All Schools are GOOD Schools
Strparent:
Hmmmmmmmmph! :pokeeye:
remove..... the parents ???? :yikes: boh parents, boh children lorChenonceau:
I am inclined to think that the most obvious solution may not necessarily be the most effective one. The obvious solution to a rat problem is of course to kill the rats. The real solution is to remove the food source. The obvious solution to the tuition problem is to ban tuition. The real solution is to remove the source of revenue - parents.
Mvm:
I know the part about schools setting papers with some tough questions to sieve out the cream students...but now, it has become a tough paper altogether.PM me. I am interested in the parent child workshop too!!
Talking about schools setting difficult papers that end up failing the kids, I think the MOE started that first. There was a year where they set such a difficult math paper that the kids came out crying. ThAt was about 5-6 years ago. The rationale was to differentiate the As from the A * students.
My fear is that the kids will all burnout even before they come to the exams that really matter. Theses parents should try out their kids schedule. I feel tired for their kids.
Now, the poor kids are deprived of childhood...tuition or enrichment centers after 7 hours in school. Do the kids request to learn piano or violin or bcos parents force these on them ? -
Yes, Janet, I known this and have seen this happening
I know the part about schools setting papers with some tough questions to sieve out the cream students...but now, it has become a tough paper altogether.
So, some school has genuinely set paper that is of average standard but being \"bombarded\" by some parents,\" Why the paper is so easy? Such & such school in our neighbourhood paper is so much difficult and challenging!\"
For my case, my 2 DDs learn piano because they \"can't stand seeing the piano collecting dusts in the living hall!\"Now, the poor kids are deprived of childhood...tuition or enrichment centers after 7 hours in school. Do the kids request to learn piano or violin or bcos parents force these on them ?
Hi champion,
My son wanted to learn swimming…so he had lessons for 1 year until the coach scheduled him a time slot which doesn’t allow him to take his beauty sleep. He got cranky bcos 4-5pm on Sundays is nap time. So we agreed to let him stop since he wasn’t enjoying it. This year, we allow him to swim once a week on sat to relax.
He is not a patient fella…so piano, violin and other slow pace activity is out. -
Yes, Janet, I known this and have seen this happeningjanet_lee88:
I know the part about schools setting papers with some tough questions to sieve out the cream students...but now, it has become a tough paper altogether.
So, some school has genuinely set paper that is of average standard but being \"bombarded\" by some parents,\" Why the paper is so easy? Such & such school in our neighbourhood paper is so much difficult and challenging!\"
Sometimes the schools are also in a dilemma.
Set average papers......get 'bombarded' by some parents on the paper being easy. Then start comparing with other schools and start sourcing for more difficult papers for their kids to try. Worse, start claiming school is not doing a good job to prepare the kids for PSLE, not realistic as kids will get high score and get complacent.
Set tough papers....the kids' grades will drop or worse, fail. Kids get demoralised, parents upset when kids are devastated.....wonder why schools want to 'kill'.
So seriously, damn if they do, damn if they dun.
Schools That Test Reasonably
Some schools set papers according to what is taught in class. However, what is taught in class is NOT consistent with PSLE standards because the school can only manage to teach so much given available time/resources. Parents complain.
I chatted with a friend today in this situation.
Schools That Test Beyond
Other schools set papers BEYOND what is taught in class, because they KNOW PSLE tests at that level. However, they too have no time/resources to teach (and reinforce) to the PSLE standard that are reflected in their school tests. Parents also complain.
This is my situation.
Same Difference
These are 2 different manifestations of the SAME root problem. Schools have not the time/resources to teach and reinforce sufficiently to the standards of the PSLE. This is why I keep saying the solution cannot be found at school level. It has to be found at MOE level.
If high quality written resources reach every school and every child... and Teachers have time and energy to be student-centric, then may the best child win...
(1) parents like me won't have to scramble to find these PSLE required material elsewhere
(2) parents like my friend won't worry about their own school not meeting standard because once the resources are made available, every school can test hard without feeling bad
Becontented :snuggles: , when I write these posts, it isn't against you. Contentment is a virtue that so few possess and because you have it in such large measure, you are indeed precious. I have reason to believe MOE reads these threads, and MOE needs to understand. It isn't you. :xedfingers: If MOE does not read, others will and therefore hopefully this will give some insight about the root problem. -
:scratchhead: Why do most parents think this way?
Now, the poor kids are deprived of childhood...tuition or enrichment centers after 7 hours in school. Do the kids request to learn piano or violin or bcos parents force these on them ?
For my kids, I had a very tough time stopping their classes. My son always accused me of being unreasonable and cruel whenever I threatended to stop his violin lessons. \"Why can't you help me?!\" I could still hear the words ringing in my ears. (He was taking piano lessons at the same time.) He felt he was missing something when I withdrew him from his drawing class. I can go on and on... but you get the gist. Sometimes, it's the kids that request for the extras.BeContented:
Sometimes the schools are also in a dilemma.
Set average papers......get 'bombarded' by some parents on the paper being easy. Then start comparing with other schools and start sourcing for more difficult papers for their kids to try. Worse, start claiming school is not doing a good job to prepare the kids for PSLE, not realistic as kids will get high score and get complacent.
This can't be further away from the truth. I was pretty contended with the way my son's neighbourhood school handled the P1 mini-tests. Kids were tested on what they were taught. However, one parent expressed her concern about the standard of the tests as compared to those tough tests set by the 'branded/top' schools. This year, I heard the P6 were given papers so tough that a number of students scored single digits for Maths. Perhaps, for some parents, tougher papers imply the kids will be exposed to more higher level challenges. Hence, more prepared for PSLE? -
If all parents don't send to tuition, then it'll work. Bc PSLE is based on T-score.Schools That Test Reasonably
Some schools set papers according to what is taught in class. However, what is taught in class is NOT consistent with PSLE standards because the school can only manage to teach so much given available time/resources. Parents complain. -
Exactly lor... problem is... how to stop parents sending to tuition leh? Some ideas thrown up are...
If all parents don't send to tuition, then it'll work. Bc PSLE is based on T-score.Chenonceau:
Schools That Test Reasonably
Some schools set papers according to what is taught in class. However, what is taught in class is NOT consistent with PSLE standards because the school can only manage to teach so much given available time/resources. Parents complain.
(1) http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=728434#p728434
(2) http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=728600#p728600
(3) http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=728754#p728754
(4) blame parents' kiasu-ism and maybe they will come to their senses. -
HI Chamonix,
Sorry I wasn’t referring to you.
Some kids request to learn violin, ballet, swimming, tennis for eg. However, when kids have to stop learning an activity because of lack of time, it’s really sad.
Regarding challenging papers, I would prefer exams to have tough questions to sieve out the A* from the rest. At least kids won’t fail.
A* students can score high grades while the As and Bs can still pass exams. Heard PSLE Math getting tougher and tougher.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.