All Schools are GOOD Schools

942 Posts 120 Posters 219.5k Views 1 Watching
      Singfrench

Strparent:

[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]

You mean ban tuition centre ? How will our kids pass exams if tuition centers/tuition is banned ? Schools are not teaching our kids sufficient to even pass exams. Not every parent is able to coach given the high standard/difficulty level now. I can still coach my p2 daughter in the meantime, but don't know for how long more.

The poison is too deep liao.. \"I don't know what to say...........\"

Since when is passing exam the duty of the tuition centers..?? IT is the responsibility of the schools!

If there is no tuition centers and the passing rate is 5%.. The school must do something about it! Like adjusting the examination questions OR conduct remedial classes for the students.. Not throw them at tuition centers!

w/o tuition centers, the school will do something, must do something.. with tuition centers, the school may not see the problem or do anything about it.. and that, is the problem NOW.

:goodpost:

yes, that is my point about education now being gradually integrated and accepted in the mindset of many parents, no offence intended. The issue here is due to all these bandings, and enrichment centres, parents are getting pressurised to go along that direction. The schools MAY then NOT see the need to improve themselves and their system to improve the educating of all the children.

This is not a personal matter, it is a national one, one that we citizens must get the MOE to address quickly. No longer should we accept the system and improvise... at least not all the way. In the end, those who are not able to catch up , or afford, will be left further and futher behind.
      Have you not noticed that the delinquent teens in many of the 3rd tier, 4th tier secondary schools are rapidly increasing ? These teens are largely left out of the meritocracy system and as teens , they know it, and they react instinctively to be rebellious. My personal opinion of course, but I have seen my niece turned from a sweet smart girl to someone totally different from 12yrs old to 15 yo. And there are many more. We see the Darren Ngs, the Aaron Tans, etc, ... perhaps things would be different if they are given more opportunities, more attention, more help.
      Focus should not be only on the top certain percentage of all cohorts.[/quote]where's the 'like' button??

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
        PiggyLalala

What about banning better students from attending tuition, haha, get rid of the kiasu mentality in parents and students. Students must show poor school results ( say below 65) to be eligible to attend tuition. In that case, the good ones learn to be independent learners and the weaker ones have more help to improve on their weaker subjects. No more tuition centers accept good ones and boast abt their excellent results.

kiddo

PiggyLalala:
          What about banning better students from attending tuition, haha, get rid of the kiasu mentality in parents and students. Students must show poor school results ( say below 65) to be eligible to attend tuition. In that case, the good ones learn to be independent learners and the weaker ones have more help to improve on their weaker subjects. No more tuition centers accept good ones and boast abt their excellent results.

Parents being parents is concern and want the best for their child...
          Adjust PARENTS mentality FIRST........be less anxious
          There is many path to success .....
          This is faster to save the situation.....
          MOE sleeping :spank: .....by the time they wake up we lost a few good children to IMH,deinquent or šŸ˜“

beware of what you guys are asking for ...... this ksp website may get banned, terminated, chief ks got jailed, forumers get interrogated and jailed for sharing ks tips ....... we are in for cultural revolution .....ooops, anyone spying me being ks ? :evil: :evil: :evil:

Strparent

PiggyLalala:

unlikely to happen, but I LIKED THE IDEA :celebrate:

in the past, tuition as for children who fall behind, who couldn't catch-up.

Now the re-branding is called enrichment, normally associated with eca like music, etc. Now it is learning ahead, and staying ahead, me, myself, self-focus, etc.
              Please do not get sensitive, nothing wrong with parents wanting the best for their kids, and for sure those who can afford, has the right to do so. But the issue is NATIONAL education for all, or at least most and majority of, our children in Singapore.

imho, eg LL is becoming too brand conscious, they already doing intake tests to qualify, next time how ? Only top tier sch students allowed ? only household income above 10k allowed ? only GEP allowed ? what happened to the learning ? more like elitist, imho. šŸ˜“

I have to hand it to their management though, they learnt well from our govt, and they are reaping good financial returns as well as brand bragging rights. maybe in future GEP education will be outsourced to them as well ? :scared:

Strparent:
                PiggyLalala:

unlikely to happen, but I LIKED THE IDEA :celebrate:

in the past, tuition as for children who fall behind, who couldn't catch-up.

Now the re-branding is called enrichment, normally associated with eca like music, etc. Now it is learning ahead, and staying ahead, me, myself, self-focus, etc.
                Please do not get sensitive, nothing wrong with parents wanting the best for their kids, and for sure those who can afford, has the right to do so. But the issue is NATIONAL education for all, or at least most and majority of, our children in Singapore.

eg. Learning Lab is becoming too brand conscious, they already doing intake tests to qualify, next time how ? Only top tier sch students allowed ? only household income above 10k allowed ? only GEP allowed ? what happened to the learning ? more like elitist, imho. šŸ˜“

I have to hand it to their management though, they learnt well from our govt, and they are reaping good financial returns as well as brand bragging rights. maybe in future GEP education will be outsourced to them as well ? :scared:

this is the result of the information and internet age

it is the same phenomena every major city in the world

you are left behind if you are not forging ahead

however, normal distribution curve still prevails; so, fret not

Chenonceau

beware of what you guys are asking for ...... this ksp website may get banned, terminated, chief ks got jailed, forumers get interrogated and jailed for sharing ks tips ....... we are in for cultural revolution .....ooops, anyone spying me being ks ? :evil: :evil: :evil:

:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: You need to change your nick lah...

limlim

PiggyLalala:

*Like*

šŸ˜‰ šŸ˜‰

PiggyLalala:
                      Students must show poor school results ( say below 65) to be eligible to attend tuition. In that case, the good ones learn to be independent learners and the weaker ones have more help to improve on their weaker subjects.

tuition centers are taking in those good ones to boost their reputation...that is totally idiotic and stupid :rant: whole idea of kids attending tuition is because they are weak and need help !!!
                      Did you all see the half page ad by Learning Lab last Sunday...top 3 PSLE 2011 students attend that centre. Many students have to attend tuition centers...bcos schools are not doing their part to get their students to pass exams. Our dear minister should not study the education systems of other countries...focus on problems at home first. We are perspiring, not bcos weather is hot but bcos our kids are suffering.

limlim

this is the result of the information and internet age

it is the same phenomena every major city in the world

you are left behind if you are not forging ahead

however, normal distribution curve still prevails; so, fret not
                        Academic results is not everything..

And we must not give the young the wrong impression by focusing so much on results.. until they get the wrong idea that academic results is everything..

consider.. if

Everyone is charging forward.. they invest in expensive running shoes, they eat steroids, they sacrifice sleep/rest, they don't slow down to look at the scenery.. just to keep ahead of the pack..

To them, being in front is everything.. But.. are they missing something? childhood.. friends, empathy.. etc.. will the scholars end up saying things like \"Get out of my elite uncaring face\"(sorrie to repeatedly use this..) to those who are left behind? because since young, they are trained to view academic achievements as everything.. as they see their parent do everything to make sure they get good scores/results.. and the tuition centers are like adding fuel to these fiery obsession....

is it better to have an effective system, and an environment where the gifted will naturally prevail.. or a defective system and a pressure cooker environment where scholars are artificially created (via cooking in the various tuition and enrichment centers) and the less privileged are marginalized and forgotten..?

forging ahead, yes.. but not towards academic excellence only..

churning out exam smart scholars in large quality is not necessarily good for the nation..

worst if some by-product like the sun something(xu?) is spawned..

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 64 / 95

rinsiderR
                        rinsider