FQW:
Ha Ha ....
Wapiang, I spied on janet_lee & Funx3 but never expect that you'll spy on me?JoeeYee:
Mark,
You walking around TohYi with your ds for what? Why he's not in school? ...
I'm doing an experiment mah ..... trying to see if ds learns more if I home-school him for the day or if he goes to school.
Spy .... To Spy On Spy :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
Am I Making Sense?
S6169:
paiseh paisehJennifer:
Tmr is the Parents-teachers meeting./quote]
I thought the Parents-teachers meeting is on Sat. :? -
FQW:
Not true lah.
Aiyoh Jennifer, the reason your ds2 only 'sometimes pay attention in class' is because he finds class unchallenging mah. Having spent time playing coin carrom with him - a game he invented - I'm quite sure he can easily cope with work 1-2 levels above his current level.Jennifer:
Tmr is the Parents-teachers meeting.
All his teachers had the same comment \"Sometimes pay attention in class\"
JRLam:
P3 English paper was a killer....
Hi php,
Was the EL paper a killer? Although my dd said only 2 students scored A in her class, we were really disappointed with her dismaying results, which we attributed it to her complacency.
I didn't have a chance to check her EL papers yet (wow-say, got to check both kids' exam papers, a total of 9 sets with some paper1/2, booklist A/B, in 2 hours!), my dh did that. He mentioned the loss of marks was due to a mixture of carelessness and some tricky questions.
Personally, I think it may be a good lesson learned too - not to be too complacent! Luckily it was CA1
See what the teacher say on Sat.
yes, i agree with you. i think it is good to serve the kids with a wake-up call in CA1....not to be too complacent..... -
paiseh paiseh[/quote]Did the teacher confirm the timing to meet them, like a reply slip for p2?S6169:
[quote=\"Jennifer\"]Tmr is the Parents-teachers meeting./quote]
I thought the Parents-teachers meeting is on Sat. :? -
San03:
I received a PH form dated 22-Feb on this TPC. On this form was my son's (P2 too) handwriting regarding my allocated timeslot for the meeting. He said that was the slot FT verbally assigned to me.
Did the teacher confirm the timing to meet them, like a reply slip for p2?
So to answer your question, no, I did not receive any reply slip.E3:
Bro Trap was so 'kind' to remind me during BBQ nite that for my son, it'll be 100% weightage on SA2 alone - no second chance to catch up should Murphy come visiting.
Wait till your turn comes... :yikes:FQW:
What papers? What last year? Muahahaha!!! :rotflmao:
:nailbite:
So nice of him hor?
dyh:
Yes, I think P3 English must be a killer. My son said only 5 pupils in the whole cohort got band 1. I have not looked thru the questions tho.[/quote]It is like the standard P5 CA1 (where there will be a usuall drop in marks)... just that they forgot and do it 2 years early. :siao:JRLam:
[quote=\"php\"]P3 English paper was a killer....
Hi php,
Was the EL paper a killer? Although my dd said only 2 students scored A in her class, we were really disappointed with her dismaying results, which we attributed it to her complacency.
I didn't have a chance to check her EL papers yet (wow-say, got to check both kids' exam papers, a total of 9 sets with some paper1/2, booklist A/B, in 2 hours!), my dh did that. He mentioned the loss of marks was due to a mixture of carelessness and some tricky questions.
Personally, I think it may be a good lesson learned too - not to be too complacent! Luckily it was CA1
See what the teacher say on Sat.
Believe more will get Band 1 after some \"questionable\" questions were re-mark. A lot of kids drop about 10-20 marks for this paper.
Overall, I think the EL CA1 paper setter is inexperienced and do not know the P3 standard and the vetter also failed to benchmark the standard properly.
Some of the vocab are found in P5/P6 Assessment Book .... (I was doing some browsing in Popular to confirm that.) Personally, I am ok for them to stretch a bit .. but to go to P5/P6 vocab list is a bit too far out.
Due to the introduction of STELLAR, Grammer are not taught systematically but \"on the go\". Yet during CA, it s tested quite extensively, so parents will probably have to do some \"in-house\" teaching.
I believe a lot of the kids are discouraged after seeing their score, so it is important that parents to assure them of their ability. The paper is tough and cannot be used to gauge the kids performance accurately. So even if they did not do well, it doesn't necessary mean that their EL is weak. -
Just my two centsโฆ
Last year, many of my ddโs P3 classmates were reading P5/P6 model compositions and possibly, some on them write like a P5/P6 kid. I let my dd do P6 synthesis and transformation. It is not surprising that the school wants to raise the standard, expecting them to do better than the formal year. However, it might benefit those who are already strong or advanced in the subject, yet overlooked those who are coping or barely coping with their current standard.
It is not that your child is weak. It is a good opportunity to expose them to tougher questions as early as possible. Also, the 10% is almost negligible. I hope those who didnโt score as desired will not be discouraged. Persevere. -
E3:
That's precisely the part that is not right - children who get to expose to the higher level of learning, naturally get better results than those who don't, become more confident (which further boast their moral/motivation), proceed to the better class, even more confident, get better teachers (agree this is quite subjective) etc etc. The less-exposed ones, chances are will feel completely the opposite, unless intervention from parents, tuition (that's where everything starts!) etc etc. How many 9-year old children really 'wake-up' from this shock and study REALLY hard after this by their own accord? Small %.Just my two cents...
Last year, many of my dd's P3 classmates were reading P5/P6 model compositions and possibly, some on them write like a P5/P6 kid. I let my dd do P6 synthesis and transformation. It is not surprising that the school wants to raise the standard, expecting them to do better than the formal year. However, it might benefit those who are already strong or advanced in the subject, yet overlooked those who are coping or barely coping with their current standard.
It is not that your child is weak. It is a good opportunity to expose them to tougher questions as early as possible. Also, the 10% is almost negligible. I hope those who didn't score as desired will not be discouraged. Persevere.
I agree with Trap - this shock which is used to be at P5 level, has now been introduced to P3 (maybe it had been like that years ago just that I am not aware coz my DS was transferred to PH in P3). This is very unhealthy as the competition is starting much earlier now, where our 9-year old may not be ready for it.
I certainly hope this is a one-off occurrence ... if it is just as simple as a wrongly-benchmark exam paper, or a group of unskillful paper-setters / vetters. Hopefully we don't have this type of extreme papers in SA1 or SA2.
Personally I am ok with a couple of more difficult questions to sieve out the better ones vs the rest, but this paper seems to have crossed the line. Imagine my DD's teacher actually adjusted the scores of a couple of 'ambiguous' questions twice (my DD's score was adjusted upwards by 4 marks after 2 rounds of moderation), it just goes to show even certain teachers (presumably they are not the ones who set or vet the papers) have to chirp in to do some adjustments, partly could be due to pressures from some parents, ha!
Now have to do some damage-control to my DD's bruised confidence .. I myself might have been too harsh to her before seeing the papers .. must sayang her a bit and say :imsorry: -
Yup, JRLam, that's the harsh reality of our education system. Viscious cycle for some, virtuous cycle for others. That's y people migrate...:siam:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.