MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni
Yes, naught as well.
for the alumni who couldn't get in bcoz the policy changed and alumni has reduced priority.. it is \"sorry that his contributions has come to naught\"..
It's like if a girl has a boyfriend for 6 years now. They have gone thru thick and thin together and they shared love, hopes of marriage + children. However, one fine day boyfriend decides marriage and children is not what he wants. He says the girl still holds a special place in his heart and does not mind continue the relationship but adds he would also like to get to know more \"friends\" (particularly within 2km from his work/home ;))
Well, all has come to naught for the girl.she can decide to maintain the relationship under the new terms or move on in hopes of meeting another guy that may share her hopes and dreams. Even if she finds another guy, she will always be wary of putting too much commitment into the new relationship. -
An alumni who is adversely affected any policy changes of p1 registration is likely to feel similar.
Persons who will become alumni will also reconsider their current / future commitments. -
Lyddon:
Yes, naught as well.
It's like if a girl has a boyfriend for 6 years now. They have gone thru thick and thin together and they shared love, hopes of marriage + children. However, one fine day boyfriend decides marriage and children is not what he wants. He says the girl still holds a special place in his heart and does not mind continue the relationship but adds he would also like to get to know more \"friends\" (particularly within 2km from his work/home ;))
Well, all has come to naught for the girl.she can decide to maintain the relationship under the new terms or move on in hopes of meeting another guy that may share her hopes and dreams. Even if she finds another guy, she will always be wary of putting too much commitment into the new relationship.
Yes couldn't agree more. The boy and girl in the story are two individual and have 100% autonomy over whatever they want to do. They are not answerable to anyone. If only primary schools in Singapore are privately owned and had not taken a single cent of subsidy from tax payers's money, the policy of school enrollment will need to somehow ensure that no groups are distinctively disadvantaged or no particular groups are allowed to enjoy priviledge over and above a reasonable extent.
Likewise, this group that are disadvantaged may also be wary of putting too much commitment into....... :censored: -
You already say for simplicity of illustration mah.. no need too hardcore on the exact numbers...... :evil: :evil:Lyddon:
Note that I did not mention there are 100 families or 100 children planning to enrol. The demand across the whole of singapore is anybody's guess. I also mention the only priority is based on distance. No phase 1, 2A, and 2B.
Aiyah no point arguing lah coz everyone has agenda esp those who are registering kids for the next 2 years. To see far as in social divides, later then say lor. The way i see it is like what some kids are already saying \"my school got more rich people than yours\". Take the example of SCGS, only 3 HDB flats within 2km as what pointed out earlier by another forumer.
Not surprise we are going to divide schools as \"rich-parent-child school\" vs \"poor-parent-child school\". :rotflmao:
So start looking at properties.....you know where to invest. :evil:
*phew* thank god my ist born is already in school.
boy or girl also can go in. 
I think there is nothing wrong with giving priority to alumni. I am not link to any alumni so my children do not have priority but if I would love my children to attend the same school as I did decades ago.
My hope is for the revamp to give citizens priority, ie
1 - siblings of citizens
2A - citizens who are alumni
2B - citizen parents who are members of churches, huay kwans and grassroots
2C - citizens
3 - PRs and foreigners with siblings in schools (cos PRs are foreigners)
4A - PRs & Foreigners who are alumni
4B - PRs & Foreigners who are members of churches, huay kwans and grassroots
4C - PRs & Foreigners
I also hope that if non-Christian who chose to enter Christian schools, to show some respect. My son told me during his school camp last year, a boy wrote a 4-letter word beginning with F on God. When my son asked, he said because he is not Catholic and he doesnβt like Christianity and the Catholic faith. Then why go to the school? -
Namie:
:offtopic:
I also hope that if non-Christian who chose to enter Christian schools, to show some respect. My son told me during his school camp last year, a boy wrote a 4-letter word beginning with F on God. When my son asked, he said because he is not Catholic and he doesn't like Christianity and the Catholic faith. Then why go to the school?
I remember during one of my compulsory school devotion (in my school days), we were supposed to read the bible and one of my classmates purposely hold the bible upside down and he professed he is anti-Christ when the prefect asked him why is the bible upside down.
Fast forward 25 years, he is now a devoted Christian. We never know how God works in our lives and when or how He plant the seeds of love. -
OMG I din come in for only a wk and theres so many new posts to read
Lyddon:
Brillantly illustrated.
My view is:puff:
[quote=\"dorisp\"]Some earlier discussions shared how some schools were founded by church and clan members and without them, the school might not be what it is now.
I am impresed with the many contributions made by the alumni but the founders could be the group that had put in money and effort to make it all possible in the first place.
Now church and clan falls under 2B, behind 2A.
Any views? :scratchhead:
Alumni is directly link to the school ( like your own children)
Under 2b u must be first link clan / church n church/ clan is link to sch ( is like distance relative)
Under 2b PV . U r not related but choose to help out ( is like adopted child)
Under 2c . <1km ( just like next door neighbour)
About alumni who stay more than 2 km fr sch ( is like your kids who married oversea although cannot visit you often but still deserve your love like the other sibling)
Dun flame me :siam: :siam: :siam:
:goodpost: :goodpost:[/quote]Beautiful illustration:) -
Very nice analogy!!
My view is:puff:
[quote=\"dorisp\"]Some earlier discussions shared how some schools were founded by church and clan members and without them, the school might not be what it is now.
I am impresed with the many contributions made by the alumni but the founders could be the group that had put in money and effort to make it all possible in the first place.
Now church and clan falls under 2B, behind 2A.
Any views? :scratchhead:
Alumni is directly link to the school ( like your own children)
Under 2b u must be first link clan / church n church/ clan is link to sch ( is like distance relative)
Under 2b PV . U r not related but choose to help out ( is like adopted child)
Under 2c . <1km ( just like next door neighbour)
About alumni who stay more than 2 km fr sch ( is like your kids who married oversea although cannot visit you often but still deserve your love like the other sibling)
Dun flame me :siam: :siam: :siam:
But hor.. ask you hor.. You pay for your kid's education only OR the whole village pay for most of it?
If the rest of the village pays most of it..
then why should they let you have priority? :evil:
we shd not forget that Govt schools are funded by all the tax payers.. not only alumni.. even thou they have contributed in 1 way or the other.[/quote]Who pay more tax? In tt case should we prioritize according to the tax pay by the parents? Haha sound so funny( no hard feeling ye)
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.