Parents, not enrichment centres, are key to result
KSP said:
Eng, Eng Creative Writing
Chinese, Chinese Compo
Maths, Maths Olympiad
Science (answering technique), Science (lab based)
Motivation (eg. Mindchamp), Brain development or learning method
Let see...other non-academic subjects counted? Like Piano, swimming, abacus :rotflmao: If yes, then I doubt if it will be just 10 liao. - Ok, more than 10
i dont mind sending kids to all these if they just need to attend about 3 hours of school daily. -
Now to unveil the answer.
A couple of them had 10 tuitions/ enrichment (academic ones hor) :siao: not those piano, swimming ... If add the Maths Olympic training conducted in school then 11 lor. Most had 6 - 8 tuitions. My DD only 1 cos I too poor to afford :oops:
So KSP is right. :rahrah:
These top pupils from top class attend tons of tuition, no wonder the centres are doing BOOMING business. -
Fat Mama:
:faint: Sometime ago, I read someone sharing an article about crippling our children. I see if I can find this article. To me, there is an optimal point whereby a child can learn from someone academically. Beyond that a child needs to explore on his/her own in order to excel. But that is my belief only based on my understanding of myself and my child.Now to unveil the answer.
A couple of them had 10 tuitions/ enrichment (academic ones hor) :siao: not those piano, swimming ... If add the Maths Olympic training conducted in school then 11 lor. Most had 6 - 8 tuitions. My DD only 1 cos I too poor to afford :oops:
These top pupils from top class attend tons of tuition, no wonder the centres are doing BOOMING business. -
I've heard that for preschoolers most of these 'enrichment' are very fun, so parents feel ok signing up for as many as their wallets allow. No ECD there.
But perhaps it's just a precursor to 'graduating' into just as many academic enrichments.
Not uncommon to hear of those going for 5 enrichment at 4 yrs old. Ballet, chinese speech and drama, english speech and drama, kumon, yamaha... In fact, there used to be one thread where parents were sharing what they sent their kids for, and how much it cost, and you'd really :faint: reading that thread. -
Fat Mama:
:siao: :siao: :siao: :siao: :siao:Now to unveil the answer.
These top pupils from top class attend tons of tuition, no wonder the centres are doing BOOMING business.
are they going to be dependent on tuitions too when thry r in secondary ? Isn't ability to learn independently is more important than scoring high.. :? -
Fat Mama:
Most have 6-8 academic tuition is alreadyNow to unveil the answer.
These top pupils from top class attend tons of tuition, no wonder the centres are doing BOOMING business.
10 is :yikes:
So these kids chiong and chiong with no life going from tuition to tuition, average 1-2 per day.
If per subject is average $200 then total $1200-2000 per month!
Err... Top class gets better teachers right why need so much boosting
And more importantly how do they ever find time for so much tuition?!
They're bringing Teach Less Learn More to secondary schools!! It is quite likely the Teachers in secondary will also learn to delegate the bulk of the teaching to tuition/enrichment... and content themselves with testing what they haven't had time to properly teach (and give skills practice in).
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_764750.html -
blessed777:
This dependence on tuition will extend even to University. I've read in the papers before that some students continue to ask their peers to give them tuition in university. I wonder how they'll be able to function when they go out to work after being so dependent on tuition all their lives. They will be at work holding a crutch and looking for colleagues to give them answers.
are they going to be dependent on tuitions too when thry r in secondary ? Isn't ability to learn independently is more important than scoring high.. :?
hmmm, maybe those of us who encourage our kids to be independent will be doing our children a favour because surviving school exams is really a very small part of their lives. What kind of adults are we really developing our children into? -
blessed777:
In the past, IF you are the sort to learn independently, you will score high. Now, with textbooks like those we buy every year, how to learn independently? There is nothing to read leh... everything comes through the Teacher. If suay suay you have a lousy teacher then there is nothing to learn independently from if you don't have tuition to give you materials.
:siao: :siao: :siao: :siao: :siao:
are they going to be dependent on tuitions too when thry r in secondary ? Isn't ability to learn independently is more important than scoring high.. :?
In my time, if teacher is lousy never mind. I just work harder on my own. Now... my kid wanna work hard on his own also cannot... because there is NOTHING to read (in some schools) unless you wanna read junk written by people who have never taught a day in their lives. -
Fat Mama:
So i guess the child attends 3 on each weekend and 1 on each weekday leaving 1 day for CCA in school.Now to unveil the answer.
Since most have 6-8 a week, anything 5 and below should not be considered as KS...
right?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.