MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni
Fair because you think alumni is more important than founders?
Fair!dorisp:
Now church and clan falls under 2B, behind 2A.
Any views? :scratchhead:
CactusInDesert:
sorrie....... over-exaggerated..... at least for now.....
Leaving 0% after phase 2A?? Has it occur in any school before or even near to occurrence? Although I tend to agree that one shld not stay too far for those under 2A, think it is too exaggerating in above scenario. The qn now is definition of \"far\" and when the policy will be implemented.
I shd say.. \"leaving very small number for other phases....\"http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/understanding-singapore-primary-school-registration-processes\" url=\"http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/understanding-singapore-primary-school-registration-processes:
There are no reserved limits for Phases up to 2A. Theoretically, all the available places for the entire exercise could be taken up in Phase 1, 2A1, or 2A2 should there be enough qualifying students. This is rarely the case. In the very popular schools, however, the take up rate by Phase 2A2 could exceed 75%, leaving less than a quarter of the places for non-affiliated children, including those whose parents who have gone through the rigours of parent volunteering programmes.
:goodpost:
now, we're discussing on what is the fairest system and on a national level for Primary 1 admission and what factors the policy makers need to consider when coming out with a priority system that is deemed to be in the best interest of the child and at the same time fair enough to the community as a WHOLE.
So, the debate is on whether distance should be given greater priority then connections.
Whether parents are willing to travel is not relevant.. the priority system have to be engineered to be in the best interest of the masses.
The desire to travel is their Personal choice. What is the best priority system to the general community is what we're discussing now. -
Any reason why `clan' should be retained :evil: I thot there are also grey areas in clan??IDad:
[quote=\"absolut_vodka\"]But yes, I agree that PV and grassroots scheme should be the first to go because there are too many grey areas in this scheme. And definitely citizens should have 1st priority to register for school before PRs and foreigners.
because they are the ones who started the schools in the very first place and are still actively involved in the raising of funds for the schools.
i would say there is more grey areas in church members cos to join skkh, non members need at least 2 members to get them in (no easy feat) and be actively involved in clan activities for a few years and at the end, it is up to the board to decide who to give the letter to (so no guarantee).
i find it easier for people to become chrisitian and church members in order to get the letter. btw, i am a methodist too. for catholics, i am unsure of the ease in getting the letter.[/quote]For Catholics, u need to get the kid baptized. For the kid to be baptized, the parent has to be a baptized catholic also.
So, it's really not 'play play' if u want o go thu the catholic route. -
Is it really that easy to become a christian? Don't u have RCIA or somethg along that line to prepare the person? Sorry, a little :offtopic:yes, i know and agree totally with what you said.
my main concern is how easily it is for people to become christians and get the letter from church to qualify for phase 2b. this is the grey area i am thinking of. we cant tell how many are using this as a stepping stone (phase 2b) or are really sincere.
i read the thread on church/clan membership and there are many people asking how to become church and clan members. we definitely welcome them to join the church/clan but for clan at least there is strict rules on the no. and how the letter of recommendation (for phase 2b) is given out while the church has none.
i think this is abuse of religion.
:offtopic: -
I suggest…
tweak Phase 1 to include below restriction
-> stay within 2km and is a citizen.
tweak Phase 2A to include below restriction
-> stay within 2km and is a citizen.
remaining places split 50-50 (or other %) for 2B and 2C.
Maybe those with sibling or < 2km or is alumni etc… put in 2B and ballot if necessary… maybe sibling has priority over distance has priority over alumni has priority over clan/church etc…
For 2C, maybe alumni has priority over PV over un-related… ballot if necessary.
reserve 5~10% of vacancies for "free for all"… P2D…
Recognize the best interest of the child, recognize the contribution of alumni… and set the priorities accordingly… -
dorisp:
Am I stepping on ground zero? :scared:Some earlier discussions shared how some schools were founded by church and clan members and without them, the school might not be what it is now.
I am impresed with the many contributions made by the alumni but the founders could be the group that had put in money and effort to make it all possible in the first place.
Any views? :scratchhead: -
dorisp:
My view is:Some earlier discussions shared how some schools were founded by church and clan members and without them, the school might not be what it is now.
I am impresed with the many contributions made by the alumni but the founders could be the group that had put in money and effort to make it all possible in the first place.
Alumni is directly link to the school ( like your own children)
Under 2b u must be first link clan / church n church/ clan is link to sch ( is like distance relative)
Under 2b PV . U r not related but choose to help out ( is like adopted child)
Under 2c . <1km ( just like next door neighbour)
About alumni who stay more than 2 km fr sch ( is like your kids who married oversea although cannot visit you often but still deserve your love like the other sibling)
Dun flame me :siam: :siam: :siam: -
vicki:
Is it really that easy to become a christian? Don't u have RCIA or somethg along that line to prepare the person? Sorry, a little :offtopic:LOLMum:
yes, i know and agree totally with what you said.
my main concern is how easily it is for people to become christians and get the letter from church to qualify for phase 2b. this is the grey area i am thinking of. we cant tell how many are using this as a stepping stone (phase 2b) or are really sincere.
i read the thread on church/clan membership and there are many people asking how to become church and clan members. we definitely welcome them to join the church/clan but for clan at least there is strict rules on the no. and how the letter of recommendation (for phase 2b) is given out while the church has none.
i think this is abuse of religion.
:offtopic:
i vaguely remember attending a membership course and was baptised aftger completing the course. cant remember how long the course was. some of those in my group were of other religion with young kids ( 大家心照不宣), new to church.
as hquek said, this is between them and God, how sincere they are, is something i cant judge.
while it is good to have new brothers and sisters, there should still be a cap to reduce the no. of \"fake\" people from getting the letter. and after getting the letter, dont disappear lah.
:offtopic: too oftern already, better scoot back to alumni. -
puff:
My view is:dorisp:
Some earlier discussions shared how some schools were founded by church and clan members and without them, the school might not be what it is now.
Alumni is directly link to the school ( like your own children)
Under 2b u must be first link clan / church n church/ clan is link to sch ( is like distance relative)
Under 2b PV . U r not related but choose to help out ( is like adopted child)
Under 2c . <1km ( just like next door neighbour)
About alumni who stay more than 2 km fr sch ( is like your kids who married oversea although cannot visit you often but still deserve your love like the other sibling)
Dun flame me :siam: :siam: :siam:
That was an interesting way to put it!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.