Parents, not enrichment centres, are key to result

990 Posts 93 Posters 215.1k Views 1 Watching
    • O Offline
      Oppsgal

too much emphasis on what others think of myself. \"oh you are sahm, why your child's result like that?? why you never do this and this and this for your child? \" those kinda remarks.

big mistake cos it resulted in pushing dd too hard in getting better grades. too many out of school classes. too many assessment books.

too many unnecessary chit chats with other sahms which just added stress to a already kancheong sahm.

learnt my lesson.
      :yikes: So stress to be SAHM. SAHM means kids' results must be very good?
      :siao:

• O Offline
        Oppsgal

too many unnecessary chit chats with other sahms which just added stress to a already kancheong sahm.

learnt my lesson.

Those women who make sickening comments should be avoided. I had bad experience of talking to women who are like this...some are FTWM, the others are SAHMs.

I am more kancheong than kiasu. As SAHM, we know our kids better than anyone...exams are getting tougher every year. The standard is also brought lower too. Dont allow such people to affect you...it's not worth it.
        Jia you. :rahrah:

Each kid has a different capability. Not all the same.

Next time will keep a secret on the kid's results.

• 1 Offline
          1amber

Oppsgal:

too much emphasis on what others think of myself. \"oh you are sahm, why your child's result like that?? why you never do this and this and this for your child? \" those kinda remarks.

big mistake cos it resulted in pushing dd too hard in getting better grades. too many out of school classes. too many assessment books.

learnt my lesson.

:yikes: So stress to be SAHM. SAHM means kids' results must be very good?
          :siao:

That's right! To equate good results to SAHM is belittling the highest calling of motherhood. :hi5:

• 1 Offline
            1amber

LOLMum,

Next time you hear those comments just ask them to go KKH and see those mums looking after young sick kids who had to go through brain surgery, heart surgery, all kinds of health problems. There are so many mothers who have be full time care giver to these kids who do not even have a chance to go to school.

I am happy just to see my kid strong and healthy. To be able to kiss her and say "I love you n watch her sleepy face." Good results are ancillary.

There is more to parenting then simply ensuring your kid gets good scores.

blessed777

1amber:
              LOLMum,

Next time you hear those comments just ask them to go KKH and see those mums looking after young sick kids who had to go through brain surgery, heart surgery, all kinds of health problems. There are so many mothers who have be full time care giver to these kids who do not even have a chance to go to school.

I am happy just to see my kid strong and healthy. To be able to kiss her and say \"I love you n watch her sleepy face.\" Good results are ancillary.

:goodpost:

• laughingcatL Offline
                laughingcat

learnt my lesson.
                Aiyoh! Sickening on such comments. :nunchuk: Next time do choose wisely on whom to interact, because sometime chit chat is a good form of venting and sometime can share/exchange vital information.

Mine, i have another set of problem that is my MIL who keeps pestering you to teach/tutor other nieces and nephews. Worse, she just bring the nieces/ nephews to your home and then remarked \"shen shen is teaching you this xxx, you better pay attention eh\". What can i say? 🤷 I have totally no ME time liao. :faint:

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
                  PiggyLalala

laughingcat:

learnt my lesson.

Aiyoh! Sickening on such comments. :nunchuk: Next time do choose wisely on whom to interact, because sometime chit chat is a good form of venting and sometime can share/exchange vital information.

Mine, i have another set of problem that is my MIL who keeps pestering you to teach/tutor other nieces and nephews. Worse, she just bring the nieces/ nephews to your home and then remarked \"shen shen is teaching you this xxx, you better pay attention eh\". What can i say? 🤷 I have totally no ME time liao. :faint:

You must be quite good in yr coaching. Maybe u can consider giving tuition and earn some :moneyflies: šŸ™‚

autumnbronze

1amber:
                    LOLMum,

I am happy just to see my kid strong and healthy. To be able to kiss her and say \"I love you n watch her sleepy face.\" Good results are ancillary.

:goodpost:

I especially like the last statement :rahrah:

• laughingcatL Offline
                      laughingcat

I don't mind sharing with mummies on the strategies, as i love to learn new things. I love maths and science. But i am very strict during teaching and my kids know it and they don't play around during teaching.

But then hor.....i am very impatient and i expects alot too. With my such character, really cannot coach for life. It really drains me and it added stress on myself. I totally can understand how P6 parents feel, even though my kids are not even P6 yet. Teaching for life is :siam:

laughingcat:
                        I don't mind sharing with mummies on the strategies, as i love to learn new things.

carry out a workshop to teach us parents how to teach ah? foc? heehee :rubhands:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 95 / 99