Parents, not enrichment centres, are key to result

990 Posts 93 Posters 215.8k Views 1 Watching
      hquek

PiggyLalala:
      Btw why the kids all so guai, go to tuition so willingly. Mine made a big fuss when i signed him up for one.

Started DS on Maths this year. He was very resistant. After first lesson, ok liao, now he wants to continues.

beanbear

mamemo:
        beanbear:

[quote=\"blessed777\"]
        are they going to be dependent on tuitions too when thry r in secondary ? Isn't ability to learn independently is more important than scoring high.. :?

This dependence on tuition will extend even to University. I've read in the papers before that some students continue to ask their peers to give them tuition in university. I wonder how they'll be able to function when they go out to work after being so dependent on tuition all their

lives. They will be at work holding a crutch and looking for colleagues to give them answers.

hmmm, maybe those of us who encourage our kids to be independent will be doing our children a favour because surviving school exams is really a very small part of their lives. What kind of adults are we really developing our children into?

Boss say, \" do this\". The staff say, wait I go ask my tuition teacher.
        End up, boss feel that foreigners can do the job more independently, end up the staff get the sack... Hmmm.... Does this link to no future for our kids ?[/quote]That's why I'm determined that my children will grow up to be independent thinkers, resilient, have convictions about what's right & wrong, have an inquiring mind, have global perspective and have a thirst for learning. I want them to grow up being able to thrive in any condition, not just Singapore.

I remembered my childhood as one where I didn't thrive in the Singapore education system and really wondering whether I could have a bright future, almost resigned myself after I did my A levels that I'm destined for some clerical job...lo and behold, I actually surpassed my own expectations and went on to University... still felt stifled in the NUS education....decided to go trekking in Nepal,backpacking in Europe & Japan, much to the horrors of my very conservative, overly protective parents. My parents were literally shocked when I told them I was travelling alone for 5 weeks in Japan. Boy, all those travels really opened my eyes and nurtured my resilience & determination because I lived on very little each day.

Thinking back now...I think I felt so stifled by the SIngapore Education that I was just dying to see the world to get a better perspective. These travels did much good for me as I could hold conversations about what I observed about people, culture, etc with confidence.

Formal education really has many limitations. Our education of LIfe itself must come from other avenues and if we think we can get that through couch-potato tv-watching and tuition, we are a sorry lot of people. FTs come from much larger countries and just travelling in their own country alone would have given them a broader education.

Fat Mama

PiggyLalala:
          Fat Mama:

The kids with most tuitions are the top kids and not the kids at the bottom that lack confidence. I think probably they need tuition to boost their scores and remain at the top.

DD's teachers are also among the best P6 teachers and very passionate too. They are just KS lah.

Agreed.. Mostly are just ks. Must teach the kids and parents to be less ks. Parents should have more faith in the child and teachers. I am against sending kids to tuitions for all subjects. Cannot be so suay.. all the teachers also no good. Btw why the kids all so guai, go to tuition so willingly. Mine made a big fuss when i signed him up for one.

My friend's DD loves attending tuitions and she is the one to ask for tuition.
          She will find out which tuition centre the top pupil for the particular subject attends and will insist to enrol in the same centre. She has 6 tuitions.

PiggyLalala:

Btw why the kids all so guai, go to tuition so willingly. Mine made a big fuss when i signed him up for one.

Started DS on Maths this year. He was very resistant. After first lesson, ok liao, now he wants to continues.

Started my son on Math last June...he is ok. In fact, he doesn't mind having tuition everyday...but he doesn't want to go to school.

• Z Offline
              zeemimi

blessed777:

:siao: :siao: :siao: :siao: :siao:

are they going to be dependent on tuitions too when thry r in secondary ? Isn't ability to learn independently is more important than scoring high.. :?
              u will be surprise. Tuition for secondary sch students is also thriving. Even ip students go for tuition.

Kids have tuition in primary school bcos teachers are not helping kids to pass exams…what about sec school then ? With 10 subjects and 2 compulsory CCAs, how to have tuition ? How will kids find time to rest ? I know my worry now is on PSLE but next year how ???

• Z Offline
                  zeemimi

PiggyLalala:

my ds also. initially resistant but now willingly go. why? because he saw RESULTS. just like what someone mentioned in an earlier post, the things taught at tuition helped.

we should just sack most of our sch teachers because they ain't doing their job properly. maybe it is also due to the class size of 40.

zeemimi:

my ds also. initially resistant but now willingly go. why? because he saw RESULTS. just like what someone mentioned in an earlier post, the things taught at tuition helped.

we should just sack most of our sch teachers because they ain't doing their job properly. maybe it is also due to the class size of 40.
                    Yes, kids ultimately know who are the ones who can help them score and do well...which is why they don't resist tuition after the CA/SA. Our school teachers don't even teach enough to pass...what are they there for ? P5 is a killer year for all kids.

Chenonceau

zeemimi:

[quote=\"PiggyLalala\"]Btw why the kids all so guai, go to tuition so willingly. Mine made a big fuss when i signed him up for one.

my ds also. initially resistant but now willingly go. why? because he saw RESULTS. just like what someone mentioned in an earlier post, the things taught at tuition helped.[/quote]Yes... they do help. My DS has no tuition but I need to source for notes from different schools, as well as resources from Amazon ... He also uses his sister's old secondary school textbooks, as well as one of her old Sec 3 writing assessment book... plus materials from China. I had to be resourceful to go all over to find notes that he could study on his own.

Otherwise I think the only other way is to give him tuition to make up for what the school either does not teach or does not reinforce.

With a lot of resourcefulness on my part... and time investment, we have managed to avoid tuition.

Champion

zeemimi:

:offtopic: but I have actually heard that one of the school that produced top PSLE scholar last year has a class size of 45 students in the P4 top class this year! :yikes:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 77 / 99