Maid to get weekly rest days
peapot:
:shock:
How can heavily pregnant woman work as a maid? It's different from our office work leh. We sit in the office, out only for lunch. For maid they have to help carry heavy grocery bags, scrub toilet, run after children etc. How does Hong kong people cope with that?
I don't know how they cope but they either have to deal with it as it is an offence to dismiss them when they are pregnant. Theoretically if they don't have any medical problems with the pregnancy they can carry on doing most things - I did before my daughter was born. -
Think of it. In Hongkong if the maid pregnat, do employer has to pay for her hospital bill and gynae???? :nailbite:
Read in today's ST forum that our cost of employing maid is higher compared to other countries (cos' of the levy)... Making maid's salary lower.
Thus this move to make SG a more attractive place to work for domestic workers, doesn't stand?
Agree?
Other countries need to pay maid levy too? Or only SG?
How does MOM value-add to this maid hiring process, since we pay MOM?
Btw, I don't have maid now... Not sure in future... Just kaypo only...
:razz: -
Please lah, in HK the maids have to fork out a tidy sum to just to GO there and work. You think they want to play play? My ex maid is there now. She thought of the high pay and more freedom. So she went. Now she is regretting but cannot quit until she finishes her contract. Why? Because she has mortgaged her family farm to work in HK.
Do you think she would like to play around and get pregnant? -
1amber:
Please lah, in HK the maids have to fork out a tidy sum to just to GO there and work. You think they want to play play? My ex maid is there now. She thought of the high pay and more freedom. So she went. Now she is regretting but cannot quit until she finishes her contract. Why? Because she has mortgaged her family farm to work in HK.
Do you think she would like to play around and get pregnant?
Also, I understand in HK, the maid are supposedly required to provide for their own lodgings with their own money. Most stay with the employer though as the employer finds it more convenience. -
hong kong is hong kong, though our govt used this as comparison, we in singapore very different lah.
in hong kong, govt closes both eyes to many things.
here govt only closes eyes when it comes to employer’s welfare. we are less important than FT maids. -
Haiz… actually we cry father cry mother here also no use. I believe next year, most of the Singapore employer will get use to the weekly off lah. Because it become a trend liao. If you don’t follow you wouldn’t be able to get a maid.
Just like the $450 salary, that time we also scream here scream there. Now? Majority of them are paying their maid this salary liao. Anything change? Nope!!! Don’t pay? Maid want to change employer. -
ayyah, today my maid request to my hubby to increase her salary by $50. She must have realized that since now the weekly 4-days off is mandatory, she is entitled to more salary (bcoz she does not want to go on weekly off’s).
wonder if she know that the rule is applicable for new maid contracts and not to the existing one’s. -
I am so glad I have just gone maid free…enough of all this crap.
1amber:
I am so glad I have just gone maid free...enough of all this crap.
wow! so good for you..
I am just waiting for my son be about 5 years old.. by that time my DD will already by in Primary 5. Then i can try to put them both at childcare and after school student care.. happily will say \"Bye bye maid\"
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.
With your input, this post could be even better đź’—