Maid to get weekly rest days

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    482 Posts 97 Posters 226.8k Views 1 Watching
    • 1 Offline
      1amber

znzyzyzx:
      MrsSeah:

Haiz... actually we cry father cry mother here also no use. I believe next year, most of the Singapore employer will get use to the weekly off lah. Because it become a trend liao. If you don't follow you wouldn't be able to get a maid.

Just like the $450 salary, that time we also scream here scream there. Now? Majority of them are paying their maid this salary liao. Anything change? Nope!!!! Don't pay? Maid want to change employer.

i am sure there are people who give up employing maid due to the increase.

I think more people give up because of MOM unfairness towards employers.

mumto2

HAPPYH:
        Going maid free is of course good. We can save a lot of trouble. But can we cope after work? Imagine all the house work. But I am telling myself and my DH to get motivated to do all the house work.

I'm a full-time working mum with 2 dds. We manage to cope by hiring a part-time ah yi who comes in every fri am from 8am - 12pm (yes, i entrusted her with my house keys). The part-time helper does the major cleaning such as toilets, ironing of clothes, windows etc

Of cos, DH chips in lots. He is in charge of vacuuming, cleaning of furniture and washing up of dishes after meals and the car...the rest i bao

We have survived for 3 months since the last maid left....still going strong and good. thinking of the trouble that we save and now the new rules, i think i will still go maidless!

SMH FOREST

1amber:
          I am so glad I have just gone maid free...enough of all this crap.

:hi5:
          i am glad that i dont have to ponder over this issue too, cos i am also maid free now... not by choice, but had too many bad maids, and i didnt wanna be penalised by govt by attending course in order to hire again...

nonetheless, seems like a blessing in disguise, although we are kinda dead beat w housewk lately... :imcool:

HAPPYH

mumto2:
            HAPPYH:

Going maid free is of course good. We can save a lot of trouble. But can we cope after work? Imagine all the house work. But I am telling myself and my DH to get motivated to do all the house work.

I'm a full-time working mum with 2 dds. We manage to cope by hiring a part-time ah yi who comes in every fri am from 8am - 12pm (yes, i entrusted her with my house keys). The part-time helper does the major cleaning such as toilets, ironing of clothes, windows etc

Of cos, DH chips in lots. He is in charge of vacuuming, cleaning of furniture and washing up of dishes after meals and the car...the rest i bao

We have survived for 3 months since the last maid left....still going strong and good. thinking of the trouble that we save and now the new rules, i think i will still go maidless!

Your reply is motivating me. Thanks. I will be mentally prepared in the near future I think. šŸ˜„

SMH FOREST

mumto2:
              HAPPYH:

:offtopic: Does your ah yi have slots and wanna work in the east side?? :oops: šŸ˜‚ šŸ˜‰

I have a 3.5yo boy, and we are still struggling with housewk... have an old part-timer but she is not really cleaning as expected.. so am hunting ard for good ones.. but i must say that i applaud those w more than 1 kid and going maidless.. cos, at this point in time.. i do have my reservations abt adding on another child... cos' with 1, we are already up to the brim n super duper tired out... can't imagine handling a nb as well and with all that cleaning!!!
              :faint:

• 1 Offline
                1amber

SMH FOREST:
                1amber:

I am so glad I have just gone maid free...enough of all this crap.

:hi5:
                i am glad that i dont have to ponder over this issue too, cos i am also maid free now... not by choice, but had too many bad maids, and i didnt wanna be penalised by govt by attending course in order to hire again...

nonetheless, seems like a blessing in disguise, although we are kinda dead beat w housewk lately... :imcool:

hi SMH Forest,

Yeah me too! :celebrate:

• momofthr33M Offline
                  momofthr33

I am a mom of 3. Has the gahment ever given consideration to working mothers? We work longer hours than the maids - more than 12 hours at work and after that still have to go back and settle the kids. Weekends we work nonstop taking care of the kids till they go to bed....And now the gahment impose this! This means I have to do housework when the maid is off, on top of taking care of the kids. Already we are having little rest. As usual, the gahment has refused to consult or listen to its citizens and simply impose what it deems fit! If the gahment is really keen to help, perhaps they should come out with solutions first before creating problems. For a start, they should reduce or even stop imposing levy so that the salary will be more attractive to the domestic helpers. On one hand, gahment want citizens to have more children, on the other, they create more hardship to working parents! šŸ˜ž

daranic

1amber:
                    daranic:

I also hope to be maid free soon. Was planning another 4 yrs once ds completes his PSLE in 2016 as he is weak in his stuides and need lots of coaching.

But... if current maid of 1 month (on 11 Mar 2012) drops me a 'bomb' this Sun, I will bye bye to all maids forever! Hate all the problems they give and the black face we have to face. Can't wait to have my spare room back. And have the freedom of going out as and when I feel like it, without having to worry what is the stranger doing in my house and rushing back to give her her food.

Dear daranic,

4 years a bit long leh...as the chinese saying goes, night long more dreams...especially with our leaders having no backbones. Nonetheless, all the best! :celebrate:

Yes, I am counting down to that big day too! I was maidless for 2 mths or so after the previous maid asked for transfer after a month. That period was so carefree though it was really tiring. In fact, have sorta gotten used to the housework. So it is no big deal if this new maid gives me a \"bomb\" when her 1-month is up.

nms1

momofthr33:

I am a mom of 3. Has the gahment ever given consideration to working mothers? We work longer hours than the maids - more than 12 hours at work and after that still have to go back and settle the kids. Weekends we work nonstop taking care of the kids till they go to bed....And now the gahment impose this! This means I have to do housework when the maid is off, on top of taking care of the kids. Already we are having little rest. As usual, the gahment has refused to consult or listen to its citizens and simply impose what it deems fit! If the gahment is really keen to help, perhaps they should come out with solutions first before creating problems. For a start, they should reduce or even stop imposing levy so that the salary will be more attractive to the domestic helpers. On one hand, gahment want citizens to have more children, on the other, they create more hardship to working parents! šŸ˜ž
                      In my opinion this argument doesn't hold. There are many women all over the world who work and survive without any domestic help. Maybe some of them have more flexible working hours than some of us but they manage. Surely you can look after your children for one day? What housework really needs to be done? You only need to cook and even then you can eat out. Is it really fair that we have a rest and our maid doesn't?

• momofthr33M Offline
                        momofthr33

nms1:
                        momofthr33:

In my opinion this argument doesn't hold. There are many women all over the world who work and survive without any domestic help. Maybe some of them have more flexible working hours than some of us but they manage. Surely you can look after your children for one day? What housework really needs to be done? You only need to cook and even then you can eat out. Is it really fair that we have a rest and our maid doesn't?

Like I said, I have 3 children but I DO NOT have flexible hours not like some lucky mothers! I already mentioned I have to take of the children everyday even on weekends! Hmmmm....do I really have to list down the housework a usual household have to do - mopping sweeping, washing the toilets etc....and I don't even request my maid to cook! We usually buy back or eat out. I would also like a proper rest day WITHOUT the kids! *Sigh*

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 17 / 49

sin88sjpnetS
                        sin88sjpnet