MOE should give P1 registration priority to SG kids?
The home-grown international schools are open to Singaporeans. It's just a matter of whether you're willing to fork out the $20k per year. Let's face it, some parents don't want their kids in a neighbourhood secondary school and if they can afford it they'll send their kids to these international schools. Money is not a concern for them and if it means their kids get a better education, a better environment with like-minded peers, more opportunities, why not? As one of the parents mentioned in the article, her child was sent to Normal stream after PSLE. Now she has a chance at IB.
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_771469.html
\"Singaporeans drawn to international schools here...\"
The report implying SGreans got choice to go international sch... MOE never say cannot... But pay $20K fees...
:yikes: :siao: :faint: -
Yes from secondary onwards, going international school becomes a choice. Restriction is only for primary school.
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_771469.html
\"Singaporeans drawn to international schools here...\"
The report implying SGreans got choice to go international sch... MOE never say cannot... But pay $20K fees...
:yikes: :siao: :faint: -
Nobody is saying that we shd prevent them from enrolling in our local schools. Since we supposedly have low birth rates, then there shd be more than enough spaces for them after all the SGeans are enrolled into primary schools - afterall, our govt keeps saying that all schools are as good so they shd sell that 膏药 to PRs and foreigners instead. Just saying that we do not have a choice unlike them so we should be given priority. Right now, by default, locals have to study in public PRIMARY schools. The international school option is for secondary school onwards. And how many local parents can afford such fees when our wages are being compressed by the so called foreign talents?
Jojobar:
HVR:
Under normal circumstances, Singaporeans should definitely come first. As with all things, the art is how do we strike a balance? We are but a small island and the only way to survive is to open ourselves to the world, treat the world as our 'market' as we do not have 'domestic market' to speak of. We want the world to know that you can be successful in Singapore if you have what it take. We want to attract such people to come to Singapore to set up shops and create job and related opportunities for us. I emphasis, we should regard Singaporeans first but we must guard against xenophobia.
Agree. We should not deprive the pr and foreigner of an education. They should be able to access the education, however our citizen should be given priority. We as Singaporean has an allegiance to this country ! Hence it is not unreasonable for us to expect to be given priority over pr and foreigner.
I would really want to know the percentage of pr and foreigner in our good/ branded school. My sense is that it can be high since I personally know couple of pr studying in RPGs as they can afford the expensive property around the school.
For every slot given to the pr, is deriving one or more Singaporean child. This is because once a pr get in, his sibling will be given priority as well. -
How many parents can afford to pay $16-20K a year for secondary education ? At the end of 6 years, there is still U to pay.
This ‘international education’ is not for everyone…it is also implying that money talks. Child doesn’t get fantastic results at P6, parents now have option to send him/her to such secondary schools. -
\"Some parents admitted, however, that they picked an international school because their children had failed to get into prestigious Integrated Programme schools or junior colleges.
Entrepreneur Rachel Wong, 44, is looking to send her Secondary 1 daughter to an international school by the year end.
She said her daughter, who had attended Raffles Girls' Primary, did not fare well in the Primary School Leaving Examination, and so was put in the Normal stream in a neighbourhood secondary school.
'She is without friends there, and... it has shattered her confidence. I think she's a late bloomer. She just needs a different environment where she can get more attention, so I'm willing to fork out $20,000 a year to get her that.'\"
From the same report... Quite sad lor... The things $$ can buy...
Cannot go Express stream... But can go International sch...
Neighbourhood sch= shattered confidence
Simi logic?
:siao: -
i tend to believe that some parents send their kids to international sch is more for the belief that their kids will find more/similar interest (family background; $$ etc) friends in that environment and also build future contacts etc. additionally, with the higher fees, the international sch may have better resources to provide more opportunities for these kids when compared to neighbourhood schs.
\"Some parents admitted, however, that they picked an international school because their children had failed to get into prestigious Integrated Programme schools or junior colleges.
Entrepreneur Rachel Wong, 44, is looking to send her Secondary 1 daughter to an international school by the year end.
She said her daughter, who had attended Raffles Girls' Primary, did not fare well in the Primary School Leaving Examination, and so was put in the Normal stream in a neighbourhood secondary school.
'She is without friends there, and... it has shattered her confidence. I think she's a late bloomer. She just needs a different environment where she can get more attention, so I'm willing to fork out $20,000 a year to get her that.'\"
Simi logic?
:siao:
there is also a certain truth in neighbourhood sch=shattered confidence as some kids can be mean to make fun of kids coming from better known pri sch (in this case RGPS) thinking that all grads from better known p.sch should naturally do well.
if i have the $, i will also opt for what i feel is suitable for my kids.....but no $ le... :sad: -
So give SG kids priority to P1 registration(into top Pri sch) is not the end of the journey hor...
:gloomy: -
money always talks. still, some of these parents want their kids to break away from the system even if their kids can go into the top schools.How many parents can afford to pay $16-20K a year for secondary education ? At the end of 6 years, there is still U to pay.
This 'international education' is not for everyone...it is also implying that money talks. Child doesn't get fantastic results at P6, parents now have option to send him/her to such secondary schools.
what proportion of the students are the bright can choose to go international schools instead of the international schools as the only choice i not sure. -
Should MOE give P1 registration priority to SG kids? IMO when resources are in abundance, you can do as you wish and open up to all (locals, PRs, foreigners) and no one will complain. But when a nation reaches a state where so many local public schools have to ballot, then it is time to prioritize according to birthright to allocate this important resource to our own kids first and give out the balance after all our kids get the school of their choice. If still need to ballot, then have it amongst SG first.

Simi logic?
:siao:
My nephew was also enrolled in international school (HCI) after he cannot get into express stream. They shifted house to be within 1 km from Pei Hwa.
But after 1 year, bobian transfer to main stream (NA) because inside international school 有样学样.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.