MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni

2.0k Posts 174 Posters 462.2k Views 1 Watching

ho ho ho ho ho :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

finding all kinds of weird excuses !

• laughingcatL Offline
        laughingcat

At the end of the day, i still can’t get it why not do away with phase 2B. Between alumni and phase 2B , alumni has the genuine community bonding to the school. There is "transactional element" in PV (doing something for some gain). GRL - a political association. All these should be removed. There you go, you have more vacancy.

• phankaoP Offline
          phankao

laughingcat:
          At the end of the day, i still can't get it why not do away with phase 2B. Between alumni and phase 2B , alumni has the genuine community bonding to the school. There is \"transactional element\" in PV (doing something for some gain). GRL - a political association. All these should be removed. There you go, you have more vacancy.

Church members have community bonding to the school too.

• laughingcatL Offline
            laughingcat

laughingcat:

At the end of the day, i still can't get it why not do away with phase 2B. Between alumni and phase 2B , alumni has the genuine community bonding to the school. There is \"transactional element\" in PV (doing something for some gain). GRL - a political association. All these should be removed. There you go, you have more vacancy.

Agreed. I am also one of them. That is why never touch on religion. πŸ˜‰

vicki

laughingcat:

Yes I agree. Btw, without the church/clan, there won't be the school n hence no 2A members. How come now we forget the roots liao?

N it is precisely of this, I feel 2A shd be categorized in the same manner as 2B. Give priority but 'limit' it.

dorisp

dorisp:

let's invite all ministers of Parliament to contribute to this forum, esp.those stay > 2km.

let's hear your view.

esp. Ministers (current, ex, retired) who are alumni from Nanyang family, ACS Barker, ACS Junior, Rosyth, Henry Park, Catholic High, Nan Hua, Tao Nan, St Hilda, RGPS, SCGS, etc. or any Minister from SAP schools, Catholic family, Methodist family, Anglican family, Buddhist family, Hokkien Clan Huay Kuan related family, other religious group family, other family, etc.

What is the underlying message? πŸ†’

It would be nice to know what is the underlying message and what is it trying to imply.

Lyddon

IDad:

Exactly! I'm quite amazed how those parents within phase 2A can somehow come out with all sort of skewed reasoning just so that they protect the vacancies in this phase.
                  Skewed reasoning?
                  MOE certainly values the Alumni by giving it due recognition and priority, since 1998. Is our MOE explanation and rationale is skewed as well?
                  laughingcat:
                  To reiterate the importance of alumni as quoted by our Ministry.

http://www.moe.gov.sg/media/speeches/1998/080198.htm
                  \"3 A strong bond between the community and schools is beneficial as it will generate valuable synergy. Such a strong bond will make the principals and teachers in our schools feel that they have a direct responsibility towards the community from which the children in their schools are drawn. It will also encourage the community, the parents and school alumni to feel that it is their duty and obligation to put in time, energy and effort to help make the schools that serve their community better.

6 The Ministry is looking for ways to strengthen the bonds between the community and our schools. We will encourage the formation of alumni associations for our schools and welcome the alumni to play an active role in contributing to and improving the schools. To encourage the formation of alumni associations for primary schools, my Ministry will be giving members of the alumni association of a primary school higher priority for registration of their children in that school. Likewise, in recognition of their role and contributions, members of the SACs and SMCs of primary schools will also be given similar higher priority.\"

http://www.moe.gov.sg/media/press/1998/pr06097.htm

• laughingcatL Offline
                    laughingcat

dorisp:
                    dorisp:

[quote=\"phtthp\"]let's invite all ministers of Parliament to contribute to this forum, esp.those stay > 2km.

let's hear your view.

esp. Ministers (current, ex, retired) who are alumni from Nanyang family, ACS Barker, ACS Junior, Rosyth, Henry Park, Catholic High, Nan Hua, Tao Nan, St Hilda, RGPS, SCGS, etc. or any Minister from SAP schools, Catholic family, Methodist family, Anglican family, Buddhist family, Hokkien Clan Huay Kuan related family, other religious group family, other family, etc.

What is the underlying message? πŸ†’

It would be nice to know what is the underlying message and what is it trying to imply.[/quote]Perhaps from this bah.

\"Just like MM Lee Kuan Yew mentioned at a public event that he sent his 3 children : Prime Minister BG Lee Hsien Loong, former SingTel CEO BG Lee Hsien Yang and Dr Lee Wei Ling to Nanyang Primary School. And that five out of his seven grandchildren also went to Nanyang Primary School.
                    He likes the school's values and way of teaching young kids.\"

Also the longkang minister's youngest son will be registering his son to P1 this year also bah.

Daddy D

Back in 1998, don't have so many branded schs, PRs, landed properties, kiasu parents, etc....

倩下ε€ͺεΉ³

Daddy D

Curious... :?

Anyone knows why MM Lee sent his kids to Nanyang Pri, and not Telok Kurau Pri, where he studied?

Some alumni(s) are better than others? That's where we are now...
                        πŸ¦† :siam:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 80 / 197