Parent pays nearly $6,000 a month in tuition fees

124 Posts 54 Posters 23.8k Views 1 Watching
      Chenonceau

Daddy 😧

[quote=\"Daddy D\"]After A level... Plan for marriage liao? :razz:

Yeah Daddies have a problem with letting their little girl go to another man eh? šŸ˜†

Haha! So it's not just me... šŸ˜† :rotflmao:[/quote]My friend just uploaded a form on Facebook entitled Request for Permission to Date My Daughter. You interested?

violin_lover

Daddy 😧

After A level... Plan for marriage liao? :razz:

Yeah Daddies have a problem with letting their little girl go to another man eh? šŸ˜†

An I invited to the wedding ceremony? šŸ˜‚

Chenonceau

violin_lover:

[quote=\"Daddy D\"]After A level... Plan for marriage liao? :razz:

An I invited to the wedding ceremony? šŸ˜‚[/quote]That'll be funny I think... the first KSP wedding!!

jtoh

My friend just uploaded a form on Facebook entitled Request for Permission to Date My Daughter. You interested?
            I saw that. It's funny!!

• O Offline
              Oppsgal

http://singapore.gumtree.sg/c-Community-community-classes-courses-University-students-to-do-your-childs-homework-W0QQAdIdZ361177590

Came across this ad. :rotflmao:

toddles

Edureach:

Chenonceau

Yeah, nowadays also hve classes specially tailored for students from top colleges. In subjects like chemistry. elit, hist and economics the national distinction rate(A-levels) is approx 37-38% only. If a student can score dist without attention tuition, he/she is really good.

Btw, yr dd got a place at oxbridge/ivy league uni?

Oh dear... :oops: I forgot. She had Econs tuition for 5 months in J2. :oops: :oops: :oops: So... not that smart lah... Anyway, she doesn't know where she wanna go yet. There are 2 futures to decide, and must be done in co-ordination.

Her boyfriend wanna do law, and best place is Singapore. We like the boy and marriage is even more important than uni so I would rather they not separate. So, possible she will stay here. She is a girl after all. Marriage is more important than ivy league.

And I dun believe she has a place in Ivy League. USA places were already allocated before A levels (or something like that) and she was not confident and so she didn't apply. Cambridge rejected her. But that's all I know. I dun really keep tabs on her, unless I wanna get scolded.

Really ah?! Quite surprised to hear this perspective from a parent. I used to have that perspective too, and told my then-bf then I'd give up my chance at overseas study. He (bless his sweet heart) told me not to be silly, just go since I got such a gd chance.

We did break up after a few years, but very amicably, and I'm SO SO GLAD I didn't give up the chance of overseas study. It's an invaluable experience and broadens one in many ways.

Rlp wise, I'd say, if God meant it to be, it'll be. I know couples who have lasted the test of time and distance.

That's for the dating phase, plus they are so young. Staying in the same country might not guarantee ending up married. Then she might lament giving up the chance to go overseas for a rlp that didn't last after all.

toddles

Oppsgal:
                  http://singapore.gumtree.sg/c-Community-community-classes-courses-University-students-to-do-your-childs-homework-W0QQAdIdZ361177590

oh my, I also want to publish this kind of ad! best part is, might really get business. though, kinda wonder how many pauline soh types there are... maybe more in the closet than we'd imagine...

Chenonceau

toddles:

[quote=\"Edureach\"]Chenonceau

Yeah, nowadays also hve classes specially tailored for students from top colleges. In subjects like chemistry. elit, hist and economics the national distinction rate(A-levels) is approx 37-38% only. If a student can score dist without attention tuition, he/she is really good.

Btw, yr dd got a place at oxbridge/ivy league uni?

Oh dear... :oops: I forgot. She had Econs tuition for 5 months in J2. :oops: :oops: :oops: So... not that smart lah... Anyway, she doesn't know where she wanna go yet. There are 2 futures to decide, and must be done in co-ordination.

Her boyfriend wanna do law, and best place is Singapore. We like the boy and marriage is even more important than uni so I would rather they not separate. So, possible she will stay here. She is a girl after all. Marriage is more important than ivy league.

And I dun believe she has a place in Ivy League. USA places were already allocated before A levels (or something like that) and she was not confident and so she didn't apply. Cambridge rejected her. But that's all I know. I dun really keep tabs on her, unless I wanna get scolded.

Really ah?! Quite surprised to hear this perspective from a parent. I used to have that perspective too, and told my then-bf then I'd give up my chance at overseas study. He (bless his sweet heart) told me not to be silly, just go since I got such a gd chance.

We did break up after a few years, but very amicably, and I'm SO SO GLAD I didn't give up the chance of overseas study. It's an invaluable experience and broadens one in many ways.

Rlp wise, I'd say, if God meant it to be, it'll be. I know couples who have lasted the test of time and distance.

That's for the dating phase, plus they are so young. Staying in the same country might not guarantee ending up married. Then she might lament giving up the chance to go overseas for a rlp that didn't last after all.[/quote]Maybe you broke up because one went and the other did not... There are plenty of opportunities regionally. She just got offered a one month stint in China... allowance, food and lodging.. We are waiting and praying. Last thing we wanna do is to think that the traditional pathways are best... Oxford, Cambridge, Harvard... tried and tested, but maybe God has better plans.

We really like this boy. Talk about husband material... this is one. We aren't saying \"Don't go\". It's just such a big decision that all perspectives matter... and the 2 youths have their perspectives too.

toddles

toddles:

[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]

That's for the dating phase, plus they are so young. Staying in the same country might not guarantee ending up married. Then she might lament giving up the chance to go overseas for a rlp that didn't last after all.

Maybe you broke up because one went and the other did not... allowance, food and lodging. There are plenty of opportunities regionally. She just got offered a one month stint in China. We are waiting and praying. Last thing we wanna do is to think that the traditional pathways are best... Oxford, Cambridge, Harvard... tried and tested, but maybe God has better plans.

We really like this boy. Talk about husband material... this is one. We aren't saying \"Don't go\". It's just such a big decision that all perspectives matter... and the 2 youths have their perspectives too.[/quote]Yup, that's true too... ultimately, who you marry is more impt / has more repercussions on your life rather than how many stellar degrees you have.

Guess I'm very blessed that I'm very very glad for the chap I ended up marrying too!

Back to tuition - $6000 monthly in fees is nutty!

SAHM_TAN

Oppsgal:

It's not something new really when there were cases of uni students' thesis written by others. Now just extend to lower levels that's all.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 11 / 13