MOE should give P1 registration priority to SG kids?
You have a point. But I just hope what you mentioned here is not the true motive/agenda. I still think that they want to improve the 60.1% by other ways, besides increasing the number of new citizens.
Just thinking along this line (don't flame me ah).ksi:
He was responding to queries on the ministry's review of the Primary One registration framework.
....The ministry recently indicated that it is \"studying various options to improve\" the scheme.
WHO are actually making the queries? I mean, this system has been there for a long time, and suddenly it is being looked into. Secondly, 'improve' in what sense? It's not stated. We only assume that it is towards more fairness. (please correct me if I am wrong)
I could think of a few things that might be a trigger the consideration for change:
1) Change of Minister (of Education) - people hoping to see new Minster make changes.
2) The change in political sentiments - realize the need to listen more to people
3) The influx of foreigners who want a place in Singapore public school - they have too little chance of getting a place in the current system.
I want to talk about Point 3. Isn't it possible that the in the attempt to attract more immigrants into our country, our garmen need to make room for them in our society - giving them more chance into our schools being one of them?
There is a lot of talks among foreigners who, by the time their kids reach the age of formal schooling, are deciding whether to get their kids to study here or elsewhere.
Education has become one of the pull factors to retain these wealthy foreigners. Once they feel discriminated upon in the registration process, their chances of choosing to live in Singapore drops, and the opportunity to 'capture' this 'wealth' is lost to whichever country the foreigners move to.
Has it occurred to you that the queries could be from foreigners (rather than our own people), and that relooking into the registration is really to favor foreigners - to retain the rich?
See, Alumnis are naturally majority Singaporeans - right? Without these Alumnis, more spaces will be freed for all - Singaporeans or non-Singaporeans, right?
Yes, perhaps more Singaporeans will benefit from the change, but if distance is really going to be the key factor of consideration, then perhaps it suits the garmen - and foreigners more since, ultimately, property prices around the popular schools will go up and possibly, only the rich and wealthy will be able to afford. This, is going to worsen the divide, not narrowing it (divide here referring to the gap between the elite and the common people).
Though this thread has been split from the original one discussing Alumnis, I think it does have some relation in this sense - cos it is politically linked.
You are free to air your thoughts on this.
(BTW, I don't usually visit KSP at night or on weekends, so you don't need to respond to this immediately - just hope you'd give it some thought) -
Hahahaha , i thot he is going to say \"share your spouse.\" Just kidding, :siam:puff:
I fully support that PR n foreigners should Q behind Singaporean when it comes to public sch registration. Some may says tat we r leaving the leftover for the PR /foreigners n hence chasing them away fr sg. However I feel tat there r some things tat we can share (eg public transport , medical etc) n some we dun (eg priority in p1 reg , public housing). It is just like, u may invite friend over to your house to stay n u wanna to them feel welcome but u dun go to the extent of letting them sleep on your bed n sharing your undergarment rite.:)
Maybe use sofa bed and disposable ones ok - if I have at hand lah. :rotflmao:
I thought you were going to say \"...to the extent of letting making yourself sleep outside or somewhere else\" . -
Those who said that should lead by examples and convinced us by putting their offsprings to those schools that they mentioned are equally good.I hope MOE cuts down telling us this thing that ALL schools are the same...it is definitely NOT the same or else kids won't have to take school bus at 5am to travel from one end to another...parents won't be driving kids from pasir ris or hougang to bukit Timah.
More should be done to retain born and bred Singaporeans and protect us from PRs who are out to squeeze every single opportunity from us only to run away when duty calls for them to show loyalty. -
Jojobar:
THANK YOU!!! :rahrah:Hi all,
I am a silent reader of this forum but cannot stay silent on ths topic. I had personally wrote to mr Heng and pm lee on this topic late last year. In fact, I will be writing again to them to remind their new policy should align to the overall\" Singaporean first\" intent policy which we have seen in other recent review policy. -
Guess it's because all parents wants the best for their kids (or the parent cannot bring herself to tell her friends that her daughter is in neighborhood school ?) . It's like cannot enter local U, enrol in overseas U, just that this is happening at Primary-Secondary school.
\"Some parents admitted, however, that they picked an international school because their children had failed to get into prestigious Integrated Programme schools or junior colleges.
Entrepreneur Rachel Wong, 44, is looking to send her Secondary 1 daughter to an international school by the year end.
She said her daughter, who had attended Raffles Girls' Primary, did not fare well in the Primary School Leaving Examination, and so was put in the Normal stream in a neighbourhood secondary school.
'She is without friends there, and... it has shattered her confidence. I think she's a late bloomer. She just needs a different environment where she can get more attention, so I'm willing to fork out $20,000 a year to get her that.'\"
From the same report... Quite sad lor... The things $$ can buy...
Cannot go Express stream... But can go International sch...
Neighbourhood sch= shattered confidence
Simi logic?
:siao: -
lim72:
:rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah:
THANK YOU!!! :rahrah:Jojobar:
Hi all,
I am a silent reader of this forum but cannot stay silent on ths topic. I had personally wrote to mr Heng and pm lee on this topic late last year. In fact, I will be writing again to them to remind their new policy should align to the overall\" Singaporean first\" intent policy which we have seen in other recent review policy. -
mamemo:
:moneyflies: Money talks. That's why my dad also said before that maybe we shouldn't get too hung up on the prestigious primary schools and PSLE results coz ultimately, money can push the person up the ladder. So many average pple have become doctors and lawyers with their parents' money. No matter what, they are still doctors and lawyers now. Who cares where they studied? And one of those supposed \"failures\" is now taking over her dad's law practice. Nothing is fair in this world. :offtopic:
Guess it's because all parents wants the best for their kids (or the parent cannot bring herself to tell her friends that her daughter is in neighborhood school ?) . It's like cannot enter local U, enrol in overseas U, just that this is happening at Primary-Secondary school.Daddy

\"Some parents admitted, however, that they picked an international school because their children had failed to get into prestigious Integrated Programme schools or junior colleges.
Entrepreneur Rachel Wong, 44, is looking to send her Secondary 1 daughter to an international school by the year end.
She said her daughter, who had attended Raffles Girls' Primary, did not fare well in the Primary School Leaving Examination, and so was put in the Normal stream in a neighbourhood secondary school.
'She is without friends there, and... it has shattered her confidence. I think she's a late bloomer. She just needs a different environment where she can get more attention, so I'm willing to fork out $20,000 a year to get her that.'\"
From the same report... Quite sad lor... The things $$ can buy...
Cannot go Express stream... But can go International sch...
Neighbourhood sch= shattered confidence
Simi logic?
:siao: -
I have nothing against parents who use their financial muscle to give their children a head start in life. They have worked hard, and they are free to spend their money. In fact, I am pro choice. Use the money to put their kids into the private school of their choice.
Maybe there should be more private schools to give MOE a run for their existence. -
Aiyah… so complicating… I feel apart from Phase 1 (siblings), the whole of Phase 2A - 2C should be combined into 1 phase. Foreigners come in at Phase 3.
Just give:
10 ballot slips to SG citizens (both parents) who live <1km, + old student / PV / clan / church
8 slips to SG citizens (both parents) who live 1-2km, + old student / PV / clan / church
6 slips to SG citizen (1 parent) / PR who live <1km, + old student / PV / clan / church
6 slips to SG citizens (both parents) who live <1km, no other connections
4 slips to SG citizen (1 parent)/PR who live 1-2km, + old student / PV / clan / church
4 slips to SG citizen (1 parent)/PR who live <1km, no other connections
4 slips to SG citizens (both parents) who live 1-2km, no other connections
2 slips to SG citizen (1 parent)/PR who live 1-2km, no other connections
1 slip to SG citizens and PRs who live >2km, regardless of any connections (this one is really heng suay)
Phase 2 Supp for those unsuccessful above.
Foreigners can only try at Phase 3 if any vacancies left. -
Mawar:
MOE should start first by giving parents the freedom to place their kids in international schools from primary school.I have nothing against parents who use their financial muscle to give their children a head start in life. They have worked hard, and they are free to spend their money. In fact, I am pro choice. Use the money to put their kids into the private school of their choice.
Maybe there should be more private schools to give MOE a run for their existence.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.