All Schools are GOOD Schools

942 Posts 120 Posters 220.8k Views 1 Watching
      Champion

In reality, a large proportion of parents (many here in this forum) are against tuition, and wouldn't spend on it if schools...

(1) had better textbooks
      (2) marked students' work more conscientiously
      (3) gave enough skills practice
      (4) shared their resources across the nation
      (1) had better textbooks
      This is a BIG concern! :skeptical: I wrote to DD1's subject teacher (SCIENCE) and then to the HOD and this is her reply to me,\" I understand your concern regarding MPAL Science textbooks. These textbooks are approved books by MOE, basically the textbooks cover the essential concepts pupils are expected to know for each theme and topic. The intention of having less written text in the textbooks is to allow pupils to learn Science in an inquiry way, thus in class, teachers do focus a lot on hands-on activities such as experiments conducted using the workbook.\" 🀷 🀷

I have my reservation regarding this - on one hand I have DD1's one subject T who marked their work consistently and even wrote remarks on the mistakes to hight light key words but on the other hand, there is this subject T who got the class to mark each other's work during supplementary lessons :slapshead:

regarding practices, I only seen past year school exam papers being dished out to the kids 7~10 days before the exam. While probably this happens only to my DD1's school but somehow the reason given for not enough skills practice is \"Oh, we have not enough period for this & that subject!\" 🀷

4) shared their resources across the nation
      Hahaha...for this happens...something or someone must start the ball rolling πŸ˜‰

Chenonceau

In reality, a large proportion of parents (many here in this forum) are against tuition, and wouldn't spend on it if schools...

(1) had better textbooks
        (4) shared their resources across the nation

(1) had better textbooks
        This is a BIG concern! :skeptical: I wrote to DD1's subject teacher (SCIENCE) and then to the HOD and this is her reply to me,\" I understand your concern regarding MPAL Science textbooks. These textbooks are approved books by MOE, basically the textbooks cover the essential concepts pupils are expected to know for each theme and topic. The intention of having less written text in the textbooks is to allow pupils to learn Science in an inquiry way, thus in class, teachers do focus a lot on hands-on activities such as experiments conducted using the workbook.\" 🀷 🀷

I have my reservation regarding this - on one hand I have DD1's one subject T who marked their work consistently and even wrote remarks on the mistakes to hight light key words but on the other hand, there is this subject T who got the class to mark each other's work during supplementary lessons :slapshead:

regarding practices, I only seen past year school exam papers being dished out to the kids 7~10 days before the exam. While probably this happens only to my DD1's school but somehow the reason given for not enough skills practice is \"Oh, we have not enough period for this & that subject!\" 🀷

4) shared their resources across the nation
        Hahaha...for this happens...something or someone must start the ball rolling πŸ˜‰

:goodpost:

Chenonceau

Strparent:
          This is becoming even more a WARPED society here, with freaking crezy parents like these, throwing this kind of money on 'enrichments'. There are far worthier causes they can contribute to in society.

As long as these brand schools and banding persist and becoming more emphasized, we will see more and more siao ppl joining in the kiasu bandwagon.
          we already have to bear high healthcare on our own, are we now trending towards footing high education cost as well ? sounds like passing the bucket down the chain, in a systematic manner. But if you have gullibles, ...........who to blame ? :siao:
          If it gets really bad, I will look for alternatives. Migration is one... another country where the syllabus is less difficult and achievements not so world class but allows my kid a fighting chance to survive by relying on himself. Learning self-reliance is far more important than mastering quantum physics at an early age.

Another option is homeschooling or international schools.

so if the school mark the work of this Sec 3 boy in a branded TOP Sec school and grade him an excellent high score, it is not fair to rest of the classmates ... because the work wasn't done by him, but by an expensive hired tutor at $200 / $250 per hour. Compared to his classmate who is honest have integrity, did everything on his own.

But then there is no way to check who actually did the work, since the work is brought back home to do. How to resolve this type of cheating case ?

REVOKE all the Pu Yi scholarship !!! :yikes:

Strparent

so if the school mark the work of this Sec 3 boy in a branded TOP Sec school and grade him a high score, it is not fair to rest of the classmates ... because the work wasn't done by him, but by an expensive hired tutor at $200 / $250 per hour. Compared to his classmate who is honest, did everything on his own.

But then there is no way to check who actually did the work, since the work is brought back home to do. How to resolve this type of cheating case ?
              imho, it doesn't matter what others do. There's no point comparing and feeling 'cheated' by all these incidents. As long as we teach our kids morally right and simply do the best of their own natural abilities, I am contented.

as Chen said earlier, the payback will/may come later..... either way. :oops:

• NebbermindN Offline
                Nebbermind

so if the school mark the work of this Sec 3 boy in a branded TOP Sec school and grade him a high score, it is not fair to rest of the classmates ... because the work wasn't done by him, but by an expensive hired tutor at $200 / $250 per hour. Compared to his classmate who is honest, did everything on his own.

Nebbermind lah!

They are only doing themselves a disservice coz when they r in the workforce, it'll be a different ballgame. Why let this bother us?

Chenonceau

Nebbermind lah!

They are only doing themselves a disservice coz when they r in the workforce, it'll be a different ballgame. Why let this bother us?

Wait till the Pu Yi scholars come back and start writing policy that affects your life.

LOLMum

hehehe, imagine the rich young kid bringing his assistant to work. πŸ˜‰

ζŽ’εœΊζ―”θ€ζΏε€§. hehehe

Chenonceau

My DD wanna know which Irene Tan and Pauline Soh...

(from here: http://www.edvantage.com.sg/edvantage/news/news/983628/Parent_pays_nearly_6_000_a_month_in_tuition_fees.html
                      and here:
                      http://www.tnp.sg/content/parents-why-so-kiasu)

... hires people to do homework. My DD likes to do homework and would very much like to do your child's homework... and get paid for it because I have stopped giving her pocket money.

Come to think of it... I have a PhD and I would like to do homework too.

limlim

Yalor.. then why you ban my ban.... :nunchuk: :evil:

btw, most are against enrichment centers.. not necessarily tuition.

private Tuition is necessary for those who really needs help.. affects the minority only..

enrichment/tuition centers, on the other hand, could have significant impact on the way the teachers teach.. if many students got enrichment, the class pace could be accelerated, and those who cannot catch up with the \"accelerated\" pace had to resort to enrichment classes.. and everyone suffers while the centers laughs all the way to the bank..

plus the consequence of lost of capable teaches who left the schools to teach elsewhere..

plus, conflict of interests if teachers moonlight....

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 35 / 95

Mumu73M
                        Mumu73