Why not give the S$1.1billion to improve school bus instead
Feb 17 (Reuters) - Singapore, beset by worsening traffic jams, plans to spend heavily to improve bus service.
The Singapore government will spend S$1.1 billion ($869 million)to help bus operators increase the size of their fleets as part of measures to improve public transport, Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam said in a budget speech on Friday.
Singapore will provide funding for 550 buses, while public bus operators will add another 250 buses over the next five years, he said.
The funds set aside by the government will also help cover the running costs of the buses for 10 years, he said.
ComfortDelGro Corp Ltd and SMRT Corp Ltd operate public buses in Singapore. ($1 = 1.2659 Singapore dollars) (Reporting by Eveline Danubrata) -
This idea, I like!
:dancing:
I hope more students would take the school bus.
I hope school bus fare would be subsidized.
I hope every child gets a proper seat which comes fitted with seat belt.
I hope there is provision to send students home after CCA. -
the public bus companies are listed companies earning huge profits
each time the PTC approve their request for bus fare increase being "justified" by higher operating cost – and yet now the gov’t decide to throw S$1.1 billion of our money to them, so that they can fleece us more through fare increase as justified by EVEN higher cost as a result of the fleet increase initiated and paid by the gov’t ?
I don’t see the logic to the S$1.1 billion question. Their shareholders should foot the bill, not tax payers
The S$1.1billion could have been used to fund school buses -
Great idea, vks2010. :goodpost:
Exactly!the public bus companies are listed companies earning huge profits
each time the PTC approve their request for bus fare increase being \"justified\" by higher operating cost -- and yet now the gov't decide to throw S$1.1 billion of our money to them, so that they can fleece us more through fare increase as justified by EVEN higher cost as a result of the fleet increase initiated and paid by the gov't ?
I don't see the logic to the S$1.1 billion question. Their shareholders should foot the bill, not tax payers -
There are many different areas where this huge taxpayers’ money could be better used.
Giving it to listed profit oriented and profit making companies is definitely NOT one of them. -
No. School buses are private operators too.
The S$1.1billion could have been used to fund school buses
Instead, get SBStransit to run school bus services at subsidized rates better.. :evil: :evil: -
No. School buses are private operators too.verykiasu2010:
The S$1.1billion could have been used to fund school buses
Instead, get SBStransit to run school bus services at subsidized rates better.. :evil: :evil:
but $S1.1b a lot of money leh. I think can give free school bus rides till the next GE lah. -
gahmen
where they can give 1.1. billion to listed company to buy more bus
but when you want them to subsidize medical care more they dowan -
Joule:
that wan can go JB ..... buses, i guess, cannot ? :evil: :evil: :evil:gahmen
where they can give 1.1. billion to listed company to buy more bus
but when you want them to subsidize medical care more they dowan
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.