MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni
nms1:
Haha ... my friend child chose NYPS when she got into GEP. Her younger sister also did the same. They were both from all-girls' pri school before that. They have 4 other siblings - younger brothers and sisters. The problem for which primary school to put their younger brothers were totally solved then, bc NYPS is co-ed school.
I agree there is an issue with those who cross over to another school under GEP but that is only 5% of children and how many of those have younger siblings who can benefit. A brother can't benefit if his sister is sent to RGPS. My daughter has a friend whose elder sister was transferred but the sister was already in P1 so they now have the hassle of 2 girls in schools in totally different places.
but then again, I wouldn't argue with that, lah - I think it's fair. Who wants to send their kids to different schools if can help it, yah?
But then there ARE kids who benefit from it. If you have 2 different genders, then try for CO-Ed GEP school. -
DesertWind:
The church & clan schools are classed as government-aided which means that they are only 90% funded by the government. The rest has to be obtained through fund-raising.Clan Associations and religious members priority....is the door too wide-open?
Once upon a time it used to be those missions schools or charitable foundations schools are really set-up and run by the clan associations and of the same religious/charitable orders for their members. Is this still applicable in the current context whereby such schools are already all 'government run'?
I would say if the priority door is opened too wide, get rid of this as well! -
DesertWind:
I don't know about Clans. I think there's some criteria too, to join, right? For religious priority, usually there's criteria too. eg. for church, the pastor has to write a letter certifying that the member is a regular member and active in the church activities for how many years, etc. For Catholics, the little ones are the ones that have to be baptised, not just the parents. I remember my friend saying - oh, just be catholic can get in under phase 2B, is it? So I attend Catholic church and say I'm from that church can or not? When I told her that she needs to get her child baptised, and that for children baptism, the adult has to be a baptised catholic or else the child is not eligible for baptism (for adult to be catholic takes several years), then she gave up the idea.Clan Associations and religious members priority....is the door too wide-open?
Once upon a time it used to be those missions schools or charitable foundations schools are really set-up and run by the clan associations and of the same religious/charitable orders for their members. Is this still applicable in the current context whereby such schools are already all 'government run'?
I would say if the priority door is opened too wide, get rid of this as well!
When we applied for our girl for P1 last time, all parents who were applying for their girls under the Catholic phase had to be interviewed by the Principal personally as well before our application form was accepted. -
nms1:
I notice in our School Fees statement that the ds2 that is in mission school has slightly higher fees than the ds1 that is in a govt school. Interesting. I never noticed that. Govt School (secondary), really cheap - S$20/mth. Mission school extra S$4.
The church & clan schools are classed as government-aided which means that they are only 90% funded by the government. The rest has to be obtained through fund-raising.DesertWind:
Clan Associations and religious members priority....is the door too wide-open?
I would say if the priority door is opened too wide, get rid of this as well! -
hah - the school will look to see if you have expertise or not, lah. Or else, you'd end up being Lollipop man directing traffic.Ok OT.
My previous question on PV. How about I hire a gardener/electrician/piano teacher/sports coach to do the task on my behalf. Will do a better job than I right?
School benefits, kids benefit, I benefit.
Logical?
You'd notice schools that have virtually no chance for PVs, eg. CHS, would have employed workers to be traffic wardens. But schools like NYPS which does have enough spaces for PVs to have some chance, would have many PVs as traffic wardens.
really so many PR in Phase 1, meh? PRs so productive, ah? So far, all the friends I know with many many kids (4 to 7) are all SG citizens, leh.abolish the phase 1 sibling scheme. There're far too many PR children inside the Phase 1 sibling scheme now. Every child just re-queue for their turn - whether SG born citizen or PR kid, when comes to P1 registration.
. -
Iโve said my piece in previous threads and can only conclude - nothing would be fair in the eyes of all. But I thought Iโd join in the fun with a proposal of my own. How about this:
Phase 1: for siblings of any child already studying in the school, or the children of staff of that school
Phase 2 (50% of remaining spaces after Phase 1): lucky draw at any school of your choice, with Singaporeans getting 3 slips, PRs 2 slips, foreigners 1 slip
Phase 3 (50% of remaining spaces after Phase 1): no choice - government to assign all who failed in phase 2 to nearest available school
And we abolish all affiliations from primary to secondary to jc.
*Parents wonโt need to be exploited PV-ing
*Catholics/Christians/Buddhists/Muslims/Hindus can pray real hard they will get into their Catholic/Christian/Buddhist/Muslim/Hindu school at phase 2. If you succeed, God is great. If not, God has other plans for you.
*Alumni/grassroot leaders/clan associations also get a shot in the phase 2 lucky draw, together with everyone else - no distinction, no elitism. If you succeed, good. If not, appeal after the entire process and the truly active/outstanding alumni, grassroot leader/clan member will surely get priority in the appeal queue, totally at the discretion of the principal.
*Everyone will get a place in a school located near their house, unless they chose something far away in Phase 2 and was successful in the lucky draw.
Ok, bring on the comments/suggestions/criticism! -
citygirl:
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: no disrespect, but it's funny and I quite agree. In my case God meant that DS shouldn't go to another school, couple that with parents' laziness to move house.
*Catholics/Christians/Buddhists/Muslims/Hindus can pray real hard they will get into their Catholic/Christian/Buddhist/Muslim/Hindu school at phase 2. If you succeed, God is great. If not, God has other plans for you.
Ok, bring on the comments/suggestions/criticism! -
Oops, I forgot to add the disclaimer: No offence intended to anyone. I'm Catholic and I pray really, really hard but sometimes, God has other plans for me. I'm just assuming everyone else is the same!
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: no disrespect, but it's funny and I quite agree. In my case God meant that DS shouldn't go to another school, couple that with parents' laziness to move house.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.