MOE should give P1 registration priority to SG kids?
Yes, I do understand that it seems 'unfair' to those who want more but can't have so if these couples don't mind (don't find it intrusive), maybe they can show medical evidence (fertility treatment records, miscarriages, dr's letter, etc) that they have indeed tried for more to get into phase 2 or be given priority over those who made the conscious decision to only have 1 in phase 3?

absolut_vodka:
Yes, I do understand that it seems 'unfair' to those who want more but can't have so if these couples don't mind (don't find it intrusive), maybe they can show medical evidence (fertility treatment records, miscarriages, dr's letter, etc) that they have indeed tried for more to get into phase 2 or be given priority over those who made the conscious decision to only have 1 in phase 3?

Um, kind of funny trying to show much/hard you've tried, don't you think?
I mean, not all \"attempts\" can produce medical record, right? :rotflmao:
But don't worry, I know what you mean. -
Keke... I know! But I mean, those 'desperate' enough would surely seek help somehow!absolut_vodka:

Um, kind of funny trying to show much/hard you've tried, don't you think?
I mean, not all \"attempts\" can produce medical record, right? :rotflmao:
But don't worry, I know what you mean. -
I fully support that PR n foreigners should Q behind Singaporean when it comes to public sch registration. Some may says tat we r leaving the leftover for the PR /foreigners n hence chasing them away fr sg. However I feel tat there r some things tat we can share (eg public transport , medical etc) n some we dun (eg priority in p1 reg , public housing). It is just like, u may invite friend over to your house to stay n u wanna to them feel welcome but u dun go to the extent of letting them sleep on your bed n sharing your undergarment rite.:)
puff:
I fully support that PR n foreigners should Q behind Singaporean when it comes to public sch registration. Some may says tat we r leaving the leftover for the PR /foreigners n hence chasing them away fr sg. However I feel tat there r some things tat we can share (eg public transport , medical etc) n some we dun (eg priority in p1 reg , public housing). It is just like, u may invite friend over to your house to stay n u wanna to them feel welcome but u dun go to the extent of letting them sleep on your bed n sharing your undergarment rite.:)
Maybe use sofa bed and disposable ones ok - if I have at hand lah. :rotflmao:
I thought you were going to say \"...to the extent of letting making yourself sleep outside or somewhere else\" . -
Under normal circumstances, Singaporeans should definitely come first. As with all things, the art is how do we strike a balance? We are but a small island and the only way to survive is to open ourselves to the world, treat the world as our โmarketโ as we do not have โdomestic marketโ to speak of. We want the world to know that you can be successful in Singapore if you have what it take. We want to attract such people to come to Singapore to set up shops and create job and related opportunities for us. I emphasis, we should regard Singaporeans first but we must guard against xenophobia.
HVR:
Under normal circumstances, Singaporeans should definitely come first. As with all things, the art is how do we strike a balance? We are but a small island and the only way to survive is to open ourselves to the world, treat the world as our 'market' as we do not have 'domestic market' to speak of. We want the world to know that you can be successful in Singapore if you have what it take. We want to attract such people to come to Singapore to set up shops and create job and related opportunities for us. I emphasis, we should regard Singaporeans first but we must guard against xenophobia.
Agree. We should not deprive the pr and foreigner of an education. They should be able to access the education, however our citizen should be given priority. We as Singaporean has an allegiance to this country ! Hence it is not unreasonable for us to expect to be given priority over pr and foreigner.
I would really want to know the percentage of pr and foreigner in our good/ branded school. My sense is that it can be high since I personally know couple of pr studying in RPGs as they can afford the expensive property around the school.
For every slot given to the pr, is deriving one or more Singaporean child. This is because once a pr get in, his sibling will be given priority as well. -
Jojobar:
PRs are PRs after all. They still CAN return to their country of origin...but we being citizens stay here. I know of a PRC couple who have kids studying here but after secondary school, will go to Australia for futher studies. Singapore is just a stepping stone for them. In fact, many use Singapore as stepping stone.HVR:
Under normal circumstances, Singaporeans should definitely come first.
I would really want to know the percentage of pr and foreigner in our good/ branded school. My sense is that it can be high since I personally know couple of pr studying in RPGs as they can afford the expensive property around the school.
For every slot given to the pr, is deriving one or more Singaporean child. This is because once a pr get in, his sibling will be given priority as well.
Actually domestic maids are also like that...once they have worked here, their 'market value' is increased and they spring board to HK or Taiwan. -
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_771469.html
\"Singaporeans drawn to international schools here...\"
The report implying SGreans got choice to go international sch... MOE never say cannot... But pay $20K fees...
:yikes: :siao: :faint: -
Applies to some schools offering 6 year program too. COP is 220. Kids sit for entrance test...school fees is between $16K to $20K a year X 6 years.
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_771469.html
\"Singaporeans drawn to international schools here...\"
The report implying SGreans got choice to go international sch... MOE never say cannot... But pay $20K fees...
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.