Many cases of NS boys dying...are you worried for your boys?

124 Posts 38 Posters 22.7k Views 1 Watching
      limlim

Lilac66:
      :rotflmao: Yes I support! We should have a pre-NS camp.

There's something called NCC..

or already extinct..?

wiimum

pinky:
        I heard recently that if your son scores at least a silver in his JC2 NAPFA test, he enjoys 2 months off from NS, so instead of 24 months, he just need to serve 22 months. IS IT TRUE?

It is true, at least up to now. In fact I heard the extra 2 months for the rest(less fit) is very \"siong\", supposedly to bring them up to the mark.

concern2

I know of one guy who didn't appreciate food until he joined the army. Cos they use up so much energy (he's a big eater), the food given to him in the army wasn't enough that he waited by the dustbin to finish up the food from whoever could not finish.

cannot be lah.. unless he is quite old now....

not enough to eat just ask for bigger serving and unlimited rice.. nowadays SAF would never risk being accused of starving its soldiers..... I guess..

in fact the problem they're facing is food wastage..

such that they make sure those food that are indented the men must got and eat it at the cookhouse......

Yah, limlim, you're right about the age. But...is 40s considered old? 😉

And DH definitely reminded DS that NS men got iPad. LOL!

• NebbermindN Offline
            Nebbermind

wiimum:
            It is true, at least up to now. In fact I heard the extra 2 months for the rest(less fit) is very \"siong\", supposedly to bring them up to the mark.

no leh, I heard the 2 extra mth is quite manageable coz it's just fitness training and non-combat. In fact, where else can u get paid to become fitter? Usually u r the one paying the gym!! 😉

Joule

wiimum:

no leh, I heard the 2 extra mth is quite manageable coz it's just fitness training and non-combat. In fact, where else can u get paid to become fitter? Usually u r the one paying the gym!! 😉

yes, where got so good hor

include room and boarding some more on the resort island of Tekong

but 1 person don't appreciate, want to try swimming out of the island at night 😃

he obviously did not attend Mas Selamat swimming school

• NebbermindN Offline
                Nebbermind

Joule:

but 1 person don't appreciate, want to try swimming out of the island at night 😃

Perhaps he thought he saw Mat Selamat and went after him! 😉

LOLMum

Joule:

Perhaps he thought he saw Mat Selamat and went after him! 😉

or the wild boars saw him and went after him. that's why so many wild boars ended up on our tiny island as reported in the papers recently. :rotflmao:

pinky

wiimum:
                    pinky:

I heard recently that if your son scores at least a silver in his JC2 NAPFA test, he enjoys 2 months off from NS, so instead of 24 months, he just need to serve 22 months. IS IT TRUE?

so NS is officially 24 or 22 months? :?

Ichigokun

AnotherKiasu:
                      Worried ofcourse. I have 2.

Why don't Mindef reduce the period 2 yrs to 1.5 and eventually to 1 yr only? Taiwan recently reduced to 6 months from 1 year. When I talk to the recent NS guys, I found the whole 2 yrs can be conveniently repacked to 1 yr.

In the modern world, except some rogue countries, every country will think umpteen times before going to war. Then why Sg need to worry so much? In Asia, our country leaders are much responsible than those in middle east.
                      In Asia, we have North Korea and Kim Jong-il (now his son Kim Jong-eun taking reign).

Honestly, Kim Jong-il isn't anywhere better and more responsible than Middle Eastern leaders. All Kim Jong-il wants is Henessy to fill up his personal drinking needs.

But yes, other than North Korea, the other Asian leaders are much more responsible.

limlim

Guess Kuwait feels the same way… (Why worry so much… it is tai4 ping2 shi4 jie4)

until Iraq appear at their doorsteps… Oops… no, is appear "in the house"… somehow uninvited…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 6 / 13