Parents, not enrichment centres, are key to result

990 Posts 93 Posters 220.1k Views 1 Watching
      pinky

toddles:

yah so weird huh. I asked my dad for chinese tuition. we weren't rich. had no other tuition. my dad thought for a long while, said 'i give you a little more pocket money every week, you study harder by yourself ok?'

and so i did. not too bad lah, higher chinese still managed to scrape an A2.

wah! u A2 calibre still dare to ask for tuition!

My time, if the grades still blue, no tuition!!

oh yes, I didn't know what PSLE stands for, all I knew was that all P6 students had to sit for another exam after our prelim so that 'we can move on to secondary 1 if we pass' (as explained by my form teacher)
      I sounded so ancient :oops: :oops:

Chenonceau

Me too... I have now caught the enrichment bug... http://petunialee.blogspot.com/2012/02/succumbing-to-enrichment-contagion.html

If you can't beat 'em, the join 'em.

mwchua

Yesterday just had a big fight with my girl, which I now regretted terribly......

Like what many of the parents experienced here, I am in constant dilemma whether to send her for enrichment class.....My mindset has always been that it's the daily consistent work that is the most important. That's why no matter how tired I am, to the best of my ability, I try to go through with work her in the evening in that tiny space of time....

But I find that sometimes she does switch off, just like yesterday....She kept on refusing to listen & understand some Onsponge questions, even though I was there to guide her step-by-step. I was quite frustrated as Sunday morning is the only time in the week I can have more time to go through work with her and yet.... :mad: The rest was history....

This morning she had mild fever and still insisted on going to school..*Sigh* I think I will need to outsource again...But seriously, will a 1.5 hour weekly session work miracle? I don't think so....But sometimes she just don't want to listen at all..

The school work is so easy....but yet the exam paper is a different ballgame altogether. Majority of her classmates all go for enrichment, typically will be at some branded ones.... :imdrowning:

\"Teach less, learn more\" => really :stupid:

Chenonceau

mwchua:
            The school work is so easy....but yet the exam paper is a different ballgame altogether. Majority of her classmates all go for enrichment, typically will be at some branded ones.... :imdrowning:

Thanks for sharing your personal experience. Like I said here - http://petunialee.blogspot.com/2012/02/succumbing-to-enrichment-contagion.html. If ya can't beat 'em... ya gotta join 'em.

toddles

mwchua:

Thanks for sharing your personal experience. Like I said here - http://petunialee.blogspot.com/2012/02/succumbing-to-enrichment-contagion.html. If ya can't beat 'em... ya gotta join 'em.

oh dear... my no-tuition ambition is really becoming a pipe dream...

e.g. for pre-sch chinese enrichment, people always say, it's pre-emptive measures to reduce sudden stress / shock of P1 requirements. I used to think it was completely unnecessary, but now all sorts of tuition seem to be an inevitable duty... of being kind to, rather than demanding on, one's child...

• FunzF Offline
                Funz

mwchua:
                Yesterday just had a big fight with my girl, which I now regretted terribly......

Like what many of the parents experienced here, I am in constant dilemma whether to send her for enrichment class.....My mindset has always been that it's the daily consistent work that is the most important. That's why no matter how tired I am, to the best of my ability, I try to go through with work her in the evening in that tiny space of time....

But I find that sometimes she does switch off, just like yesterday....She kept on refusing to listen & understand some Onsponge questions, even though I was there to guide her step-by-step. I was quite frustrated as Sunday morning is the only time in the week I can have more time to go through work with her and yet.... :mad: The rest was history....

This morning she had mild fever and still insisted on going to school..*Sigh* I think I will need to outsource again...But seriously, will a 1.5 hour weekly session work miracle? I don't think so....But sometimes she just don't want to listen at all..

:hugs: Aside from TienHsia, DD does not attend any other enrichments. So far I heard DD saying her friends have chess/golf/gymnastic classes but did not hear her saying anything about academic kind of enrichments. Maybe DD is filtering cos she won't mind going for these same classes that she mentioned her friends are attending but she would mind very much if I load her with academic enrichments. :razz:

I don't know about exam papers yet but so far, DD finds the mini tests manageable. She had a bad score for her chinese compo. I read it, really can :faint: Problem is my command of the Chinese language is also highly questionable so, no choice, outsource and keep my :xedfingers: .

I think a lot of parents will find it a challenge coaching their own children. You are not alone here. But if your DD is coping well, there really is no need to jump onto the enrichment bandwagon just because her classmates are in it. If she truly has interest in a particular activity, and finances and schedule allows, then by all means enrich.

Chenonceau

Toddles, hopefully, if we make enough noise now… and things improve in schools, you won’t face this problem at all when your child is as old as mine now. Don’t have to panic yet. I do what I have to do because nothing will change in time for us… but for you, there is some hope, no?

Besides, if you’re lucky and kid gets into GEP, then perhaps you will have all the resources you need from school. So, dun worry yet. My DS could catch up. Knowing you and your hubs’ background, yours should also be able to catch up if need to.

Mawar

My DD has been doing fine without any enrichment, except for Chinese. But this year, she has been asking us to send her for enrichment classes. From the word go, she has been a very focused and independant child who knows what she wants.

All this while, we have been preaching and encouraging our children that learning to learn is far more superior than knowledge that is being spoon fed. Making mistakes and not taking top honours is ok. It's the effort that counts.

But she has come to realize that her own efforts produce 'inferior' results. She was initially surprised when her friends could use certain methods that was not taught to solve sums. She has started to see the gap in the results.

I shared this over coffee with my galfriend whose son is also on his own sans enrichment. He is top 3 in class but he has been begging his mum to sign him up else he wouldl fall behind. Is this the new phenomenon? Kids asking for more classes? :?

toddles

Mawar:
                      My DD has been doing fine without any enrichment, except for Chinese. But this year, she has been asking us to send her for enrichment classes. From the word go, she has been a very focused and independant child who knows what she wants.

All this while, we have been preaching and encouraging our children that learning to learn is far more superior than knowledge that is being spoon fed. Making mistakes and not taking top honours is ok. It's the effort that counts.

But she has come to realize that her own efforts produce 'inferior' results. She was initially surprised when her friends could use certain methods that was not taught to solve sums. She has started to see the gap in the results.

I shared this over coffee with my galfriend whose son is also on his own sans enrichment. He is top 3 in class but he has been begging his mum to sign him up else he wouldl fall behind. Is this the new phenomenon? Kids asking for more classes? :?
                      OH NO!!!!! what has our society become...

next thing they will be setting up a site called Kiasukids..... and maybe they won't share anything cos they are too kiasu...

concern2

toddles:

next thing they will be setting up a site called Kiasukids..... and maybe they won't share anything cos they are too kiasu...
                        This sounds like an AWFULLY GREAT IDEA! Kids going into Kiasu kids to rant :stompfeet: :stupid: :mad: :rant: 😆

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 70 / 99

uy88eventtsU
                        uy88eventts