kids will learn from PR/foreigner.
But sadly, Iβm not sure if this will work. Had a friend who studied in Sg for many years. She took PR and worked here for a spell. But ultimately she will go back to her homeland (already bought her own place there). (though then again, it may be good becos she work here during her economic prime life and then go back to retire and therefore wonβt tax on our health resources). That said, i think too much.
toddles:
yeah the hubby always doesn't, cos of the NS obligation.
Just to share, a PRC PR neighbour of mine living in the far east got his kid into Nanyang Pri! I wonder how. He's a prof in one of the universities btw. very educated PRC living in HDB...
maybe he is on Nanyang Pri School Board? -
Musings:
my concern is what is their motive when they chose to convert? did they convert juz for the monetary benefits? if yes, then i despise this group of 'new citizens'.
I hope this is said in jest...I fear for our country when we start to segregate between who is more Singaporean than the next...
I can accept PRs ranking after citizens. But even then there are repercussions which actually works against the development of our kids. I thought the reason for removing alumni affiliation is to remove elitism and so kids from upper middle class can mix with kids from heartlands and develop empathy and grow up to be more well rounded individuals?
If you exclude PRs (aka foreigners), won't we create an artificial environment where Spore kids only interact with Spore kids? How would they learn to accommodate and appreciate foreign culture, kids from different background?
Even if parents don't care about raising well roundeded kids, I would think they should care about how their mollycoddled kids are going to be able to compete in the work place with foreigners in a global economy! -
Tokidoki:
That may be the case but don't ALL immigrants look for monetary benefits in their new country of abode? It is only human.
my concern is what is their motive when they chose to convert? did they convert juz for the monetary benefits? if yes, then i despise this group of 'new citizens'.Musings:
I hope this is said in jest...I fear for our country when we start to segregate between who is more Singaporean than the next...
Even if parents don't care about raising well roundeded kids, I would think they should care about how their mollycoddled kids are going to be able to compete in the work place with foreigners in a global economy!
I am as outraged as any Sporean by foreigners who take advantage of our system. But I am mindful that I do not want to raise my kids in an artificial environment by totally excluding foreigners - education goes beyond the 4A* which every parent hope their kid achieve by moving mountains to get them into popular schools.
Education is about nurturing the kid for life to prepare them for the real world where they have to learn to navigate the complexities in the real world and interact with people of all walks of life who will cross their path.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.