Maid to get weekly rest days

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    482 Posts 97 Posters 226.6k Views 1 Watching
      HAPPYH

[quote=\"LOLMum\"]What about public holidays?

Is that day off or what?

Good question. It wasn't stated so assume public holiday is not official day off?

Currently I give my maids days off on Christmas and Easter etc as they're Catholic. And I give them some money to go have lunch and fun with their friends. So they get a day off plus money. Wah not bad hor?

jtoh, can I apply to be your maid ?

I promise not to have hand phone, not to have boy friend, not to bring them back to your house,

I promise to be good good. Can ?[/quote] 😆

nms1

newkeynesian:
        You mean to pay her a flat wage that encompasses the off days? What is the market rate currently? As suggested by someone earlier, $430+ $80?

Thanks.
        Yes, that's what I will probably do if she never wants to take the 4 Sundays. Most of her friends are getting $450 at the moment so we will probably end up giving $480; I don't know yet.

If it's a renewal we won't be going through the agency so it doesn't have to be formalised although I guess if you are concerned about her trying to say later that you don't pay her for her Sundays then it might be better to sign a contract that breaks it down.

nms1

OK, so this is interesting...

According to the press release on the MOM website \"MOM’s approach recognises that some employers may have genuine difficulties giving FDWs a weekly rest day, and that some FDWs may prefer the option to work and earn more by forgoing their rest days.\"

But the Annex document on the website gives no mention of the case where the FDW requests not to work. It just says \"All FDWs are entitled to one rest day every week. Employers and their FDW will be given flexibility to mutually agree on which day of the week the rest day falls.
          b. If the employer would like his FDW to work on her rest day, he should come to a mutual agreement with the FDW on the number of rest days to forgo each month. For each rest day forgone, the FDW shall be compensated with at least one day’s wageon top of her monthly salary;\"

I think this is something that MOM needs to clear up and the agencies need to manage the expectations of the maids.

jtoh

[quote=\"LOLMum\"]What about public holidays?

Is that day off or what?

Good question. It wasn't stated so assume public holiday is not official day off?

Currently I give my maids days off on Christmas and Easter etc as they're Catholic. And I give them some money to go have lunch and fun with their friends. So they get a day off plus money. Wah not bad hor?

I promise not to have hand phone, not to have boy friend, not to bring them back to your house,

I promise to be good good. Can ?[/quote] :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: I can't afford to pay your high salary!!! :rotflmao:

lwm99

For non-FDW employees, when we work 6 days a week, say 9-6 each day, when we knock off at 6pm on Saturday, we only start work again at 9am on Monday.

For the FDW weekly rest day, say taking Thursday as their rest day as an example. Do they:
              1. Stop work on Wednesday night, and start work again on Friday morning?
              2. Stop work on Wednesday night, and start work again on Thursday night?
              3. Stop work on Thursday morning, and start work again on Thursday night?

Many employers choose 3, which effectively only gives the FDW 12 hours or less rest time, instead of a "day".

Do MOM provide any "definition" on the rest day, or up to the employers to interpret?

jtoh

daranic:
                happy to be mum:

I am okay to give every Sundays off as I have given my previous maid that and PH too...but with this new rulings, there will be loopholes when not good maids will be asking for compensation when they \"purposely\" don't want to go out on their days off. To me, days off = not at the place of work, that is your home. You think maid will feel comfortable to have days off at your home, during nothing and you cook and wash up?

I have this evil idea. :evil:

Cos of cost, I give her weekly off. If she doesn't want to go out so as not to spend $, then fine, stay at home and do nothing. But cos she stays home to eat, use water, electricity, my service to wash her dishes. Then please pay me for that. Fair?

Everything MOM works out is in favour for the maid. When does MOM consider for us employers!!!!!

In Hongkong, on their days off the maids are not welcome around the employers' house. What the maids do is they rent rooms for the day in some hostel just for maids and they spend their rest day there.

jtoh

:yikes: :idea: Please submit your cv to jtoh.
                  Verykiasu2010.....
                  I promise to be good good. Can ?
                  So far, you have not proven to be good good in KSP.com leh, so how to trust you? 😉

jtoh

oh no! employers better get ready for another bout of sudden illness/accident/death in the maid's family come close to Jan 2013.

(no offense to the real cases but I'm that cynical)
                    My ex-maid's father, mother, grandmother all died within the span of 6 months. Her dd and son were also hospitalized. So need to either borrow money, get an advance or go home. :faint:

• JGMumJ Offline
                      JGMum

znzyzyzx:
                      Eh.. JB ?
                      zmonster1969:

[quote=\"JGMum\"]
                      No, no, taxpayers' money should always go towards looking after our own Singapore citizens FIRST.
                      I have no objection to having social amenities, support services, etc for foreign workers (including maids). But I too, do not think that MOM (or any gahmen ministry for that matter) should be the one to address this issue.
                      May I suggest that the various foreign worker advocacy groups build the amenities, organise and fund these activities and support services themselves. They seem to be really influential (to push through a policy with MOM this time), so they should have no problems raising the funds without asking for a slice of the pie from our limited national budget.

Where to build these amenities? Orchard Road? Our void decks?
                      Already a teeny group of pple is up in arms over studio apts and eldercare centers being built near their homes. There will be another outcry if they find their common space being invaded by the maids.

[/quote]Hmm...I was actually thinking of some far far place, like an off-shore island? But, yes, JB is even better. 😄

• JGMumJ Offline
                        JGMum

znzyzyzx:

[quote=\"hquek\"]oh no! employers better get ready for another bout of sudden illness/accident/death in the maid's family come close to Jan 2013.

(no offense to the real cases but I'm that cynical)

And expect more cases of geylang murder cum suiside case after 2013. How ironic that , the change in maid policy and the maid being murdered by her bf appearred in the newspaper on the same day. ST should have put them side by side.

the NGO pushing singapore government to legislate the maid off days hallucinate that if the maids have no off days, they are being chained in cage in the employers' backyard or store room, with no food no light no water no pee nothing ........

as for the Geylang murdered maid ..... another case came to mind too - the one at Queensway / Holland new condo near completion .... all these involve maids with too much freedom unfortunately mixed up with wrong companies[/quote]A few years ago, I hired a maid (who has since gone home) who went out on a drinking session with her friends during her off-day (came back very late smelling strongly of alcohol). She told me that the reason why she was late was because one of her friends went overboard, and passed out from too much alcohol. In the end, the group had to send her to the hospital for medical treatment as she had alcohol poisoning. Her poor employer had to foot all the medical bills (understandably she must be hopping mad).

I am just wondering, for the Geylang murder case, would the employer be responsible for the cremation/repatriation of remains, etc. too? If so, why should that be the case? I believe that even workman compensation is given out if the employee suffers injury or death during work.
                        But off-day is not work, right? What happens if the maid suffers injury or death during her off-day? It is especially infuriating if it is due to her own hanky-panky. Now with more off-days, this would be more of a concern right?
                        I mean, would you go for a late night alcohol bingeing session, end up in hospital, late for work the next day, and have the cheek to present your boss with the medical bill??

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 7 / 49

Jennifer0903J
                        Jennifer0903