All Schools are GOOD Schools

942 Posts 120 Posters 221.7k Views 1 Watching
      KSP

KSP:

[quote=\"Strparent\"]though all these bonding talks is making me a bit excited :evil: , I just wish to deviate back to highlight this part of the said article. :oops:

http://i42.tinypic.com/10f5dv7.jpg\">

5 to 6yrs old ? spending like more than 2k monthly on tuition and preparations ??? All these money can be used to pay 2 units of 2-rm HDB flats liao lor 😉

sorry boy, the people laughing at the end will most likely not be Mrs Ho, it will be all the tutors and centres..... :faint:

this is only one of the classic examples of parents have time to make $ but no time to teach.... probably in her mind is, \"boy, this is the best i can do coz i can't sacrifice my career for you\".

may be more like 'I catch no ball how to help you' ...... 'and since I can't help you, I better make more money so that I can afford to get help for you .......else double jeopardy '[/quote]if the best tuitions still can't help them, at least she has earned enough $ to send her children overseas :rahrah: win-win :celebrate:

worst case if she quit and stay at home to teach but then still screw up, it will be a lose-lose 😢

i think u are right, it is easier to make $ than to teach primary sch kids... 😂 especially our own children.... :stupid: can vomit blood one ok :slapshead:

Chenonceau

kiddo:

They no need to wait till the end to laugh. Now already laughing to the bank...Anyway...
        The system must stop testing beyond what it can teach.
        The system must stop reinforcing such parents' efforts by giving their kids differentiated grades.

The system must teach better and prevent things like this...
        Otherwise, the child who has no money for enrichment stands little chance.

Thks Chenonceau 💋 The system is enlarging the gulf between the \"have\" and \"have-nots\" :gloomy:

Exactly!

That is why I am making so much noise. What is happening in housing, healthcare and transport is also happening in education. I am now sensitive to it because I have been PERSONALLY teaching my son the past 12 months.

I know what the school DOES NOT teach but DOES test. Most parents are blissfully unaware.

Also kids dunno how to defend themselves. If Teachers tell parents that the kid is slow, what can the kid say? You think Teachers will tell parents that the child did badly because they didn't teach properly? You think schools and MOE will admit their Teachers teach poorly because they lack materials and time to handle so many students ... and a skills heavy syllabus?

Maxine

Wow - Strparent, thanks for the article. I didnt think such extremist parents really exist. Cant imagine how stressed the kids would be. My DH already disallows tuition on Sundays saying its a day of rest for the kids and family.

toddles

there is a need to separate tuition from enrichment classes

swimming, ballet, piano, violin, math olympiad, learning ahead of the cohort etc etc is enrichment

catching up with school curriculum or to perfect the scores in it, is tuition
            thought the way it's commonly used now is:

tuition = remedial
            enrichment = must pass test to get into \"enrichment\" centre

\"learning ahead of cohort\" and \"perfect the scores within sch curriculum\" rather similar no?

guess ultimately, the enrichment centre owners are the ones that are confirmed getting ENRICHED.

concern2

Have you guys read the article about how words in a sentence can be spelt wrongly, and you could still make sense of the sentence because of perception? I have to say your company name is really an eyesore.. 🦆 But I have a consolation for you: at one glance, I only saw the word 'kudohomework'. 😉

:razz: :rant: :nunchuk: I love emoticons. :love:

Chenonceau

concern2, may I please have the link to the article on Singaporeans’ poor English again?

Chenonceau

toddles:

there is a need to separate tuition from enrichment classes

swimming, ballet, piano, violin, math olympiad, learning ahead of the cohort etc etc is enrichment

catching up with school curriculum or to perfect the scores in it, is tuition

thought the way it's commonly used now is:

tuition = remedial
                  enrichment = must pass test to get into \"enrichment\" centre

\"learning ahead of cohort\" and \"perfect the scores within sch curriculum\" rather similar no?

guess ultimately, the enrichment centre owners are the ones that are confirmed getting ENRICHED.

Just stop testing stuff that enrichment centres have taught but schools have not. We can't stop people from going to enrichment... ballet, archery blah blah... if my child were a Math genius, I would also enrich him...

BUT

I dun expect his enrichment material to be tested in school. His enrichment should just be for fun. Some kids just wanna be normal... the way the train is going, everyone is forced to enrich. Why is the system trying so hard to keep up with enriched kids? Let them pull ahead! Let them have fun!

MOE just wants to be involved in the fantabulous successes of prodigies without understanding that its major focus should be on the masses and how well they do. No international awards there you see.

concern2

Has anyone read this article from Today?

Skills imbalance due to Education System
                    Letter from Gerrard Ball 04:46 AM Mar 03, 2012

THE commentary \"China should take a lesson in US creativity\" (Feb 15) applies to the Singapore education system, too.

First and foremost, international companies based in Singapore want managers who can communicate effectively in English, solve problems and initiate creative ideas.

These are prerequisites for every international business.

Regrettably, the education system here does not provide these three skills to the degree that international employers require.

That is why expatriates make up the lion's share of senior management positions at multi-national companies and will do so until the local education system is changed.

The influx of overseas talent to fill the skills gap left by an education system that is churning out the wrong type of employee has driven up the cost of living, and senior overseas managers earn three to five times more than locals in junior positions.

It does not appear that this skills imbalance is being addressed.

(source: http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC120303-0000029/Skills-imbalance-due-to-education-system)
                    This article?

sean wife

Strparent:
                      though all these bonding talks is making me a bit excited :evil: , I just wish to deviate back to highlight this part of the said article. :oops:

http://i42.tinypic.com/10f5dv7.jpg\">

5 to 6yrs old ? spending like more than 2k monthly on tuition and preparations ??? All these money can be used to pay 2 units of 2-rm HDB flats liao lor 😉

sorry boy, the people laughing at the end will most likely not be Mrs Ho, it will be all the tutors and centres..... :faint:

In this Kiasu forum, we seem to be hearing a lot of voices from the not-so-kiasu parents i.e. those who think that it is torturous and crazy to have multiple tuitions etc etc…what about those real kiasu parents whom we read about in these newspaper reports? Dun dare to voice out to defend themselves maybe? So in a way, they also think it is wrong/crazy?

I also feel that such reports will simply increase the awareness of more people to such practices/services, and thus making more parents jumping on the same bandwagon (especially if desperate enough). Such is the influence of media and I do not believe that MOE or the government is not aware or have not considered the repercussion of this indirect ‘ advertising’ of such practices. So maybe they are trying to encourage rather than to discourage the trend of seeking more external help earlier?

Chenonceau

This article?
                        Thanks much much...

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 41 / 95