All Schools are GOOD Schools

942 Posts 120 Posters 220.8k Views 1 Watching

The school informs parents only 2 weeks before of the topics which will be tested. If I do not ask, it will be too late by then. Usually I will monitor term schedule on school website and print it out. Anyway, I won’t ask his teachers again. Experience has taught me not to.

Anyway, I have learnt something ie…revise everything. When my son was in P5 last year, I didnt know what to expect for CA1 science. Now I know, everything from P3.

iFirefly

The school informs parents only 2 weeks before of the topics which will be tested. If I do not ask, it will be too late by then. Usually I will monitor term schedule on school website and print it out. Anyway, I won't ask his teachers again. Experience has taught me not to.

Anyway, I have learnt something ie...revise everything. When my son was in P5 last year, I didnt know what to expect for CA1 science. Now I know, everything from P3.
        Hi Janet, i understand your frustration, as I also feel that 2 weeks is too short a notice for the students to be adequately prepared for their exam. Maybe you can give your feedback directly to the Principal (bypass the teachers & HODs)?

My boy's school has already given out the SA1 Exam time-table on the last week of Term 1, so the students can do some revision during the March holidays. As a guide, P6 SA1 Exam usually includes all topics from P3 to P6 (Term 1 & a few topics from Term 2). So your strategy is correct.. instead of waiting for the school to give out the exam time-table, start revising the topics from P3 onwards..

All The Best to your DS' PSLE this year (I read your posts in the \"2012 PSLE\" thread)! 😄

autumnbronze

Don't put the child in difficult position...he/she still has to face the teacher everyday. When I emailed my son's teacher to ask what will be tested for CA, she made him stand in front of class and repeat after her. My son was boiling mad :slapshead: I got a scolding when he returned from school. He told me never to email her again.
          :hugs: to you and your DS, janet_lee88.

That was a nasty way to handle your enquiry :pokeeye: and :spank:

Snow Crystal

Don't put the child in difficult position...he/she still has to face the teacher everyday. When I emailed my son's teacher to ask what will be tested for CA, she made him stand in front of class and repeat after her. My son was boiling mad :slapshead: I got a scolding when he returned from school. He told me never to email her again.
            I can fully emphatize with your situation. It's happening to many schools (branded or neighbourhood) - bullying by teachers directed at our kids just because they cannot stomach our feedback or comments about their certain behavior or teaching. For your case, as minor as asking about CA details also kena. To me, such teachers should undergo EQ course. Perhaps these teachers live in a surreal world whereby their every word is golden, can talk down to our kids and thus cannot take any negative comments about themselves or their teachings. And sadly, many a times, the HOD and P don't even know such mental bullying by teachers is taking place in their school.

Snow Crystal:

Don't put the child in difficult position...he/she still has to face the teacher everyday. When I emailed my son's teacher to ask what will be tested for CA, she made him stand in front of class and repeat after her.

For your case, as minor as asking about CA details also kena. To me, such teachers should undergo EQ course. Perhaps these teachers live in a surreal world whereby their every word is golden, can talk down to our kids and thus cannot take any negative comments about themselves or their teachings. And sadly, many a times, the HOD and P don't even know such mental bullying by teachers is taking place in their school.

If a person chooses to be in an industry dealing with children/parents, he/she should have EQ. Yes, some parents can be demanding given that they are highly educated. Anyway, this particular teacher is indeed a pain. How am I supposed to know that P5 CA1 science will be tested on everything from p3 ? What's wrong with asking ? Would I ask if I knew ? Worse thing was having to tolerate bcos my son is still under her :stompfeet:

Snow Crystal

If a person chooses to be in an industry dealing with children/parents, he/she should have EQ. Yes, some parents can be demanding given that they are highly educated. Anyway, this particular teacher is indeed a pain. How am I supposed to know that P5 CA1 science will be tested on everything from p3 ? What's wrong with asking ? Would I ask if I knew ? Worse thing was having to tolerate bcos my son is still under her :stompfeet:
                Let me assure you that your query is valid. Please let your son know that many parents did not know p5 Science CA is testing from P3. Especially since it's our first kid. I remember being blur about this myself for first kid as the Science teachers did not send out clear details till almost near exam. By my second kid's time, I hear all the first time parents gasping during PTM when they know that p3 syllabus is tested for p4 exams. So please be assured that you are not alone and nothing wrong with clarifying. :hugs: The problem lies with the :siao: teacher who makes an example of your son in front of the classmates to frighten the students and ensure mummies do not disturb her with questions. As I said, to me, that is bullying, abuse of authority to intimidate kids due to action by parents. Such teachers either are so used to be high in ivory tower with no passion for teaching and kids or have personal problems of their own or too busy. Not fit to be teacher. Speaking from experience cos being through similar situation so hugs to you Janet :hugs:

Hi snow crystal,

Thanks for assuring me that it’s ok NOT knowing what are the topics tested at P5 science during CA1. Fine, now I know. Thanks to that nasty teacher. I know what to expect when my younger one goes to P5…assuming there are no major changes from MOE.

We usually have problems with first child…bcos we do not know what to expect…if school teachers are nasty, it makes things worse. This nasty person was supposed to have resigned, and the whole class was so happy…yours truly included. But she came back. Thank goodness she isn’t teaching my son this year.

limlim

[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]

Scary!!

that is a bloody mean woman.......... :mad: :spank:[/quote]that's why.. often.. instead of approaching teachers directly to talk about issue.. parents come KSP and rant......

Not that pple don't want to be pro-active.. juz that.. it is not as easy as it seems.. for some that has pleasant experiences.. ok lor.. but for other maybe not so smooth sailing.....

limlim

Yup, she was totally cruel to do that to a child, and her student. When hubby and I met her for PTM, naturally it wasn't 'shiok'. She was also the FT. There was absolutely no reason why she had to make him stand in front of the class. What's wrong with a parent asking what will be tested for CA? :mad:

did you email her and cc to the HOD..?

so her HOD may hv the impression that she not doing her \"job\".... :evil: :evil: jk.....

limlim

davos:

Yup, she was totally cruel to do that to a child, and her student. When hubby and I met her for PTM, naturally it wasn't 'shiok'. She was also the FT. There was absolutely no reason why she had to make him stand in front of the class. What's wrong with a parent asking what will be tested for CA? :mad:

I am not a teacher...however, if every parent were to ask the teacher what will be tested for CA, then the teacher will be spending a lot of time answering these emails and naturally they will not be happy about it.

Disagree.. it's under her responsibility. what's so difficult about replying an email?

The teacher can prepare a handout and give to everyone detailing all the necessary info about the CA. If parents ask, she can prepare standard template with attachment \"There, already give to your kid\". Takes less than 30sec to reply each email. Click \"reply\", copy & paste, click send.. very difficult meh?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 81 / 95