All About Autism

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Special Needs & Learning Difficulties
    7.9k Posts 414 Posters 2.2m Views 3 Watching
      schweppes

helplessmum3:
      schweppes:

[quote=\"helplessmum3\"]Mashy,

is A/Professor Daisy Chan..

she see my son for less then 10mins then she say Autism..and goes back to her sit & start to write & recommend therapies, physiologist & EPIC. & etc..

She only talk to my son once.. she bring up apple & say \"eat\".. then she confirmed...& back to her sit....

she say\"no social skill + No communication + no Imaginary play\" = Autism..

helplessmum,
      Your son sounds like a very bright boy. Why did you bring your son to see Dr Chan? Why was there a need to?

His child care teacher say to bring so I bring.
      Despite I told her my son never been to cc b4 n might be lack of exposure.
      She keep complaining she can't cope w my son z
      Cuz he dun take instruction n has bad eye contact..she only recently work at cc. Maybe 2 yrs experienc.

So to be safe n first TimE parent n first time deal w cc. So I better go.[/quote]alamak... these teachers :slapshead: it could be a case where your child is bright and therefore bored with the teacher's teaching.

But because we are not experts, one suggestion is that you send your child for assessment (as recommended by Dr Chan). After all, it will be a qualified psychologist who will assess your child right? So.... if your child is NOT ASD, then that's really good news. At least you know that all is good.

But, if the report says ASD, then at least, you also know what to do next and how best to help your son.

In the meantime, continue to read and play with your son. At 2+, can play pretend play (masak mask/ cooking/ playdoh / ball games/ go playground...). Continue to talk and interact with him

He sounds like a very loving and sweet boy, and very lucky to have u as his mommy :rahrah:

helplessmum3

schweppes,

thanks.

hi helplessmum,

my friend said, "Can’t jump to the conclusion that your son is Autistic. Some kids just do not comply. My child also has no eye contact when he was young. But he’s perfectly fine now." She asked you to call her up. She’ll give you guidance.

mashy

Helplessmum

I think there must be some concerns from the teacher, that’s why she recommended that u send him to see the PD for assessment. Don’t discount that even if she is not that experienced. She has seen many kids and u have got a quirky one.

I also could tell that something wasn’t quite right with my son for the longest time but couldn’t figure out what it was.

As for the PD, perhaps besides those ‘parroting’ thing, she must have observed other stuff. My drs told me the criteria and which ones he fulfilled. I know how hard it is to get such a verdict and it is easy to be in denial. Even u think something isn’t right with him correct? That’s why u started the first few posts about him not making eye contact, not talking to u etc.

Take a step at a time and address each prob one at a time.

mashy

DesertWind:
              mashy:

My boy has been seeing the OT and ST for almost 2 yrs before we decided to send him to CDC. We addressed his articulation prob, poor fine motor skills, handwriting and feeding issues at the rehab before we went. They are from two different depts so u can actually see them concurrently. But rehab is not so much into identifying those with autism. They just deal with each prob u face. Now my boy's OT session is focused on appropriate behaviour in class and ST is on social conversation. It changes as his needs change.

Gee, this is news to me! So KKH actually got a rehab side doing ST too? The wait time for ST at the HPB is quite hopeless I can tell you ie. 3 months wait! So referred to go private. Half on their list of private not so good. Those good and highly popular ones hard to get appointments. I called up two already one no reply the other will call me when there is a time slot. Another one scared the hell out of my boy and I did not dare go back to her after the first consultation. One quite big group need to put deposit and pay one whole month's sessions in advance. I am seeing one not so popular ST on the list but I feel progress is slow and feel just not quite right somehow.

Desperately looking for another ST. How do you find the rehab ST? Do they work on helping your boy to talk? Can let me know how does a typical ST session being conducted?

TIA!

There are good ones and not so good ones even in the rehab centre. We took a long time to overcome his articulation prob with a ST. Then when she said she's going to have very tight slots and asked me to change ST, I switched to another one. We saw the 2nd one about twice a week and we managed to make a breakthrough. After that, it was so much better and we could stop the articulation part.

They usually will play with him, give him a game to take turns, then before he could take his turn, he has to perform a task. Like he has to finish saying 5 words correctly before he can proceed. Then the therapist will give me a list of things to practise at home.

mashy

http://www.kkh.com.sg/Services/AlliedHealthSpecialties/Rehabilitation/Pages/SpeechLanguageTherapy.aspx

helplessmum3

Mashy,

I did not denied just want to prepare what next n wat are e pros n cons…

I hav make so much mistake now … So I’m worry I might make any further demages to my son…

I’m not smart or sharp. I understand things very slow, my English is limited too…
                  And I hav limitation of money & also time. My health is Poor too…

My greatest mistake is I shdnt hav a kid n make him suffer when I can’t manage or deal with …

specialboymum

helplessmum3:
                    Mashy,

I did not denied just want to prepare what next n wat are e pros n cons..

I hav make so much mistake now .. So I'm worry I might make any further demages to my son..

I'm not smart or sharp. I understand things very slow, my English is limited too..
                    And I hav limitation of money & also time. My health is Poor too..

My greatest mistake is I shdnt hav a kid n make him suffer when I can't manage or deal with ..

Hi helplessmum3,

It is very important that as a parent, you need to be strong for your kid. I think many of here understand how you feel since we went through the same phase. I still remember my boy's school principal advised me not to get too stress because my boy will feel it- and it may impact him negatively because he doesn't understand and will be wondering what he did wrong.

Just take things one step at a time. As I mention earlier, don't harp too much on whether is autism or not, just focus on the intervention plan. Maybe start with his most apparent problem first, if it is behavior, maybe you want to start with behavior management therapy, such as ABA therapy. There are different kinds of options available, which I'm sure everybody here are willing to share....
                    Do also talk to your family members, get them involved in helping your son, as you can't do this alone

Regarding your question on what is meltdown.. it is just throwing terrible tantrum lah. My boy is King of meltdown when he was younger, he will lie on the floor, screaming and kicking in public when he got into some nervous breakdown. You can imagine we always invite lots of disapproval glare. There was once he did it in a busy shopping centre. One family actually stop and stare at me fighting with my son like watching a show. I just smiled at them after I managed to calm him down. They left after the performance ended. It was very embarrassing at first but eventually we learnt to be thick skin and ignored the stares

helplessmum3

Specialboymum,

Thanks . My son didn’t hav behavior problem yet…

He just seldom want to interact, like to play himself , must call at Least 3 times of his name then he turn n look just for awhile and back to his engrossed with…

When he play drum for instance, he will play and say this is a drum then knock a few time say "drum" then graze at me. Just never force me to see him play…

He will pull me to the shelve to get him cookies by graze at cookies. Through his body language n expression I know he want cookies. I will ask him "u want cookies" he will smile and just say "cookies" very loudly…

Do they need to nop head?

Last time he doesn’t like hair dryer sound now its no longer affecting him… Just stare at me blowing my hair … Last time he will jus cover his ears by his hands. I didn’t teach him how to cover his ears…

helplessmum3

ABA therapy is it expensive ?

My only family member is my husband .

U are so strong …

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 52 / 794

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo
                        Wonder-fulW
                        Wonder-ful
                        thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies