GEP Preparatory Program

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    229 Posts 61 Posters 208.9k Views 1 Watching
      BeContented

Sometimes I wonder why we make such a big hooha over these programs?

I used to feel that we shouldn't 'train' our kids that way just because of GEP.

But later, I also felt that if a kid can be trained and acquired knowledge of higher level, then is he still a misfit in GEP if he's selected?

Now, having been here for a while, I also see quite alot of parents enrichment their kids on their own, some accelerating the kids learning...maybe completing the whole yr's syllabus within a couple of months. Does it make any different if one is doing it on his own while another is paying for professional help? :?
      ha ha...i see no diff lah. so in a way, most of us are 'guilty' of accelerating our kids šŸ˜‰ I confess....i do try to teach more if they show potential to absorb.

Trapwithin

Now, having been here for a while, I also see quite alot of parents enrichment their kids on their own, some accelerating the kids learning...maybe completing the whole yr's syllabus within a couple of months.

Accelerating learning is also not that straight forward either. So for example a P3 kids is taught P4 stuff. A lot also depends on whether the kid can understand and grasp the concept on P4 stuff. If they have difficulty understanding P4 concepts, there is only so much you can \"push\". It is not like you can \"force\" the conept down their throat.

From my gathering in the posting KSP, one common trait among GEP kids seems to be the ability to understand concept beyond their level. It is not really something that can be \"hothoused\". They either understand or they don't.

As mentioned, a lot of these centres show >90% success rate but only for round 1. No one will give you a success rate for round 2 .. because you can't really \"trained\" for round 2.

On the other hand, if the kids has the ability to understand concepts well and do accelerated learning .. why not.

Tiger Woods is gifted in golf, but if his parents just sit back and not train him .. he might not be where he is today. It is ok to train ... but just don't \"force\" it down their throat when they are not ready for it.

• iRabbitI Offline
          iRabbit

I know that GEP parents are serious folks, but I will risk sharing a joke here. Samuel came back from the GEP selection test but did not qualify. His dad was furious.

Dad: Son, GEP outcome today, how did it go? I already told my colleagues last year we're shifting to Bukit Timah cos you're going to enrol in Nanyang.

Samuel (almost quivering): Erm dad, I didn't qualify.

Dad (bursting a vein): What? You didn't? Why you so stupid? After all the money I've spent sending you to the preparation courses.

Samuel (very down now): Dad, I'm sorry I'm not gifted. But I think the reason for that is because I'm your son.

Muahahaha! :rotflmao:

iFirefly

Trapwithin:

Now, having been here for a while, I also see quite alot of parents enrichment their kids on their own, some accelerating the kids learning...maybe completing the whole yr's syllabus within a couple of months.

Accelerating learning is also not that straight forward either. So for example a P3 kids is taught P4 stuff. A lot also depends on whether the kid can understand and grasp the concept on P4 stuff. If they have difficulty understanding P4 concepts, there is only so much you can \"push\". It is not like you can \"force\" the conept down their throat.

From my gathering in the posting KSP, one common trait among GEP kids seems to be the ability to understand concept beyond their level. It is not really something that can be \"hothoused\". They either understand or they don't.

As mentioned, a lot of these centres show >90% success rate but only for round 1. No one will give you a success rate for round 2 .. because you can't really \"trained\" for round 2.

On the other hand, if the kids has the ability to understand concepts well and do accelerated learning .. why not.

Tiger Woods is gifted in golf, but if his parents just sit back and not train him .. he might not be where he is today. It is ok to train ... but just don't \"force\" it down their throat when they are not ready for it.

:goodpost:

BeContented

FQW:
              I know that GEP parents are serious folks, but I will risk sharing a joke here. Samuel came back from the GEP selection test but did not qualify. His dad was furious.

Dad: Son, GEP outcome today, how did it go? I already told my colleagues last year we're shifting to Bukit Timah cos you're going to enrol in Nanyang.

Dad (bursting a vein): What? You didn't? Why you so stupid? After all the money I've spent sending you to the preparation courses.

Samuel (very down now): Dad, I'm sorry I'm not gifted. But I think the reason for that is because I'm your son.

But hor, maybe true leh.
              I have a friend with 2 kids. The GAL who took after the dad (his look & features & temperament etc).....is GEP. The BOY who took after the mom.....errrr....
              But I never did dare to be honest with them. šŸ˜‰

• iRabbitI Offline
                iRabbit

But later, I also felt that if a kid can be trained and acquired knowledge of higher level, then is he still a misfit in GEP if he's selected?

Now, having been here for a while, I also see quite alot of parents enrichment their kids on their own, some accelerating the kids learning...maybe completing the whole yr's syllabus within a couple of months. Does it make any different if one is doing it on his own while another is paying for professional help? :?
                I find your view honestly refreshing. May I invite you to the PH thread to share your experience (not just on GEP) once in a while?

• iRabbitI Offline
                  iRabbit

BeContented:

But hor, maybe true leh.
                  I have a friend with 2 kids. The GAL who took after the dad (his look & features & temperament etc).....is GEP. The BOY who took after the mom.....errrr....
                  Jokes aside, I wish to emphasize that I've absolutely nothing against parents sending their kids for preparation classes, parents training their kids themselves, parents who don't prepare at all, parents who are not interested in GEP ..... etc.

I say, to each his own. And I agree totally with Trap's post that like love, GEP can't be forced. šŸ˜‚

jtoh

BeContented:
                    FQW:

But hor, maybe true leh.

FQW, :rotflmao:

BeContented, better not tell the mom. :siam: šŸ˜‰

kiasuest2

FQW:

Jokes aside, I wish to emphasize that I've absolutely nothing against parents sending their kids for preparation classes, parents training their kids themselves, parents who don't prepare at all, parents who are not interested in GEP ..... etc.

I say, to each his own. And I agree totally with Trap's post that like love, GEP can't be forced. šŸ˜‚
                      I couldn't agree more.

We made a conscious effort not to send our 2 kids for GEP preparatory classes; neither did we prepare them in any way or form for the GEP selection tests. Basically we believed that they must make it on their own merits.

Both of them got into the GEP and they did exceedingly well. Today, they are pursuing their first-choice course in NUS.

IMO, the GEP selection tests is pretty accurate in the past. Nowadays, with so much hot-housing and preparatory courses, I am not too sure if the GEP selection tests is a true reflection of the ability of the students relative to their peers.

violin_lover

FQW:

I find your view honestly refreshing. May I invite you to the PH thread to share your experience (not just on GEP) once in a while?

What is PH thread?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 23