All Schools are GOOD Schools

942 Posts 120 Posters 219.5k Views 1 Watching
    • laughingcatL Offline
      laughingcat

atutor2001:
      Ah Tee was in the lousiest class and his average mark was 55. Yet he was first in class. He thought that he was already very clever and was less motivated to improve. Ah Kow was in the top class and his average mark was 65 but was last in class. He felt real bad. He realised that he was way behind his peers, worked hard and improved.

Students who are not rich will be driven to improve in branded schools because of peer pressure.

Branded school A was hot favourite so was the hardest to get in. Branded school B was the 2nd favourite. Therefore, only the most kiasu parents can get their kids into school A. Being the most kiasu, their kids will be driven to get the best results possible. The kids from the second most kiasu parents got into school B. Being not as kiasu as those in A, the parents didn't push that hard and the kids were not as good.

That explains why school A has better results than B though both are branded.

Hahaha we are damn funny. Can write so much on such topic.

I love this! So fun to read. :please: :rotflmao:

LOLMum

laughingcat:
        [quote=\"LOLMum]

the nearest school might be an equally or even more popular school. 😉

Are you very very sure? I could easily come up a few leh. But no school-naming eh. Seen their works and score.....i cannot fathom enough.[/quote][/quote]

yeah, sure. while some parents on this forum said they prefer to forgo registering their kids in their old school because of distance and chose the nearby school.

there are also some parents who said they chose their old school becuase chances of getting into the nearby school is low and they dont wish to let moe decide where to place their child. so better to play safe and register under alumni.

• laughingcatL Offline
          laughingcat

In order to be inline with this thread \"All schools are GOOD school\" and therefore not interested to talk about distance or alumni. Hence I would like to share on my previous PTM because i am frustrated to keep hearing all schools are \"good\". Then later on come up with excuses saying \"apart from academics\".

So now here it goes.

Teacher : Mrs xxxx, your gal has been doing fine this SA1. Her Maths and Science have improved tremendously. Her maths is top in class and science is #3.
          Me : Wow! I am so glad to hear that.
          Teacher : May i know which tuition center she goes to? Appreciate if you can share that to me, so that we can encourage other children who are weak to have extended supports fast.
          Me : My gal don't have any tuition class
          Teacher : (looking stun but disbelieve) Then where did she learned those techniques?
          Me : (looking diplomatic) I thought it was from you?

In actual fact, i was the one who teach my gal. Noti teacher :nunchuk: shame on you. :spank:

mgnvr

laughingcat:
            In order to be inline with this thread \"All schools are GOOD school\"......i would like to share on my previous PTM.

Teacher : Mrs xxxx, your gal has been doing fine this SA1. Her Maths and Science have improved tremendously. Her maths is top in class and science is #3.
            Me : Wow! I am so glad hearing that.
            Teacher : May i know which tuition center she goes to? Appreciate if you can share that to me, so that we can encourage other children who are weak to have extended supports fast.
            Teacher : (looking stun but disbelieve) Then where did she learned those techniques?

In actual fact, i was the one who teach my gals. Noti teacher :nunchuk:
            I feel so sad reading this. After accomplishing so much as a nation, is this what schools and teachers are doing now? Turning to and acknowledging that private tuition is necessary and better than teaching in school?

Children don't even need to attend school.

• laughingcatL Offline
              laughingcat

I was shocked hearing that too!

All along when i read other forumers complaining this. I thought it was…hmmm maybe some lah. But i went to 2 different schools and i have the same response from 3 different teachers. My gal at P5 in school xxxx, my ist niece in P6 from school yyyy and 2nd niece in P4 from school yyyy. Totally shock and angry! Yes i was pissed!

resgmom

I have been a lurker for a while, this is my first ever post.

Our family returned from overseas not too long ago, my children were born and raised there, and I'm a Singaporean. Our son entered P4 last year. He has never had a single day of private tuition, and actually did quite well in our opinion (80+ in his level, 1st in his class). The teachers and parents were shocked that he did so well coming from a western educational system.

We've been back in Singapore for 1.5 years. DS just had his CA1 of this year as P5 student. Needless to say, the result was very disappointment. And we are thinking whether we're jeopardising him by not engaging tuition, even though my family was quite against that. We coach him ourselves.

I have been keeping up with the discussions about tuition, etc. However, the spark came when I came across this half page ad on Straitstimes from TLL sometime on February this year. It was disheartening to see:

1. These extremely visible and well designed ad exist to encourage the vicious cycle ;
                2. The tuition centre basically capitalising on the top 2 PSLE students to further advance their business (nothing wrong, but it's a very, very sad and sorry state for Sg);
                3. That the top girl was rejected by RGS in the first place when she tried DSA with her school results (which I assume would be equally stellar, given her family background and resources (lawyer stay at home mom, banker dad i.e. no lack of financial resources), she said she wass considering Crescent Girls (with a great Girl Scouts program) when interviewed by the reporters, but in the end, she still chooses RGS. (of course, nothing wrong as well...)
                *for some reason I can't add the other image which contain the 2nd top PSLE student's \"inspirational quotes\" and picture. You get the idea...
                http://i41.tinypic.com/214p6qf.jpg\">

Strparent

nice observations, resgmom

this is what our education system has evolved into........ the result of the chase for meritocracy.

I thought kids go to school to learn, to see how good they are, to be educated, to be civic minded, to make friends, to enjoy and enhance their childhood........... unfortunately it seems school is now a rat race too. To compete, to outdo, to better in terms of results.
                  Who's doing led to this ? the kanchiong kiasu face-all-important parents who send their kids for numerous enrichment and tuition to push them to the limits.

My DS and DD hardly can arrange a gathering to watch a movie, to go swimming ( leisurely! not competitive lessons ) because so many of their peers are engaged after school and on weekends with enrichments.

Other than Chinese tuition ( because I suk at it ) at P6 in order to cope with the HCL, my kids have no tuition whatsoever, and they are doing alright.

Dont be dishearten, just encourage your ward to do to his best ability. The most important thing is that he is happy, he has a childhood, not paper chase since 4 and then upgrade to the real rat race after education.

Limlim, go join politics 😉 😉 I will vote for you. :celebrate: http://i40.tinypic.com/346uqdh.gif\">

limlim

laughingcat:

[quote=\"laughingcat\"]They may have \"brilliant\" ideas. They will have lost subtantial votes from alumni. Bearing in mind how many alumni be there years after years. :evil:

Don't forget that popular schools are usually a minority.. if not why so many complains....? it is because of limit supply vs excess demand..

They lose 100 votes but gain 1000 votes.. not a bad transaction ar...... :evil:

I am surprised how did you ever come up with the numbers? Plucking from the air? :?[/quote]yes, pluck from the air.. :imcool:

But the basic point is the same.. alumni of popular schools is less than non alumni of popular schools.. or do you need statistic and hard data to prove this? Maybe I can help you with it..... :evil:

Strparent

laughingcat:

that is funny, yet sad and real.

Ichigokun

laughingcat:
                        In order to be inline with this thread \"All schools are GOOD school\" and therefore not interested to talk about distance or alumni. Hence I would like to share on my previous PTM because i am frustrated to keep hearing all schools are \"good\". Then later on come up with excuses saying \"apart from academics\".

So now here it goes.

In actual fact, i was the one who teach my gal. Noti teacher :nunchuk: shame on you. :spank:
                        LOL. The teacher just got trolled by youm 😆

She doesn't even believe in her own teaching abilities. That is a form of saying indirectly, \"I can't teach.\"

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 53 / 95

rinsiderR
                        rinsider