Q&A - P3 Math

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 3
    2.3k Posts 337 Posters 993.4k Views 1 Watching
      tianzhu

cilipadi:
      Hi all,

Can I solve this question as below?

http://i44.tinypic.com/nlwrrb.jpg\">
      Hi

Yes, it's possible.

Best wishes

cilipadi

tianzhu:

Hi

Yes, it's possible.

Best wishes
        thanks, tianzhu.

plum-cake

the given answer by onsponge is

Gives 5 sweets to each child → 54 extra sweets
          Gives 8 sweets to each child → need 33 more sweets
          Giving extra 3 sweets to each child → need (54 + 33)
          = 87 sweets more
          Giving extra 1 sweet to each child → need (87 ÷ 3)
          = 29 sweets more
          She has 29 children in her class.

plum-cake:
            wow, so I am not the only one facing these kinda probs...

Thanks buds for sharing.
            And for awhile i thought i was alone in this... 😓
            plum-cake:
            I thought my dd is having some 'manufacturing faults'...mmm. Not bad, Thanks mummies for sharing. I am facing the same problem with mine too. she is 2003 born. so are these probs natural in this age????
            Alamak dear.. what manufacturing faults.. :hugs: Don't think like that ok. :love:

I think many of us who posted here have a kiddie born in 2003 😉... so i suppose it's a natural transition from P1 n P2 babyhood stage of primary education to the \"real\" formal education they are receiving now in P3. 😄

HAPPYH:

Same here plum-cake! :slapshead:

Can score full marks for problem sums and all other higher order / challenging type questions but the carelessness from easy peasy questions, either from complacency when skimming thru easier questions (take for granted/over-confident/not internalizing properly) of what's \"really being asked for in the questions\" or from transference errors in her workings for eg. 427 + 274 = can be reflected as 247 + 274 =... (especially those sums with repeated numbers in the questions) :pokeeye: or the worst kind of mistake that can ever be made... :nailbite: ... the \"cannot read own working due to illegible handwriting\"... :mad: ie. she reads her 247 as 297. :faint: ...

Same here. Esp. those in blue. I am still nagging on it. Sigh.

:offtopic: Recently we found out that she had myopia (-2.5 right eye and +0.5 left eye). Hopefully with the spectacles, she can do better(?). Spectacles - another worry as she is going to wear the spectacles for the first time. Another big sigh.

Mine doesn't wear spectacles. So no excuse oredi le bah.. :faint:

The only one who wears spectacles in the house is me. :politebleah:

BigDevil:

Bro... isn't that supposed to be 4fives? :?

5 fours; should be 5 (times) of the number four.
                Or like SAHM Chew said... 5 groups of four.

DD2 used to always get this mixed up.
                Kinda a waste of 2-marks questions i say. :roll:

Yes sista, that was 4 fives...but that's the answer in the answer key to the 5 fours question.

That's why I work out the answers myself when I check DD's work. :mad:

Yup, cannot be complacent. But take heart that it could probably also be a typo error. Setter too tired setting exam papers until see numbers all blur liao. 😆

BigDevil:

Can score full marks for problem sums and all other higher order / challenging type questions but the carelessness from easy peasy questions, either from complacency when skimming thru easier questions (take for granted/over-confident/not internalizing properly) of what's \"really being asked for in the questions\" or from transference errors in her workings for eg. 427 + 274 = can be reflected as 247 + 274 =... (especially those sums with repeated numbers in the questions) :pokeeye: or the worst kind of mistake that can ever be made... :nailbite: ... the \"cannot read own working due to illegible handwriting\"... :mad: ie. she reads her 247 as 297. :faint: ...

You are talking about my DD??

I have another one.... when lining up the numbers to do addition or subtraction, the tens-place digit in the second number will end up under the hundreds-place digit of the first number. So end up adding/subtracting the wrong number. :frustrated:

I have experience with this phase as well.. the numbers aren't aligned again because handwriting like **** ... some numbers small some numbers bigger, so langgar the place value next to it. :roll: I solved that by getting her to draw lines or boxes. She does mark the header (of the workings) with TH/H/T/U... just like how she was taught in Montessori during preschool years. No longer got problem with that.. 😓 ... so far. Plus i have no choice but make her do http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=14912#p14912 and also double check for transference errors since it's once too often ending up wasting all points for the question. Transference errors results in wrong number input for workings making the end answer well... wrong. For problem sums in later part, no method marks awarded anymore. Read = No more pity marks whatsoever. Even if the teacher/marker can tell that the child has the concept/method done right in the workings columns.

:xedfingers:

Dear buds

Reading what u wrote abt your dd is like my everyday math battle with my ds1. Recent super duple Easy math test he got marks deducted for errors like no units n didn't reduce fractions to simplest form - stuff I had already highlighted to him. And he tends to lost marks in graph questions! Giveaway marks ah! :stupid:

Graph questions are real giveaways. I insist on workings or markings of numbers that dictate the value indicated on the bars in the graph questions. The other is to draw a line across the bars for clear distinction to show she knows what is asked of her and that she too can clearly see the answer for herself without having to read the bars over and over again until blur. Underlining keywords is also my mantra. In Maths, must read to understand.

BigDevil:

[quote=\"buds\"]

You are talking about my DD??

I have another one.... when lining up the numbers to do addition or subtraction, the tens-place digit in the second number will end up under the hundreds-place digit of the first number. So end up adding/subtracting the wrong number. :frustrated:

DD does that as well. Better still she can start out adding but end up subtracting or vice versa.[/quote]Wah! Then that reali does take the cake! :salute:

Funz, this goes back to the part that checking was not thorough upon completion of question and also upon completion of the whole paper, isn't it? :skeptical:

I recall two occasions when my DDs shared with me this... about checking Maths papers after exam.

Scenario 1 : I finished my paper very early.. checked whole paper three times.. teacher said those who finished can put head down on desk to rest. But i didn't realize i accidentally fell asleep.

If you were me, you'd transform into angry bird oso right? :mad:

It was on the dot Band 1 ie. 85 marks. 😓
                        But the 15 were all careless mistakes cept for one problem sum.
                        So the damage : Sleep = To 10 marks of careless mistakes & one misunderstood problem sum.

Here's sharing another one.

DD2 brought a very lovely and colourful paper home.

Scenario 2 : I finished my paper before time was up. Teacher said cannot hand up before actual time so i coloured the pictures in the paper. I did check! Once. And i see all done already. 😉

:yikes:

:frustrated:

Ok, given that this was in P1 and despite the once over \"check\" :roll: she managed to ace it (dunno how) 🤷.. i tried to hide my :yikes:!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 162 / 226