Parents, not enrichment centres, are key to result

990 Posts 93 Posters 222.1k Views 1 Watching
      larkspur

My p1 girl is telling me about her classmates all having extra classes and tution. She proceeds to tell me that one top girl in her class having 8 enrichments per week : dancing, ice skating, roller blading, drawing, maths enrichment ,piano, english enrichment, chinese enrichment :yikes:

ya plus a lot assessment books to complete every night. My girl is saying her classmate complains to her that if she never finishes the assessment books, her mummy will scold her. So 8 enrichments + assessment books at night , so far what i understand from my girl is that her classmates gets full marks for Maths and english test and A grade for art(which my girl is complaining why she keep getting B and must be because i never send her for art class :skeptical: )

Rich parent that wan, larkspur! :yikes:

KSP

Having the Rich factor is not enough. Some rich also take it easy. They must have the KS factor too.

• Z Offline
            zeemimi

laughingcat:
            pinball:

[quote=\"mamemo\"]Maybe we should change the title to 'tuition teachers, not school teachers are key to result'

But a lot of these tution teachers used to be school teachers so why suddenly they know to teach hor?

Because they have more spare time to relook at different teaching strategies/ methodology.[/quote]I think the smaller class size in a tuition class also helps a lot.

larkspur

KSP:

Having the Rich factor is not enough. Some rich also take it easy. They must have the KS factor too.

suspect only child loh so can pour in all resources into 1. cos my best fren used to pour all her monthly income for her first born. $2k to $3k for enrichments for her first born until the second one comes along, she has to cut some enrichments for first born to channel into second one. at least paid off cos her first born got into GEP class. my fren is those parent who worked until midnight during weekdays and have no time to coach her son so she is leaving everything to enrichment teachers to teach

KSP

larkspur:
                KSP:

[quote=\"buds\"]Rich parent that wan, larkspur! :yikes:

suspect only child loh so can pour in all resources into 1. cos my best fren used to pour all her monthly income for her first born. $2k to $3k for enrichments for her first born until the second one comes along, she has to cut some enrichments for first born to channel into second one. at least paid off cos her first born got into GEP class. my fren is those parent who worked until midnight during weekdays and have no time to coach her son so she is leaving everything to enrichment teachers to teach[/quote]Another reason could be if the child can get scholar then she can save the uni fee later on. It is whether she spend the money now or later. Of course not everyone is as lucky as your friend.

BeContented

KSP:

But is that what you want for your child?

If not, those people can do what they want but just dun complain/rant about how kids no time, parents no money etc. Simple logic, they made the choice.
                  My kids had little enrichment (only piano & CL) when lower Pri, now they have all the 4 subjects even tho their results are fine. (some slide & tuition pull them back, so I continued). Now I dare not 大声 cos I had made the choice. :censored:

Funny lar u, Be Contented! :rotflmao:

You shud've followed your nick back then huh?
                    Beeee contented? šŸ˜‰

My DD1 still has violin till today. DD2 bailed out on piano within a year, but now seems that the interest had returned plus her fingers are now longer. šŸ˜‚! So will see if can make the time and $ for her to resume. Aesthetic enrichment can be a good form of de-stress.

I dare not be in the same room as DD1 when she's destressing from homework n decides to take it out with a few tunes on her violin! :yikes:

But she feels better thereafter. šŸ˜‰

hokkiengirl

Relevant or not, I just hv one thing to say...

:goodpost:

Then again like many here we hold restraint on
                      the notion of never say never... especially since
                      in your case now, neither of ur two boys hv
                      taken the 1st step into formal primary sch
                      education....... yet. :evil:

Naaahhh.. šŸ˜† I'm just frightening u. šŸ˜‰

PS. For a hokkien babe, your England iser veries goods arh. :salute:
                      (Pardon the poor pronunciation, side effect from watching Lulu on The Noose.)

Eh, eh, just because I got Hokkien pride don't mean that my England not powderful, k? šŸ˜‰ Huat ah!!!!

Actually, First Son is in primary school. I survived one year of writing beautiful speeches in English and Chinese for him for Show and Tell. This year, I told him to do it himself, with minor editing from me. I mean, I can't be crafting his presentations to his boss next time, can I? Or, hey, maybe there's an untapped market out there! :evil:

There's a Learning Lab near where I live. I hope I won't ever have to send my kids there. But like you say, never say never!

concern2

larkspur:
                        KSP:

[quote=\"buds\"]Rich parent that wan, larkspur! :yikes:

suspect only child loh so can pour in all resources into 1. cos my best fren used to pour all her monthly income for her first born. $2k to $3k for enrichments for her first born until the second one comes along, she has to cut some enrichments for first born to channel into second one. at least paid off cos her first born got into GEP class. my fren is those parent who worked until midnight during weekdays and have no time to coach her son so she is leaving everything to enrichment teachers to teach[/quote]One child most likely - or logistics of bringing multiple kids here n there will also be a headache.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 84 / 99

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies