Do you think there is still a future for our kids...
violin_lover:
It's ok. Just trying to illustrate a point. I agree with you on point 3. Always see one worker working and 5 to 6 watching.
Fact: (1) Not everbody can afford a maid.HVR:
It's the same low living standards of some countries in the region that we can afford our maids, cleaners and construction workers.
(2) Old folks work as cleaner are being exploited due to low wages.
(3) Due to the supply of cheap construction workers, companies are not willing to invest in technology to improve productivity. For example, it is well known that for the same construction job, you need ten people to do it in Singapore but you only need one Australian to do it in Australia. So, what does that tell you? -
is there a future ?
it is as much as you make it out to be
attitude, mind set, willingness, can do spirit, never say die.....it is the same every where on planet earth, not just singapore
:siam: :siam: -
HVR:
Not saying you wash your hands off hor, I know how much you have done for your boy.
Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww...
True true true...but when u hear people want to buy some buses using your money and give away scholarship to people who scold your country, you start to get pek chek leh...good thing Singapore still got something good going - kiasuparents :imconstipated:is there a future ?
attitude, mind set, willingness, can do spirit, never say die.....it is the same every where on planet earth, not just singapore
:siam: :siam: -
1amber:
you are pek chek with what you can see and hear here
True true true...but when u hear people want to buy some buses using your money and give away scholarship to people who scold your country, you start to get pek chek leh...good thing Singapore still got something good going - kiasuparents :imconstipated:verykiasu2010:
is there a future ?
:siam: :siam:
in other countries there are many worse things you could not see or hear -
Ditto
1amber:
give away scholarship to people who scold your country, you start to get pek chek leh...good thing Singapore still got something good going - kiasuparents :imconstipated:
For committing theft and vandalism in singapore you get caning. for cursing singaporean you got money.
more will drop by to curse singaporean, mp will support them and ask us to reflect, implying that we are dogs. -
True true other countries also got their issues. I have lived in UK. If I were British I would talk about UK. But I am Singaporean and am responding to the topic without wanting to make comparisons with other countries.
I believe in keeping options open. Well, if better opportunity arises either here or elsewhere, just GO
larkspur:
about singapore shunning the jobs, my fren who is working in this ministry (where you will go and look for them when employers dun pay your salary) says \"dun believe in what the newspaper says about foreigners filling up low pay jobs such as cleaners, sales assistant, these low pay jobs are small percentage compared to high end job, like comparing peanuts to pomelo\"HVR:
Why no future? Why so pessimistic? Are we having problem creating jobs for our future generations? The impression is that many foreigners are here and have taken away our jobs but reality is that these jobs are not wanted by singaporeans. For examples, cleaners, sale assistants, restaurant helpers, constuction workers, bus drivers, etc. At the same time, I know of some singaporeans who shun these jobs because they think the pay is not high. So, it's about expectation but can we expect every job pays the same?
Look at the causeway every morning. There are at least 20,000 m'sians making daily trip to work here, can't singaporeans fill up these vacancies? No, we all want higher pay job and there again, where to find a country that the pays are the same for all the jobs? We have to keep our expectation in check because there is no way the employers are willing to give high pay for certain jobs.
The real concern is how to get singaporeans to fill up these jobs. Not possible that everyone is tau kay. We have to accept that there will be wage gap and another concern is that the wage gap shouldn't be too wide. Our co- efficient rate tells us that we are not doing too well in this aspect and I hope the govt is working hard on this.
SINGAPORE: Sixty per cent of Singapore's non-resident population are work permit holders made up mostly of foreign domestic workers and construction workers.
Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean revealed this in a written answer to Parliament.
MP for Pasir-Ris Punggol GRC Gan Thiam Poh wanted to know the profile of Singapore's non-resident population.
The non-resident population stood at 1.39 million as at June 2011.
The second largest group is made up of employment pass holders, who are foreign professionals working in managerial, executive or specialised jobs (12 per cent) as well as dependents of Singapore citizens, permanent residents and work pass holders, who are holders of dependent passes and long term visit passes. (14 per cent)
Together, they make up 26 per cent of the non-resident population.
Almost all non-residents come from Asian (47 per cent) or South East Asian (46 per cent) countries.
About 60 per cent of PRs come from South East Asia.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.