MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni

2.0k Posts 174 Posters 458.8k Views 1 Watching
      dorisp

sunbeamz:

[quote=\"Strparent\"]topic is about priority for P1 registration.

P1 boh simi sai GEP.

Sorry did not make myself clear earlier.

My point is that if u r an alumni of a top-popular school, I seriously doubt that distance will be a concern, just like people have no qualms about switching to GEP schools even though it could be very far away from home.

OK, I can't speak for all but I believe there's a good % of parents who donch mind the distance.

Yes! I'm one of those that wouldn't mind the distance!
      :rahrah:[/quote]Thanks for sharing! :salute:

Now we know it may not be too wrong to deduce that there are indeed many many >2km registration within Phase 2A. šŸ†’

• laughingcatL Offline
        laughingcat

1. Longer distance is good because it trains one to be resilient.. for the kid's benefit.. (One of the most ridiculous that I have heard in this forum).
        In case you are talking about me and i know you did since i am in the only forumer who mentioned \"long\" travelling time makes me a resilent child. You can laugh about it but that is how i came out to be. Different strokes for different folks.

Citing an example of some Malaysian kids who travelled to and fro from Johor to SGP every weekday to school (not forgetting CCAs):-
        - their determination to excel regardless of the challenges (time and distance).

In retrospect, compare that to some of the SGP kids that have things too easy. Don't quote me eh....extra miles do not literally means distance (as in travel from North to South or East to West). :rotflmao:

• laughingcatL Offline
          laughingcat

laughingcat:

Also the longkang minister's youngest son will be registering his son to P1 this year also bah.

ah.....who is this longkang?

Huh? I thought everyone knows liao. Hehehe. It's Vivian Balakrishna lah :rotflmao:

• laughingcatL Offline
            laughingcat

wrt distance, 1km is still a long walk for kids especially when it is real hot in the afternoon + a heavy school bag.

even for those living with 1 km, in order to board the crowded public buses and not be caught in jam, one has to leave early too maybe 645.

a child living near to school (within 1km) takes the school bus to school everyday and the pick up time could be as early as 615 (or even earlier) in order to get to school before 7 am.

for one who lives more than 2km away from school, the pick up time could be the same as the one living near to school.

a child living more than 2km away from school driven by parents to school everyday could leave the house at 630 or later to get to school before 720 am.

i find that once a child is used to the routine, it is not the lack of sleep (or waking up early) that is an issue, it is the tons of homework and tuition that make the child tired.

:offtopic: ???
            Not really off topic eh. A good list of scenario.

• laughingcatL Offline
              laughingcat

Welfare of the kids are to be manage by parents and parents only. Unless we are talking about abuse, then who is to tell me that my child's welfare are compromised?

I am sure every parents want the best for their children. What is best is best determined by parents and child and most importantly with the family support and of course within financial means. Not others to be judge upon.

LOLMum

laughingcat:

[quote=\"laughingcat\"]

Also the longkang minister's youngest son will be registering his son to P1 this year also bah.

ah.....who is this longkang?

Huh? I thought everyone knows liao. Hehehe. It's Vivian Balakrishna lah :rotflmao:[/quote]
                oh himmmmmmmmmm. he has no worries since he is old boy of acsp or j (cant remember). also very active church member.

forgot about him cos mr tan chuan jin has been on my mind lately.

Busymom

laughingcat:

wrt distance, 1km is still a long walk for kids especially when it is real hot in the afternoon + a heavy school bag.

even for those living with 1 km, in order to board the crowded public buses and not be caught in jam, one has to leave early too maybe 645.

a child living near to school (within 1km) takes the school bus to school everyday and the pick up time could be as early as 615 (or even earlier) in order to get to school before 7 am.

for one who lives more than 2km away from school, the pick up time could be the same as the one living near to school.

a child living more than 2km away from school driven by parents to school everyday could leave the house at 630 or later to get to school before 720 am.

i find that once a child is used to the routine, it is not the lack of sleep (or waking up early) that is an issue, it is the tons of homework and tuition that make the child tired.

:offtopic: ???

Not really off topic eh. A good list of scenario.

At the risk of getting :pokeeye:

we live more than 2 km away, but my child wakes up at 7am or even later sometimes and still makes it to school on time (ok, she doesn't eat much for breakfast, we have to force her to eat something while in the car). Even on days when she has to take a public bus to school, it also just takes 15 minutes or slightly more (including walking).

Ok, my one and only post for this thread.

Peace.

• laughingcatL Offline
                    laughingcat

Busymom:

At the risk of getting :pokeeye:

we live more than 2 km away, but my child wakes up at 7am or even later sometimes and still makes it to school on time (ok, she doesn't eat much for breakfast, we have to force her to eat something while in the car). Even on days when she has to take a public bus to school, it also just takes 15 minutes or slightly more (including walking).

Ok, my one and only post for this thread.

Peace.
                    :please: Oh you make my day! :please: That is precisely what I am wanting to say. More than 2km does not really looks so bad. Just like travelling from Thomson Medical Center to Orchard only takes 20mins by Bus. So where got far.

• laughingcatL Offline
                      laughingcat

Ask yourself.. between 2 top-popular schools, one is alumni and far far away, and one is nearby at the doorstep, which one would you choose?

Answer this question to your conscience, and it is clear which criteria shd be given higher priority.
                      If a person who is meticulous will not be seeing things and make decision at face value. I would rather compare all aspects and attributes of the school before making a sweeping decision. šŸ˜‰

CactusInDesert

laughingcat:

:please: Oh you make my day! :please: That is precisely what I am wanting to say. More than 2km does not really looks so bad. Just like travelling from Thomson Medical Center to Orchard only takes 20mins by Bus. So where got far.
                        Precisely, Unless we are talking abt more than 10 or even 15 km away.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 85 / 197