MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni

2.0k Posts 174 Posters 462.7k Views 1 Watching
    • laughingcatL Offline
      laughingcat

Busymom:

At the risk of getting :pokeeye:

we live more than 2 km away, but my child wakes up at 7am or even later sometimes and still makes it to school on time (ok, she doesn't eat much for breakfast, we have to force her to eat something while in the car). Even on days when she has to take a public bus to school, it also just takes 15 minutes or slightly more (including walking).

Ok, my one and only post for this thread.

Peace.
      :please: Oh you make my day! :please: That is precisely what I am wanting to say. More than 2km does not really looks so bad. Just like travelling from Thomson Medical Center to Orchard only takes 20mins by Bus. So where got far.

• laughingcatL Offline
        laughingcat

Ask yourself.. between 2 top-popular schools, one is alumni and far far away, and one is nearby at the doorstep, which one would you choose?

Answer this question to your conscience, and it is clear which criteria shd be given higher priority.
        If a person who is meticulous will not be seeing things and make decision at face value. I would rather compare all aspects and attributes of the school before making a sweeping decision. 😉

CactusInDesert

laughingcat:

:please: Oh you make my day! :please: That is precisely what I am wanting to say. More than 2km does not really looks so bad. Just like travelling from Thomson Medical Center to Orchard only takes 20mins by Bus. So where got far.
          Precisely, Unless we are talking abt more than 10 or even 15 km away.

• laughingcatL Offline
            laughingcat

laughing cat, I seem to be the only one pointing out traffic concern here, so this point I assume you are referring to me. If you think I am contributing these 'ideas' just for my own benefits, I am utterly disappointed. I am just concerned. And don't tell me that there is NIL traffic problems around the schools.
            No not targeting at you nor anybody. This is a healthy discussion.

Are you the only one talking about traffic concern? Nope.

Ah Ha! You nail it! There is very much less traffic problems (almost zero) at non-popular school that I have seen. At least 2, dear. Simply because majority of the children arrive at school not in private cars.

Now this is what I call social divides among schools.

• laughingcatL Offline
              laughingcat

Even if distance priority is removed.. properties near popular school would still fetch a premium bcoz staying near the school has REAL and significant benefits.. what more do we need to say.........

even with distance priority, the values in my area doesnt seem to be moving leh :sad:

My dear, you need to stay near popular school.

• laughingcatL Offline
                laughingcat

Given a choice, all parents would WANT the kid to be nearby (their school if choice is nearby).

Given a choice, NOT all parents would want the kids to be in the alumni school.

So, Distance shd be given priority over alumni since it is the \"fairest\".. What is fair? refer below question..

Ask yourself.. between 2 top-popular schools, one is alumni and far far away, and one is nearby at the doorstep, which one would you choose?

Answer this question to your conscience, and it is clear which criteria shd be given higher priority.

How far is far?

From what I know, the nearest GEP school is still quite a distance from Woodlands. I really wonder how many will give up the chance to switch school if selected.

Aiyoh. When kids are selected for GEP, the tune will be sung differently. Distance is not concern anymore, rather the reputation of the school. Look into the GEP threads and you will see parents asking around for car pool and taxi pool. :evil:

LOLMum

laughingcat:

[quote=\"limlim\"]

Even if distance priority is removed.. properties near popular school would still fetch a premium bcoz staying near the school has REAL and significant benefits.. what more do we need to say.........

even with distance priority, the values in my area doesnt seem to be moving leh :sad:

My dear, you need to stay near popular school.[/quote]
                  in between acsp and j hor. scgs and sjj and rgs also nearby. houses in the east now even more expensive per sq foot. :faint:

• laughingcatL Offline
                    laughingcat

laughingcat:

Huh? I thought everyone knows liao. Hehehe. It's Vivian Balakrishna lah :rotflmao:

oh himmmmmmmmmm. he has no worries since he is old boy of acsp or j (cant remember). also very active church member.

forgot about him cos mr tan chuan jin has been on my mind lately.

If alumni by distance is the way to go, I am very sure he is concern. I do know where he stays leh. :evil:

Daddy D

Distance is relative… Esp with the different mode of transportation.

The point of debate should be travelling time.
                      Is 1hr or more daily travelling time acceptable?
                      Not to mention another 1hr or more to return home.

Of cos’ there will always exceptional cases when parents do not have better options.

• laughingcatL Offline
                        laughingcat

yeap! Distance is relative. Travelling from Thomson Medical Center to NYPS takes 30mins by bus. That is 4.08km.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 86 / 197

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo
                        cherrymummyC
                        cherrymummy
                        JeantanpkJ
                        Jeantanpk